Calendar

Quick Info

Registration and Enrollment
Student Handbook & Code of Conduct
Student Handbook: Click here to download a pdf Code of Conduct: Click here

School Closure and Learning Resources

Stay up to date with these great resources during the school closure period

Staff

Our school is staffed by highly qualified teachers who are passionate about their profession. The staff has been trained by some of the top educational consultants in the United States. In addition, teachers receive professional development opportunities monthly to enhance their ability to keep up with the demands and changes in the greater society.

Kindergarten

Amber Taylor
Amber.Taylor@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 520

Renee Cresto
Renee.Cresto@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 518

Amy Filliben
Amy.Filliben@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 522

Erin Sanna
Erin.Sanna@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 516

Wendy Palsgrove
Wendy.Palsgrove@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 514

Susan Johnson
susan.johnson@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 514

1st Grade

Maureen Carrey
Maureen.Carey@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 314

Erik Hollstein
Erik.Hollstein@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 173

Lisa McLaughlin
Lisa.McLaughlin@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 203

Alison Gibbons
Alison.Gibbons@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 174

Shayla McGhee
Shayla.McGhee@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 313

2nd Grade

Megan Cunningham
Megan.Cunningham@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 315

Tracy Konkle
Tracy.Konkle@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 175

Kelly Talley
Kelly.Talley@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 316

Jessica Hertsenberg
Jessica.Hertsenberg@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 204

Alexandra Adams
Alexandra.Adams@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 176

3rd Grade

Donnajean Claar
Donnajean.Claar@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 317

Elizabeth Blevin
Elizabeth.Blevin@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 207

Ashley Wolinski
Ashley.Wolinski@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 207

Katrina Selle
Katrina.Selle@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 205

Wendy Girnis
Wendy.Girnis@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 204

Amy Freidman
Amy.Freidman@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 318

4th Grade

Carly Clanet
Carley.Clanet@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 403

Alyssa Clark
Alyssa.Clark@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 404

Lozetta Hayden
Amy.Freidman@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 208

Shelby Richard
Shelby.Richard@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 402

Chelsea Amin-Johnson
Chelsea.Amin-Johnson@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 401

Kim Barbato
Kimberly.Barbato@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 205

5th Grade

Mark Belair
Mark.Belair@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 405

Drew Webster
Drew.Webster@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 407

Shana Thomas (Pollard)
Shana.Pollard@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 408

Justin Hanger
Justin.Hanger@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 406

Kim Barbato
Kimberly.Barbato@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 205

Specialists

Gail Guidry, Physical Education
Gail.Guidry@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 526

Kristen Grabowksi, Physical Education
kristen.grabowski@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 526

Dan Bonacore, Art

daniel.bonacore@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 201

Janine Morgan-Doughty, STEAM/Library
Janine.Morgan-Doughty@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 552

Kerry Schussler, Band
Kerry.Schussler@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 510

Fred Higgins, Music
Frederick.Higgins@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 608

Cecilia Cole, Chorus
Cecilia.Cole@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 510

Instructional Coaches

Catharine Rana, Math Coach
Catharine.Rana@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 174

Carrie Hughes, Literacy Coach
Carrie.Hughes@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 174

Reading Support

Jeni Bufano, Interventionist
Jennifer.Bufano@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 175

Liz Towson, Interventionist
Elizabeth.Towson@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 175

Math Support

Ayanna Cooper-Taylor, Math Interventionist
Ayanna.Cooper-Taylor@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 174

Student Support Staff

Kim Reid, Nurse
Kimberly.Reid@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 302

Heidi Gerhard, Guidance Counselor
Heidi.Gerhard@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 511

Brooke Bickling, Special Education Coordinator
Brooke.Bickling@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915. ext. 509

Theresa Dunham, School Psychologist
Theresa.Dunham@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915. ext. 509

ESL

Karin Elentrio
Karin.Elentrio@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 206

Michele Francia
Michele.Francia@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 206

Occupational Therapist

Tara Kulak,
tara.kulak@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 171

Physical Therapist

Christine Palmer-Casey
christine.casey@colonial.k12.de.us
302-323-2915, ext. 171

General Info

Principal:
Janissa Nuneville (janissa.nuneville@colonial.k12.de.us)
Assistant Principal:
Kerri Campbell (kerri. campbell@ colonial.k12.de.us)

Grade Levels: K-5
Phone 302-323-2915

Location

502 Moores Lane
New Castle, DE 19720

School Hours

  • 8:15 AM Doors to school open **
  • 8:30 AM School day begins. (Students are late after 8:30)
  • 3:15 PM School day ends / Dismissal

ABOUT US

Castle Hills Elementary School, located near New Castle, Delaware, provides academic programs for kindergarten through fifth grade. The school reflects the diversity of the community it serves, and the children are guided and encouraged by a dedicated, experienced staff who represent the best of Delaware schools. The school’s strong academic concentration; focus on physical, social, and emotional development; and promotion of high self-esteem are its hallmarks. Everyone at Castle Hills School views him or herself as part of a community of learners with a focus on improving student achievement through on-going professional development. The staff believes and practices the philosophy that all adults are responsible for all children. The school motto, “All Children Will Learn Here,” reflects the district’s mission of nurturing and educating all children in a developmentally appropriate atmosphere in which individual differences are recognized and valued and every child is encouraged to achieve. The Castle Hills School faculty members firmly believe that all children need a safe, disciplined, clean, and attractive school environment. The single level building, renovated in 1995, is handicapped-accessible with 39 spacious classrooms, a library/media center, a gymnasium, a cafeteria, and a multi-purpose room.

Our Vision, Mission, and Core Beliefs

 Vision
“Our vision is to empower every student to become college and career ready by achieving his or her academic potential in a safe, positive, and nurturing school environment.”
Mission

“Our mission is to create a learning environment in which students are empowered to exercise their full academic ability. We will foster a collaborative atmosphere utilizing research-based techniques and practices so that students will reach their potential as independent, contributing members in a global society.”

Core Beliefs
“Every child can and will learn.”
“They’re all our students. We must work together to figure it out.”
“Do what is best for kids. Try to make a difference every day.”
“It is important to build positive relationships – with staff, students, parents, principals, community.”
“Have goals and expectations, and try to rise to the challenge to meet them.”

We appreciate your willingness to serve as a field trip chaperone and know that you will make every effort to maintain proper student behavior and manners throughout the day. We believe that school field trips are an extension of the classroom. Because of this, rules and expectations for students are to be enforced at all times, as if they were in the school setting. As a chaperone, it is important that you be aware of our field trip philosophy. In order to insure every child’s safety, chaperone guidelines must be followed. They are:

1. Please arrive at the school at least 15 minutes prior to the departure time.
2. Only Castle Hills students scheduled to participate in the trip may attend.
3. Students are to be properly supervised at all times. Students are never to be left on their own.
4. Because of the need for close supervision of participating students, no other children will be permitted to accompany chaperones on any field trips.
5. Smoking and alcoholic beverages are prohibited at all times.
6. Each time you board a bus or leave a building, you should take a count of your group.
7. Do not alter the trip routine, which has been designated by the sponsoring teacher.
8. Do not send students to run errands or deliver messages. If needed, please accompany them.
9. Please be sure students use quiet voices and walk at all times. 10. Chaperones should turn all cell phones to vibrate or off to minimize disruptions to the presenters.
11. If lunch is eaten on the trip, students are responsible to clean up their area.
12. Accompany your children to the restrooms at appropriate times.
13. No gum chewing or candy is permitted on the trip.
14. If a child does not adhere to the Castle Hills rules or is disrespectful or uncooperative, notify a teacher immediately.
15. If a there is a medical concern during the trip, notify a teacher immediately.
16. If applicable, chaperones must supervise students to the souvenir or snack shop at specified times.

Thank you very much for volunteering to chaperone! Your assistance makes this trip possible!

Calling all Box Tops!  
Please clip and send in the box tops that you find on all kinds of products in your home. The box tops will earn money for our school. Help us reach our goal of $1,000.
Check out the Box Top “Thermometer” in the school lobby to see our progress. More information can be found at the Boxtops for Education  website .You can even shop online to earn box tops by clicking on Marketplace.
P.B.S.

P.B.S., or Positive Behavior System, is a schoolwide behavior management system that establishes clear and consistent rules and procedures throughout Castle Hills Elementary School. Students follow five basic “Royal Rules” which are:

Be Cooperative

Be Helpful

Exceed Expectations

Be Safe

Make Smart Choices

The goal is to help children become self-disciplined, responsible, and to be able to make good choices. Together, the home and school are responsible for helping our students become good citizens.

H.U.G.S.
The H.U.G.s program is a part of the school-wide Positive Behavior System and was created as a means to respond positively to students and encourage appropriate behavior. H.U.G.s, which stands for “Hello”, “Update”, and “Goodbye” is a check-in/check-out program for students who may require extra support. Through the program, students are paired with staff members (“mentors”), who help teach students appropriate behaviors and provide reinforcement and positive attention. There is daily communication (through the use of a point card or tracking sheet) between students, teachers, and parents regarding behavior concerns and successes.

Tumblebooks

Tumblebooks online library of animated books is available to Castle Hills
students. Log in with the username castlehIlls and the password books to
begin your reading adventure.

ThinkCentral
Reading curriculum activities and ebooks are available at this site.
Check with your teacher for log-in information.

Study Island
You can access this site using your full name @ ches (janedoe@ches or
janedoe-smith@ches). The password is your lunch number.

Success Tracker
Math curriculum games and tutorials are available at this site.
See your classroom teacher for log-in information.