Main: 302-429-4055 • Transportation: (302) 323-2851 info@colonial.k12.de.us

Quick Info

Nurses Corner

Hello Leach friends!

Your school nurses are here for you. Please feel free to reach out to us via email or dojo. Check your classroom schoology page for office hours.
We hope everyone is staying healthy and social distancing.

Student Handbook & Code of Conduct

Student Handbook: Click here to download a pdf Code of Conduct: Click here

General Info

Principal:
Virginia Schreppler Ed.D.
virginia.schreppler@colonial.k12.de.us

Grade Levels: K-12
Phone 302-429-4055

Location

10 Landers Lane 
New Castle, DE 19720

School Hours

  • 7:55 AM Doors to school open
  • 8:05 AM School day begins. 
  • 2:40 PM School day ends / Dismissal

Staff

Virginia Schreppler, Ed.D.
Principal
virginia.schreppler@colonial.k12.de.us

Carol Davis
Secretary-Leach Main Office
carol.davis@colonial.k12.de.us

Kim Tomlinson
Secretary-Medical Records
Kimberly.Tomlinson@colonial.k12.de.us

Jillian Kennedy Elementary- Room 3 Teacher jillian.kennedy@colonial.k12.de.us
Alicia Barlow Elementary- Room 3 Paraprofessional alicia.barlow@colonial.k12.de.us
Natalie Horrocks Elementary- Room 7 Teacher natalie.horrocks@colonial.k12.de.us
Kim Marandola Elementary- Room 7 Paraprofessional kimberly.marandola@colonial.k12.de.us
Sherise Brown Elementary-Room 7 Paraprofessional sherise.brown@colonial.k12.de.us
Bev Zimmerman Elementary- Room 7 Paraprofessional beverly.zimmerman@colonial.k12.de.us
Carla Setting Elementary- Room 5 Teacher carla.setting@colonial.k12.de.us
Jessica Rauber Elementary- Room 5 Paraprofessional jessica.rauber@colonial.k12.de.us
Madia Gray Elementary- Room 5 Paraprofessional madia.gray@colonial.k12.de.us

 

 

Natayle Madric Middle/Upper- Room 1 Teacher natalyle.madric@colonial.k12.de.us
Robert Stefanisko Middle/Upper- Room 1 Paraprofessional robert.stefanisko@colonial.k12.de.us
Janay Shockey Middle/Upper- Room 1 Paraprofessional janay.shockley@colonial.k12.de.us
Kelly Burke Middle/Upper- Room 6 Teacher kelly.burke@colonial.k12.de.us
Hazel Stevenson Middle/Upper- Room 6 Paraprofessional hazel.stevenson@colonial.k12.de.us
Michele Petro-Wolfe Middle/Upper- Room 6 Paraprofessional michele.petro-wolfe@colonial.k12.de.us
Brandon Hughes Middle/Upper- Room 4 Teacher brandon.hughes@colonial.k12.de.us
Tahitie Outlaw Middle/Upper- Room 4 Paraprofessional tahitie.outlaw@colonial.k12.de.us
Michelle Williams Middle/Upper- Room 4 Paraprofessional michelle.williams@colonial.k12.de.us
Laura Butts Middle/Upper- Room 9 Teacher laura.butts@colonial.k12.de.us
Daniel Henry MIddle/Upper- Room 9 Paraprofessional daniel.henry@colonial.k12.de.us
Jeanette Drejka Middle/Upper- Room 9 Paraprofessional jeanette.drejka@colonial.k12.de.us
Amber Duren Middle/Upper- Room 11 Teacher Amber.duren@colonial.k12.de.us
Andrea Springfield Middle/Upper- Room 11 Paraprofessional andrea.springfield@colonial.k12.de.us
Maryanne Payne MIddle/Upper- Room 11 Paraprofessional
maryanne.payne@colonial.k12.de.us

 

 

Kathleen Benson PT Therapist kathleen.benson@colonial.k12.de.us
Dr. Kristin Capone PT Therapist kristin.capone@colonial.k12.de.us
Dr. Chris Palmer- Casey PT Therapist christine.palmer@colonial.k12.de.us
Dr. Tara Kulak OT Therapist tara.kulak@colonial.k12.de.us
Tom Winkler OT Therapist thomas.winkler@colonial.k12.de.us
Dr. Kristin Chickadel OT Therapist kristin.chickadel@colonial.k12.de.us
Annette Mestern OT Therapist annette.mestern@colonial.k12.de.us
Amy Micklos SLP Therapist amy.micklos@colonial.k12.de.us
Kelsey Newkirk SLP Therapist kelsey.newkirk@colonial.k12.de.us
Barbara Brooks Assistive Tech Therapist barbara.brooks@colonial.k12.de.us

 

Specialist Pyschologist krista.drewry@colonial.k12.de.us
Specialist Special Education Coordinator catherine.rounsely-maxwell@colonial.k12.de.us
Specialist Instructional Coach ann.udovich@colonial.k12.de.us

 

 

Emily Freefafer
Itinerant Teacher

emily.freehafer@colonial.k12.de.us

 

Kara Villanelli Music Teacher kara.villanelli@colonial.k12.de.us
Frank Hughes PE/Pool Teacher francis.hughes@colonial.k12.de.us
Dave Willard PE/Pool Teacher david.willard@colonial.k12.de.us
Kristin Rosenthal Art Teacher kristin.rosenthal@colonial.k12.de.us

 

Tracey O’Neill STAR Teacher teresa.o’neill@colonial.k12.de.us
Lillian Nepa STAR Paraprofessional lillian.nepa@colonial.k12.de.us
Gwendolyn Simpson STAR Paraprofessional gwendolyn.simpson@colonial.k12.de.us
Jozette Hartsfield STAR Paraprofessional jozette.hartsfield@colonial.k12.de.us
Michelle Lonergan STAR Teacher Mary.lonergan@colonial.k12.de.us
Karen Riley STAR Paraprofessional karen.riley@colonial.k12.de.us
Nicol Blevins STAR Paraprofessional nicol.blevins@colonial.k12.de.us
Darryl Bass STAR Paraprofessional darryl.bass@colonial.k12.de.us
Eileen Romanowski STAR Teacher eileen.romanowski@colonial.k12.de.us
Ed Conner STAR Paraprofessional edward.conner@colonial.k12.de.us
Kim Bates STAR Paraprofessional kimberly.bates@colonial.k12.de.us
Brooke Mitchell STAR Paraprofessional brooke.mitchell@colonial.k12.de.us

 

ABOUT US

The John G. Leach School, known initially as the Delaware Day School and founded by the Delaware Easter Seals Society, began as a public day school for youth with physical disabilities.  In 1953, it was renamed for John G. Leach, a prominent educator, humanitarian, and advocate for the disabled.  Leach School serves pupils residing in New Castle County, ages 3-21, who have physical disabilities, moderate to severe cognitive disabilities, or serious health impairments.  Leach School’s functional education and training as well as access to a traditional academic curriculum are individualized for students.  Students have the opportunity to develop their capacities for independence and academic success through their participation in a functional life-skills curriculum; supportive therapy – physical, occupational, and speech; pool program; adapted physical education; music; community-based instruction; and assistive technology programs.

Leach School staff and families strive to equip students with skills to think for themselves, appreciate the contribution of others, ambulate with increasing independence, learn on their own and communicate their thoughts and ideas effectively.

John G. Leach School staff and administration work collaboratively with parents, community, state and district groups to empower students to reach their fullest potential as independent and productive citizens. Leach School provides focused and motivating learning environments for all students. All staff engages in professional development to provide state-of-the-art programming. Our goal is to employ “best practice” methods, including the use of technology, individualized programming, functional mobility, and meaningful peer interaction opportunities. Our school/parent collaboration has been an integral part of our program’s success. These efforts led to Leach School’s recognition as the nation’s first M.O.V.E. (Mobility Opportunities Via Education) Model Site, twice the recipient of the State of Delaware Parent Partnership Award, the Delaware State Chamber of Commerce Superstars in Education Award and our First Friends Preschool was recognized by the ARC of Delaware’s “Program” award.

Our Vision, Mission, and Core Beliefs

Vision
We will create a nurturing community that honors all abilities in order to empower our students to grow and develop to reach their fullest potential.

Mission
Provide an individualized, engaging educational experience for each student grounded in collaboration, innovation, and achievement.

Core Beliefs
– Everyone has the right to meaningful engagement in a positive, –  collaborative, and respectful environment,
– Everyone has the right to communicate and be heard.
– Everyone has the right to know what is expected of them.