Quick Info

Nurses Corner
Coming Soon
Student Handbook & Code of Conduct
Student Handbook: Click here to download a pdf Code of Conduct: Click here

Staff

Kristina Lamia
Principal
Kristina.Lamia@colonial.k12.de.us

Carol Davis
Secretary-Leach Main Office
carol.davis@colonial.k12.de.us

Dot Wiggins
Secretary-Medical Records
dorothy.wiggins@colonial.k12.de.us

Claudia Peters
School Nurse
claudia.peters@colonial.k12.de.us

Heidi Hildick
School Nurse
heidi.hildick@colonial.k12.de.us

Joseph Salerno
School Nurse
jospeh.solerno@colonial.k12.de.us

Room L-1
Marissa Ranauto
Special Education Teacher
marissa.ranauto@colonial.k12.de.us

Tilesha McFee
Paraprofessional
tilesha.mcfee@colonial.k12.de.us

Chante “Chay” Doran
Paraprofessional
chante.doran@colonial.k12.de.us

Room L-2
Jennie Tacchi
Special Education Teacher
jennie.tacchi@colonial.k12.de.us

Kim Marandola
Paraprofessional
kim.marandola@colonial.k12.de.us

Jessica Kilbblehouse
Paraprofessional
jessica.kibblehouse@colonial.k12.de.us

Room L-4
Katheryn Rzucidlo
Special Education Teacher
katheryn.rzucidlo@colonial.k12.de.us

Sherise Brown
Paraprofessional
sherise.brown@colonial.k12.de.us

Madia Gray
Paraprofessional
madia.gray@colonial.k12.de.us

Room L-5
Regina Materese
Special Education Teacher
regina.materese@colonial.k12.de.us

Leslie Calhoun
Paraprofessional
leslie.calhoun@colonial.k12.de.us

Jessica Rauber
Paraprofessional
jessica.rauber@colonial.k12.de.us

Danielle Lundberg
Paraprofessional
danielle.lundberg@colonial.k12.de.us

Alicia Barlow
Paraprofessional
alicia.barlow@colonial.k12.de.us
Room L-6

Nicole Blevins
Paraprofessional
nicole.blevins@colonial.k12.de.us
Room L-6

Carmen Crews-Hart
Paraprofessional
carmen.crews-hart@colonial.k12.de.us
Room L-9

Jozette Hartsfield
Paraprofessional
jozette.hartsfield@colonial.k12.de.us
Room L-9

Natalie Horrocks
Special Education Teacher
natalie.horrocks@colonial.k12.de.us
Room L-3

Jillian Kennedy
Special Education Teacher
jillian.kennedy@colonial.k12.de.us
Room L-6

Mary “Michelle” Lonergan
Special Education Teacher
mary.lonergan@colonial.k12.de.us
Room L-6

Karyn Riley-Irons
Paraprofessional
karen.riley@colonial.k12.de.us
Room L-6

Sabrina Metz
Paraprofessional
sebrina.metz@colonial.k12.de.us
Room L-7

Lillian Neppa
Paraprofessional
lillian.neppa@colonial.k12.de.us
Room L-7

Maryanne Payne
Paraprofessional
maryanne.payne@colonial.k12.de.us
Room L-3 

Joan Robinson
Paraprofessional
joan.robinson@colonial.k12.de.us
Room L-11

Carla Setting
Special Education Teacher
carla.setting@colonial.k12.de.us
Room L-7

Ann Udovich
Special Education Teacher
ann.udovich@colonial.k12.de.us
Room L-9

Deb Vitalo
Paraprofessional
helend.vitalo@colonial.k12.de.us
Room L-9

Michelle Petro-Wolfe
Paraprofessional
michelle.petro-wolfe@colonial.k12.de.us
Room L-3

Bev Zimmerman
Paraprofessional
beverly.zimmerman@colonial.k12.de.us
Room L-7

Kim Bates
Paraprofessional
kimberly.bates@colonial.k12.de.us
Room L-12

Amber Duran
Special Education Teacher
amber.duran@colonial.k12.de.us
Room L-8

Jeannette Drejka
Paraprofessional
jeannette.drejka@colonial.k12.de.us
Room L-8

Susan Evans
Paraprofessional
Susan.Evans@colonial.k12.de.us
Room L-10

Daniel Henry
Paraprofessional
daniel.henry@colonial.k12.de.us
Room L-8

Brandon Hughes
Special Education Teacher
brandon.hughes@colonial.k12.de.us
Room L-10

Eileen Romanowski
Special Education Teacher
eileen.romanowski@colonial.k12.de.us
Room L-12

Janay Shockley
Paraprofessional
janay.shockley@colonial.k12.de.us
Room L-12

Andrea Springfield
Paraprofessional
andrea.springfield@colonial.k12.de.us
Room L-8

Robert Stefanisko
Paraprofessional
robert.stefanisko@colonial.k12.de.us
Room L-10

Occupational Therapists
Kristin Chickadel
kristin.chickadel@colonial.k12.de.us

 

Tara Kulak
tara.kulak@colonial.k12.de.us

Thomas Winkler
thomas.winkler@colonial.k12.de.us

Physical Therapists
Kathleen Benson
kathleen.benson@colonial.k12.de.us

Kristin Capone
kristin.capone@colonial.k12.de.us

Kimberly Duch
kimberly.duch@colonial.k12.de.us

Christine Palmer-Casey
christine.palmer@colonial.k12.de.us

Speech Language Therapists
Deborah Ford
deborah.ford@colonial.k12.de.us

Liz Merrick
elizabeth.merrick@colonial.k12.de.us

Amy Miklos
Amy.Micklos@colonial.k12.de.us

Barbara Brooks (Assistive Technology)
barbara.brooks@colonial.k12.de.us

Brian Gale
Special Education Coordinator
brian.gale@colonial.k12.de.us

Kathleen Eaken
Psychologist – PK
kathleen.eaken@colonial.k12.de.us

Krista Jensen
Psychologist – Elem/Secondary
krista.jensen@colonial.k12.de.us

Erika Potts
Itinerant Teacher
erika.potts@colonial.k12.de.us

Maggie McCool
Support Teacher
maggiedmccool@gmail.com

Kelly Burke
Music Teacher
Kelly.Burke@colonial.k12.de.us

Frank Hughes
Physical Education Teacher
Francis.Hughes@colonial.k12.de.us

David Willard
Pool Teacher
david.willard@colonial.k12.de.us

General Info

Principal:
Kristina Lamia kristina.lamia@colonial.k12.de.us

Grade Levels: K-5
Phone 302-429-4055

Location

10 Landers Lane
New Castle, DE 19720

School Hours

  • 8:15 AM Doors to school open **
  • 8:30 AM School day begins. (Students are late after 8:30)
  • 3:15 PM School day ends / Dismissal

ABOUT US

The John G. Leach School, known initially as the Delaware Day School and founded by the Delaware Easter Seals Society, began as a public day school for youth with physical disabilities.  In 1953, it was renamed for John G. Leach, a prominent educator, humanitarian, and advocate for the disabled.  Leach School serves pupils residing in New Castle County, ages 3-21, who have physical disabilities, moderate to severe cognitive disabilities, or serious health impairments.  Leach School’s functional education and training as well as access to a traditional academic curriculum are individualized for students.  Students have the opportunity to develop their capacities for independence and academic success through their participation in a functional life-skills curriculum; supportive therapy – physical, occupational, and speech; pool program; adapted physical education; music; community-based instruction; and assistive technology programs.

Leach School staff and families strive to equip students with skills to think for themselves, appreciate the contribution of others, ambulate with increasing independence, learn on their own and communicate their thoughts and ideas effectively.

John G. Leach School staff and administration work collaboratively with parents, community, state and district groups to empower students to reach their fullest potential as independent and productive citizens. Leach School provides focused and motivating learning environments for all students. All staff engages in professional development to provide state-of-the-art programming. Our goal is to employ “best practice” methods, including the use of technology, individualized programming, functional mobility, and meaningful peer interaction opportunities. Our school/parent collaboration has been an integral part of our program’s success. These efforts led to Leach School’s recognition as the nation’s first M.O.V.E. (Mobility Opportunities Via Education) Model Site, twice the recipient of the State of Delaware Parent Partnership Award, the Delaware State Chamber of Commerce Superstars in Education Award and our First Friends Preschool was recognized by the ARC of Delaware’s “Program” award.

Our Vision, Mission, and Core Beliefs

 Vision
“Our vision is to empower every student to become college and career ready by achieving his or her academic potential in a safe, positive, and nurturing school environment.”
Mission

“Our mission is to create a learning environment in which students are empowered to exercise their full academic ability. We will foster a collaborative atmosphere utilizing research-based techniques and practices so that students will reach their potential as independent, contributing members in a global society.”

Core Beliefs
“Every child can and will learn.”
“They’re all our students. We must work together to figure it out.”
“Do what is best for kids. Try to make a difference every day.”
“It is important to build positive relationships – with staff, students, parents, principals, community.”
“Have goals and expectations, and try to rise to the challenge to meet them.”