Main: 302-429-4055 • Transportation: (302) 323-2851 info@colonial.k12.de.us

Quick Info

Nurses Corner

Hello Leach friends!

Your school nurses are here for you. Please feel free to reach out to us via email or dojo. Check your classroom schoology page for office hours.
We hope everyone is staying healthy and social distancing.

Student Handbook & Code of Conduct

Student Handbook: Click here to download a pdf Code of Conduct: Click here

11/18: Phase One and Two Students and Families: Return to School Update

Phase One and Two Families Include:
– Integration A students at Southern, George Read , and William Penn
– Communication and Social Learning (CASL) at Southern, Intensive Learning Center (ILC) at Southern,
– Students at Leach, Adult Integration at Leach,
– Colwyck Pre-K students (CEEP)

Click here to read the update

General Info

Principal:
Kristina Lamia kristina.lamia@colonial.k12.de.us

Grade Levels: K-12
Phone 302-429-4055

Location

10 Landers Lane 
New Castle, DE 19720

School Hours

  • 8:15 AM Doors to school open
  • 8:30 AM School day begins. (Students are late after 8:30)
  • 3:15 PM School day ends / Dismissal

Staff

Kristina Lamia
Principal
Kristina.Lamia@colonial.k12.de.us

Carol Davis
Secretary-Leach Main Office
carol.davis@colonial.k12.de.us

Kim Tomlinson
Secretary-Medical Records
Kimberly.Tomlinson@colonial.k12.de.us

Claudia Peters
School Nurse
claudia.peters@colonial.k12.de.us

Heidi Hildick
School Nurse
heidi.hildick@colonial.k12.de.us

Joseph Salerno
School Nurse
jospeh.solerno@colonial.k12.de.us

Room L-1
Marissa Ranauto
Special Education Teacher
marissa.ranauto@colonial.k12.de.us

Tilesha McFee
Paraprofessional
tilesha.mcfee@colonial.k12.de.us

Chante “Chay” Doran
Paraprofessional
chante.doran@colonial.k12.de.us

Room L-3
Regina Materese
Special Education Teacher
regina.materese@colonial.k12.de.us

Leslie Calhoun
Paraprofessional
leslie.calhoun@colonial.k12.de.us

Jessica Rauber
Paraprofessional
jessica.rauber@colonial.k12.de.us

Danielle Lundberg
Paraprofessional
danielle.lundberg@colonial.k12.de.us

Room L-4
Katheryn Rzucidlo
Special Education Teacher
katheryn.rzucidlo@colonial.k12.de.us

Sherise Brown
Paraprofessional
sherise.brown@colonial.k12.de.us

Madia Gray
Paraprofessional
madia.gray@colonial.k12.de.us

 

Room L-5
Natalie Horrocks
Teacher

Natalie.Horrocks@colonial.k12.de.us 

Maryanne Payne
Paraprofessional
Maryanne.Payne@colonial.k12.de.us 

Michele Petro-Wolfe
Paraprofessional
Michele.Petro-Wolfe@colonial.k12.de.us

 

Megan Menozzi

Paraprofessional

Megan.Menozzi@colonial.k12.de.us

 

Room L-6

Jillian Kennedy

Teacher

Jillian.Kennedy@colonial.k12.de.us

 

Nicol Blevins

Paraprofessional

Nicol.Blevins@colonial.k12.de.us

 

Kimberly Marandola

Paraprofessional

Kimberly.Marandola@colonial.k12.de.us

 

Alicia Barlow

Paraprofessional

Alicia.Barlow@colonial.k12.de.us

 

Room L-7

Carla Setting

Teacher

Carla.Settting@colonial.k12.de.us

 

Beverly Zimmerman

Paraprofessional

Beverly.Zimmerman@colonial.k12.de.us

Room L-8

Maggie McCool

Teacher

Maggie.McCool@colonial.k12.de.us

 

Jozette Hartsfield

Paraprofessional

Jozette.Hartsfield@colonial.k12.de.us

 

Helen “Deb” Vitalo

Paraprofessional

Helen.Vitallo@colonial.k12.de.us

 

Max Fitzgerald

Paraprofessional

Max.Fitzgerald@colonial.k12.de.us

 

Room L-9

Mary “Michelle” Lonergan

Teacher

Mary.Longergan@colonial.k12.de.us

 

Karen Riley

Paraprofessional

Karen.Riley@colonial.k12.de.us

 

Little McElveen

Paraprofessional

Little.McElveen@colonial.k12.de.us

 

Room L-10

Brandon Hughes

Teacher

Brandon.Hughes@colonia.k12.de.us

 

Susan Evans

Paraprofessional

Susan.Evans@colonial.k12.de.us

 

Robert Stefanisko

Paraprofessional

Robert.Stefanisko@colonial.k12.de.us

 

Russell “Paul” Howe

Paraprofessional

Russell.Howe@colonial.k12.de.us

 

Room L-11

Amber Duren

Teacher

Amber.Duren@colonial.k12.de.us

 

Jeannette Drejka

Paraprofessional

Jeannette.Drejka@colonial.k12.de.us

 

Janay Shockley

Paraprofessional

Janay.Shockley@colonial.k12.de.us

 

Andrea Springfield

Paraprofessional

Andrea.Springfield@colonial.k12.de.us

 

Room L-12

Eileen Romanowski

Teacher

Eileen.Romanowski@colonial.k12.de.us

 

Kimberly Bates

Paraprofessional

Kimberly.Bates@colonial.k12.de.us

 

Lillian Nepa

Paraprofessional

Lillian.Nepa@colonial.k12.de.us

 

Sabrina Metz

Paraprofessional

Sabrina.Metz@colonial.k12.de.us

Occupational Therapists
Dr. Kristin Chickadel
kristin.chickadel@colonial.k12.de.us

 Dr. Tara Kulak
tara.kulak@colonial.k12.de.us

Thomas Winkler
thomas.winkler@colonial.k12.de.us

Annette Mestern
annette.mestern@colonial.k12.de.us

Physical Therapists
Kathleen Benson
kathleen.benson@colonial.k12.de.us

Dr. Kristin Capone
kristin.capone@colonial.k12.de.us

Dr. Kimberly Duch
kimberly.duch@colonial.k12.de.us

Dr. Christine Palmer-Casey
christine.palmer@colonial.k12.de.us

Speech Language Therapists
Dr. Deborah Ford
deborah.ford@colonial.k12.de.us

Dr. Liz Merrick
elizabeth.merrick@colonial.k12.de.us

Amy Miklos
Amy.Micklos@colonial.k12.de.us

Kelsey Newkirk
Kelsey.Newkirk@colonial.k12.de.us

Barbara Brooks (Assistive Technology)
barbara.brooks@colonial.k12.de.us

Ann Udovich
Coach
ann.udovich@colonial.k12.de.us 

Erika Powell
Special Education Coordinator
erika.powell@colonial.k12.de.us

Krista Jensen
Psychologist – 
krista.jensen@colonial.k12.de.us

Erika Potts
Itinerant Teacher
erika.potts@colonial.k12.de.us

Kelly Burke
Music Teacher
Kelly.Burke@colonial.k12.de.us

Frank Hughes
Aquatics and Physical Education Teacher
Francis.Hughes@colonial.k12.de.us

David Willard
Aquatics and Physical Education Teacher
david.willard@colonial.k12.de.us

Dione Allen 
Music Teahcer 
dione.allen@colonial.k12.de.us

ABOUT US

The John G. Leach School, known initially as the Delaware Day School and founded by the Delaware Easter Seals Society, began as a public day school for youth with physical disabilities.  In 1953, it was renamed for John G. Leach, a prominent educator, humanitarian, and advocate for the disabled.  Leach School serves pupils residing in New Castle County, ages 3-21, who have physical disabilities, moderate to severe cognitive disabilities, or serious health impairments.  Leach School’s functional education and training as well as access to a traditional academic curriculum are individualized for students.  Students have the opportunity to develop their capacities for independence and academic success through their participation in a functional life-skills curriculum; supportive therapy – physical, occupational, and speech; pool program; adapted physical education; music; community-based instruction; and assistive technology programs.

Leach School staff and families strive to equip students with skills to think for themselves, appreciate the contribution of others, ambulate with increasing independence, learn on their own and communicate their thoughts and ideas effectively.

John G. Leach School staff and administration work collaboratively with parents, community, state and district groups to empower students to reach their fullest potential as independent and productive citizens. Leach School provides focused and motivating learning environments for all students. All staff engages in professional development to provide state-of-the-art programming. Our goal is to employ “best practice” methods, including the use of technology, individualized programming, functional mobility, and meaningful peer interaction opportunities. Our school/parent collaboration has been an integral part of our program’s success. These efforts led to Leach School’s recognition as the nation’s first M.O.V.E. (Mobility Opportunities Via Education) Model Site, twice the recipient of the State of Delaware Parent Partnership Award, the Delaware State Chamber of Commerce Superstars in Education Award and our First Friends Preschool was recognized by the ARC of Delaware’s “Program” award.

Our Vision, Mission, and Core Beliefs

Vision
We will create a nurturing community that honors all abilities in order to empower our students to grow and develop to reach their fullest potential.

Mission
Provide an individualized, engaging educational experience for each student grounded in collaboration, innovation, and achievement.

Core Beliefs
– Everyone has the right to meaningful engagement in a positive, –  collaborative, and respectful environment,
– Everyone has the right to communicate and be heard.
– Everyone has the right to know what is expected of them.