الرئيسية: 302-323-2700 • النقل: (302) 323-2851
حدد صفحة

نحتفل: شهر تاريخ المرأة

المشاركات اليومية للاحتفال بشهر تاريخ المرأة حيث تعترف الأمة المستعمرة بمساهمات النساء من منطقتنا وولايتنا وبلدنا.

 

نحتفل: إليزابيث مارجي

نحتفل: إليزابيث مارجي

قلة من الناس يعرفون أن إليزابيث مارجي كانت المخترعة الأصلية للعبة اللوح Monopoly التي لا تزال تحظى بشعبية كبيرة والتي تم تسجيل براءة اختراعها في عام 1903. في البداية ، أطلقت عليها اسم The Landlord's Game. كانت مارجي من أعضاء جماعة الكويكرز وقد اخترعت اللعبة باعتبارها انعكاسًا لجشع أصحاب العقارات ...

نحتفل: جريس هوبر

نحتفل: جريس هوبر

كانت جريس هوبر رائدة في مجال الكمبيوتر وضابطة بحرية. حصلت على الماجستير (1930) والدكتوراه. (1934) في الرياضيات من جامعة ييل. واحدة من أول "مبرمجين" حديثين ، اشتهرت هوبر بمساهماتها الرائدة في تطوير ...

نحتفل: هنريتا جونسون

نحتفل: هنريتا جونسون

صنعت Henrietta Johnson التاريخ السياسي في ولاية ديلاوير من خلال كونها أول امرأة سوداء يتم انتخابها لعضوية مجلس النواب في الجمعية العامة بولاية ديلاوير. خدمت أربع فترات مدتها سنتان تمثل سكان المنطقة الثالثة في ويلمنجتون. خلال سنواتها في ...

نحتفل: آني جمب كانون

نحتفل: آني جمب كانون

ولدت آني جمب كانون في 11 ديسمبر 1863 في دوفر بولاية ديلاوير. كانت مهتمة بعلم الفلك منذ صغرها ، حيث أشارت هي ووالدتها إلى كتاب مدرسي قديم في علم الفلك لتحديد النجوم التي تُرى من العلية. حضرت أكاديمية Wilmington Conference ، اليوم ...

نحتفل: تاميكا مونتغمري ريفز

نحتفل: تاميكا مونتغمري ريفز

الأونورابل تاميكا ر.مونتغمري ريفز هو محام وأول أمريكي من أصل أفريقي يعمل كقاضي مشارك في محكمة ديلاوير العليا. بعد تخرجها من جامعة ميسيسيبي على رأس فصلها عام 2003 ، ومن جامعة جورجيا ...

نحتفل: سارة ماكبرايد

نحتفل: سارة ماكبرايد

عضو مجلس الشيوخ عن ولاية ديلاوير ، سارة ماكبرايد ، هي أول سيناتور عن دولة المتحولين جنسياً في البلاد ، مما يجعلها أعلى مسؤول متحولين جنسياً في الولايات المتحدة. ولدت في 9 أغسطس 1990 ، وفازت في الانتخابات التمهيدية الديمقراطية في 15 سبتمبر 2020. وهي حاليًا ...

نحتفل: روث آن مينر

نحتفل: روث آن مينر

تم انتخاب أول امرأة تشغل منصب حاكمة ولاية ديلاوير في عام 2000. وقد حصلت على ترشيح الحزب الديمقراطي بعد سنواتها الطويلة في الجمعية العامة ، بصفتها ملازمًا للحاكم وقدرتها الواضحة على إدارة حملة على مستوى ولايتها الكبيرة ...

نحتفل: بوليت سوليفان مور

نحتفل: بوليت سوليفان مور

بوليت سوليفان مور هي أول محامية أمريكية من أصل أفريقي في ولاية ديلاوير. أكملت تعليمها القانوني في كلية الحقوق بجامعة روتجرز (1976). في عام 1977 ، أصبحت مور أول أمريكية من أصل أفريقي يتم قبولها لممارسة القانون في ولاية ديلاوير. في نفس العام ، ...

نحتفل: بولين أ. يونغ

نحتفل: بولين أ. يونغ

كانت بولين يونغ معلمة أمريكية من أصل أفريقي وأمينة مكتبة ومؤرخة ومحاضرة وناشطة مجتمعية تعمل في المجال الإنساني في ولاية ديلاوير. كانت عضوًا مكرسًا مدى الحياة في فرعها المحلي والوطني في NAACP. ولد يونغ في ولاية ماساتشوستس ، ونشأ بالقرب من تحت الأرض ...

نحتفل: فيلما سكانتلبري

نحتفل: فيلما سكانتلبري

فيلما ب.سكانتلبري ، دكتوراه في الطب ، FACS ، المدير المساعد لبرنامج زراعة الكلى في Christiana Care ، هي أول جراح زرع أمريكي من أصل أفريقي. قبلت منصبًا في كريستيانا كير بعد عملها في جامعة جنوب ألاباما ...

نحتفل: The Real Betty Boop - Esther Jones

نحتفل: The Real Betty Boop - Esther Jones 

Esther Jones هو اسم Betty Boop الحقيقي. استلهمت شخصية الرسوم المتحركة الشهيرة بيتي بوب من مغني الجاز الأسود في هارلم. قدمه رسام الكاريكاتير ماكس فلايشر في عام 1930 ، وكان الكاريكاتير لعنصر الجاز الزعنفة هو أول وأشهر رمز جنسي في ...

نحتفل: د. لافيرن هارمون

نحتفل: د. لافيرن هارمون

أصبح الدكتور لافيرن هارمون رئيسًا لجامعة ويلمنجتون في يوليو 2017 بعد موافقة مجلس أمنائها بالإجماع. وهي أول امرأة أمريكية من أصل أفريقي يتم تعيينها رئيسة لكلية أو جامعة في ولاية ديلاوير. الدكتور هارمون يحمل ...

نحتفل: إميلي بيسيل

نحتفل: إميلي بيسيل

وُلدت إميلي بيسيل في ويلمنجتون بولاية ديلاوير عام 1861 ، وهي معروفة بأنها مؤسسة أول روضة أطفال عامة في ويلمنجتون. وهي معروفة أيضًا بجهودها في إدخال قوانين عمالة الأطفال في ولاية ديلاوير. في عام 1883 ، أسست منظمة تعرف الآن باسم West End ...

نحتفل: مارغريت إيرفينغ هاندي

نحتفل: مارغريت إيرفينغ هاندي

ولدت مارجريت إيرفينغ هاندي في سميرنا بولاية ديلاوير ، وكانت ابنة إل. إيرفينغ هاندي ، ممثل الولايات المتحدة. بعد تخرجها من كلية الطب ، كانت أول امرأة مولودة في ولاية ديلاوار تصبح طبيبة وكانت أيضًا أول طبيبة أطفال في الولاية ...

نحن نحتفل! كاثلين هـ. ويلبر

نحن نحتفل! كاثلين هـ. ويلبر

كرست كاثلين ويلبر حياتها لرعاية الآخرين كممرضة مسجلة وعملت في كل من مستشفى شؤون المحاربين القدامى ومستشفى ولاية ديلاوير لاحقًا. نشطة في مجتمعها ، عملت كاثلين كعضو في منطقة مدرسة DeLaWarr السابقة ، و ...

نحتفل: كاثرين بويل

نحتفل: كاثرين بويل

السيدة كاثرين بويل ، من سكان نيو كاسل ، كانت عاملة ذخيرة خلال الحرب العالمية الأولى. ألقي القبض عليها خلال مظاهرة حريق الاقتراع في يناير 1919 وحُكم عليها بالسجن خمسة أيام. بدأ بويل المساهمة في اتحاد الكونجرس ...

نحن نحتفل! روزماري (رو) بيانشيني

نحن نحتفل! روزماري (رو) بيانشيني

أصبحت Roe Bianchini عضوًا في هيئة التدريس في مدرسة William Penn High School (WPHS) في عام 1969. بعد 26 عامًا من عملها كمدربة فائزة للهوكي والكرة اللينة في WPHS ، تم إدخالها إلى قاعة مشاهير Delaware. في عام 2015 ، تم إدخالها في قاعة مشاهير ويليام بن ....

نحتفل: جيل بايدن - السيدة الأولى

نحتفل: جيل بايدن - السيدة الأولى

جيل بايدن هي السيدة الأولى للولايات المتحدة ومعلمة كلية مجتمع ومعلمة سابقة في مدرسة عامة. في عام 1976 ، بدأت جيل بايدن بتدريس اللغة الإنجليزية في مدرسة سانت مارك الثانوية في ويلمنجتون. ثم أصبحت أخصائية قراءة في مدرسة Claymont High ...

نحتفل: باربرا فخور

نحتفل: باربرا فخور

باربرا ب. براود ، مصورة تجارية وفنية محترفة ، تخرجت من مدرسة ويليام بن الثانوية في عام 1974 ، وحصلت على المركز الثاني في فصلها بمعدل 4.0 ، وألقت خطابًا تحييًا عند تخرجها. شاركت بنشاط في الأنشطة المدرسية و ...

Main: 302-323-2700 • Transportation: (302) 323-2851

WE Celebrate: Women’s History Month

Daily posts in celebration of Women’s History Month as Colonial Nation recognizes the contributions of Women from our district, state, and country.

 

WE Celebrate: Elizabeth Margie

WE Celebrate: Elizabeth Margie

Few know that Elizabeth Margie was the original inventor of the still highly popular board game Monopoly that was patented in 1903. Initially, she called it the Landlord’s Game. Margie was a Quaker and had invented the game as a reflection on the greed of landlords...

We Celebrate: Grace Hopper

We Celebrate: Grace Hopper

Grace Hopper was a computer pioneer and naval officer. She received a master’s degree (1930) and a Ph.D. (1934) in mathematics from Yale. One of the first three modern “programmers,” Hopper is best known for her trailblazing contributions to the development of...

WE Celebrate: Henrietta Johnson

WE Celebrate: Henrietta Johnson

Henrietta Johnson made political history in Delaware by becoming the first Black woman elected to the Delaware General Assembly House of Representatives. She served four 2-year terms representing the people of the 3rd district in Wilmington. During her years in the...

WE Celebrate:  Annie Jump Cannon

WE Celebrate: Annie Jump Cannon

Annie Jump Cannon was born on December 11, 1863, in Dover, Delaware. She was interested in astronomy from a young age, as she and her mother referenced an old astronomy textbook to identify stars seen from their attic. She attended Wilmington Conference Academy, today...

WE Celebrate: Tamika Montgomery-Reeves

WE Celebrate: Tamika Montgomery-Reeves

The Honorable Tamika R. Montgomery-Reeves is a lawyer and the first African American to serve as an Associate Justice on the Delaware Supreme Court. After graduating from the University of Mississippi at the top of her class in 2003, and the University of Georgia...

WE Celebrate: Sarah McBride

WE Celebrate: Sarah McBride

Delaware State Senator Sarah McBride is the first transgender state senator in the country, making her the highest-ranking transgender official in the United States.  Born August 9, 1990, she won in a Democratic primary September 15, 2020. She is currently the...

WE Celebrate: Ruth Ann Minner

WE Celebrate: Ruth Ann Minner

Delaware’s First Female Governor Delaware’s first female governor was elected in 2000. She had secured the Democratic nomination after her long years in the General Assembly, as Lieutenant Governor and her demonstrated ability to run a campaign by her large statewide...

We Celebrate: Paulette Sullivan Moore

We Celebrate: Paulette Sullivan Moore

Paulette Sullivan Moore is Delaware’s first African American female lawyer. She completed her legal education at Rutgers University Law School (1976). In 1977, Moore became the first African American female admitted to practice law in Delaware. In the same year, she...

WE Celebrate: Pauline A. Young

WE Celebrate: Pauline A. Young

Pauline Young was an African-American teacher, librarian, historian, lecturer, community activist, humanitarian in Delaware. She was a devoted lifelong member of her local and the national chapter of the NAACP. Born in Massachusetts, Young grew up near an underground...

WE Celebrate: Velma Scantlebury

WE Celebrate: Velma Scantlebury

Velma P. Scantlebury, M.D, FACS , the associate director of the Kidney Transplant Program at Christiana Care, is the first African American female transplant surgeon. She accepted a position at Christiana Care after working at the University of South Alabama’s...

WE Celebrate: The Real Betty Boop – Esther Jones 

WE Celebrate: The Real Betty Boop – Esther Jones 

Esther Jones is the name of the real Betty Boop. The iconic cartoon character Betty Boop was inspired by a Black jazz singer in Harlem. Introduced by cartoonist Max Fleischer in 1930, the caricature of the jazz age flapper was the first and most famous sex symbol in...

WE Celebrate: Dr. LaVerne Harmon

WE Celebrate: Dr. LaVerne Harmon

Dr. LaVerne Harmon became President of Wilmington University in July of 2017 after being unanimously approved by its Board of Trustees. She is the first African-American woman to be named the president of a college or university in Delaware. Dr. Harmon holds a...

WE Celebrate: Emily Bissell

WE Celebrate: Emily Bissell

Born in Wilmington, Delaware in 1861, Emily Bissell is known for being the founder of Wilmington’s first public kindergarten. She is also known for her efforts to introduce child labor laws in Delaware. In 1883, she founded an organization, now known as the West End...

WE Celebrate: Margaret Irving Handy

WE Celebrate: Margaret Irving Handy

Margaret Irving Handy was born in Smyrna, Delaware, and was the daughter of L. Irving Handy, a U.S. Representative. After graduating from medical school, she was the first female native-born Delawarean to become a doctor and was also the state’s first pediatrician....

WE Celebrate! Kathleen H. Wilbur

WE Celebrate! Kathleen H. Wilbur

Kathleen H. Wilbur dedicated her life to caring for others as a registered nurse and worked for both the Veterans Affairs Hospital and later the Delaware State Hospital. Active in her community, Kathleen served as a member of the former DeLaWarr School District, would...

WE Celebrate: Catherine Boyle

WE Celebrate: Catherine Boyle

Mrs. Catherine Boyle, a New Castle resident, was a munitions worker during World War I. She was arrested during a suffrage watchfire demonstration in January 1919 and was sentenced to five days in jail. Boyle began contributing to the Congressional Union, the...

WE Celebrate! Rosemary (Roe) Bianchini

WE Celebrate! Rosemary (Roe) Bianchini

Roe Bianchini  became a member of  William Penn High School’s (WPHS) faculty in 1969. After 26 years as the winning field hockey and softball coach at WPHS she was inducted into the Delaware Hall of Fame.  In 2015, she was inducted into William Penn’s Hall of Fame....

WE Celebrate: Jill Biden-First Lady

WE Celebrate: Jill Biden-First Lady

Jill Biden, Ed.D., is the First Lady of the United States, a community college educator, and a former public school teacher. In 1976, Jill Biden began teaching English at St. Mark’s High School in Wilmington. She then became a reading specialist at Claymont High...

WE Celebrate: Barbara Proud

WE Celebrate: Barbara Proud

Barbara B. Proud, a professional commercial and fine art photographer, graduated from William Penn High School in 1974, second in her class with a 4.0 average, and gave the salutatorian speech at her graduation. She was actively involved in school activities and...