الرئيسية: 302-323-2700 • النقل: (302) 323-2851
حدد صفحة

نحتفل بشهر تاريخ السود 2021

المشاركات اليومية للاحتفال بشهر التاريخ الأسود حيث تعترف الأمة المستعمرة بمساهمات الأمريكيين الأفارقة من منطقتنا وولايتنا وبلدنا.

 

نحتفل - ستيفاني إنجرام

نحتفل - ستيفاني إنجرام

ستيفاني إنجرام ، تخرجت عام 1990 من مدرسة ويليام بن الثانوية ، وهي أول امرأة أمريكية من أصل أفريقي تعمل كرئيسة لجمعية التعليم بولاية ديلاوير (DSEA). تمثل DSEA أكثر من 13,000 معلم ، مساعد مهني ، متخصص ، ممرض ، ...

نحتفل - ماري آن شاد كاري

أصبحت ماري آن شاد كاري من دعاة إلغاء الرق أول رئيسة تحرير صحيفة أمريكية من أصل أفريقي في أمريكا الشمالية عندما أطلقت صحيفة بلاك ذا بروفينشونال فريمن. في وقت لاحق من حياتها ، أصبحت ثاني امرأة أمريكية من أصل أفريقي في الولايات المتحدة تحصل على قانون ...

نحتفل - بوب مارلي

يا رجل! عاش مغني الريغي بوب مارلي ذات مرة في ويلمنجتون مع والدته في شارع تاتنال التي كانت تدير متجر الموسيقى الجامايكي "الجذور" في شارع ماركت ستريت. اليوم ، تسمى حديقة في 24 وتاتنال “One Love Park” تكريما له. خارج جامايكا ، يقال أن ويلمنجتون ...

نحتفل: جيم سيلز

نحتفل: جيم سيلز

أصبح جيم سيلز أول أمريكي من أصل أفريقي يشغل منصب عمدة مدينة ويلمنجتون في عام 1992. وقبل ذلك ، درس سيلز في جامعة ديلاوير من عام 1972 إلى عام 1977. وكان المدير المؤسس لبرنامج الوكيل الحضري وفي عام 1987 أسس ديلاوير ...

نحتفل: رؤساء الشرطة الأمريكية من أصل أفريقي في مدينة ديلاوير

نحتفل: رؤساء الشرطة الأمريكية من أصل أفريقي في مدينة ديلاوير

كان تشارلز "تشاك" جريفين أول رئيس شرطة أسود في ديلاوير. في عام 1971 تم تعيينه لقيادة قوة الشرطة في مدينة ديلاوير. في ذلك الوقت ، كان الموقف بدوام جزئي ، من الساعة 8 مساءً حتى 4 صباحًا طوال أيام الأسبوع ومن 4 مساءً حتى منتصف الليل في عطلات نهاية الأسبوع. تظهر الروايات الإخبارية أنه وضع 40-50 ...

نحن الشرف - ليزا بلانت روتشستر

نحن الشرف - ليزا بلانت روتشستر

في عام 2016 ، دخلت ليزا بلانت روتشستر التاريخ عندما أصبحت أول شخص ملون يمثل ولاية ديلاوير في الكونغرس. بدأت حياتها المهنية كحلل للمشاكل وداعية. عملت ليزا ، وهي مسؤولة حالة لعضو الكونغرس آنذاك توم كاربر ، على مساعدة الناس خلال ...

الزواج بين الأعراق في الولايات المتحدة

الزواج بين الأعراق في الولايات المتحدة

عيد الحب هو كل شيء عن الحب ولكن هل تعلم أن الزيجات بين الأعراق كانت غير قانونية في السابق وأن فيلم "Loving" لعام 2016 كان مبنيًا على قصة حقيقية؟ خلال القرن السابع عشر وأوائل القرن الثامن عشر ، تزايد عدد الزيجات بين الأعراق (المعروف أيضًا باسم ...

نحتفل: أول محامي أسود لولاية ديلاوير

نحتفل: أول محامي أسود لولاية ديلاوير

في عام 1929 ، أصبح لويس ل. ردينغ أول محامٍ أسود في ولاية ديلاوير. كان رائدا محترما في مجال الحقوق المدنية لولاية ديلاوير وأمريكا. في عام 1950 ، جمعت Redding قضية ضد جامعة ديلاوير ، والتي منعت الطلاب السود. لكن مدير الجامعة ...

نحتفل: بيتر سبنسر

نحتفل: بيتر سبنسر

(1782-1843) كان سبنسر رجل تحرير أمريكي أسس في عام 1813 كنيسة الاتحاد الأفريقي في ويلمنجتون بولاية ديلاوير. تُعرف المذهب الآن باسم الكنيسة البروتستانتية الميثودية الملونة الأولى للاتحاد الأفريقي والاتصال ، أو كنيسة AUMP باختصار. ولد في...

نناقش: المدارس المنفصلة - وجهة نظر مشرع سابق

نناقش: المدارس المنفصلة - وجهة نظر مشرع سابق

عاش JJ Johnson في منطقة المدارس الاستعمارية لأكثر من 40 عامًا وقضى 14 عامًا منها كممثل للولاية في الجمعية العامة بولاية ديلاوير. اهتم جونسون بشدة بتعليم أطفال المدارس الاستعمارية ، ويرجع ذلك جزئيًا إلى ...

نحتفل - ديفيد ماي

نحتفل - ديفيد ماي

ولد ديفيد لفرانس ماي الأب في نيو كاسل بولاية ديلاوير في 23 ديسمبر 1943 ونشأ في أولد نيو كاسل. برعت ماي في الرياضة في سن مبكرة وأصبحت لاعبة بارزة عندما كانت طالبة في مدرسة ويليام بن الثانوية (WPHS). قد لعب البيسبول وكرة القدم و ...

نحتفل: جين ميتشل

نحتفل: جين ميتشل 

كانت جين ميتشل ، المقيمة في مدينة ديلاوير ، أول أمريكية من أصل أفريقي تعمل كممرضة مسجلة في أحد مستشفيات ديلاوير. بعد كسر خط اللون هذا في عام 1948 في عيادة حاكم بيكون الصحية في مدينة ديلاوير ، عمل ميتشل في عيادة ديلاوير للطب النفسي ...

نحتفل - ليتلتون ميتشل

نحتفل - ليتلتون ميتشل

كان ليتلتون ميتشل من مدينة ديلاوير عضوًا في طيارين توسكيجي المشهورين خلال الحرب العالمية الثانية. اشتهر بأنه الرئيس الصريح لمدة 30 عامًا NAACP للولاية (1961-1991) وقد اكتسب سمعة كمقاتل شرس من أجل الحقوق المدنية في ولاية ديلاوير ، ...

رؤساء الشرطة الأمريكية من أصل أفريقي في مدينة ديلاوير

رؤساء الشرطة الأمريكية من أصل أفريقي في مدينة ديلاوير

كان تشارلز "تشاك" جريفين أول رئيس شرطة أسود في ديلاوير. في عام 1971 تم تعيينه لقيادة قوة الشرطة في مدينة ديلاوير. في ذلك الوقت ، كان الموقف بدوام جزئي ، من الساعة 8 مساءً حتى 4 صباحًا طوال أيام الأسبوع ومن 4 مساءً حتى منتصف الليل في عطلات نهاية الأسبوع. تظهر الروايات الإخبارية أنه وضع 40-50 ...

نحتفل - توني ألين

نحتفل - توني ألين

توني ألين ، خريج مدرسة ويليام بن الثانوية ، هو حاليًا رئيس جامعة ولاية ديلاوير. ألين ، كاتب خطابات سابق للرئيس جو بايدن ، شغل أيضًا منصب رئيس اللجنة الافتتاحية للقائد العام. في مناصب قيادية أخرى ...

نحن نكرم: مدرسة Buttonwood الملونة

نحن نكرم: مدرسة Buttonwood الملونة

تم افتتاح مدرسة Buttonwood Coloured School ، التي تقع خارج الطريق 9 في شارع Buttonwood في New Castle ، لأول مرة في عام 1919 خلال فترة الفصل العنصري في البلاد لتلبية احتياجات الطلاب "الملونين" الذين نشأوا في الضواحي السوداء التاريخية. ال...

نحتفل: بولكتاون

نحتفل: بولكتاون

كان هذا المجتمع الأفريقي الأمريكي يقع في مدينة ديلاوير بالقرب من سفح جسر ريدي بوينت. كانت بولكتاون واحدة من أقدم المستوطنات السوداء المجانية في ولاية ديلاوير. تضمنت كنيسة ومدرسة والعديد من المساكن. تم التحكم في ملكية أراضي بولكتاون من قبل ...

نكرم: مقبرة كنيسة الاتحاد الأفريقي

نكرم: مقبرة كنيسة الاتحاد الأفريقي

تقع في مدينة ديلاوير على طول طريق مايك كاسل تريل ، وقد تم شراء نصف فدان من الأرض من قبل خمسة أمناء لكنيسة الاتحاد الأفريقي في عام 1835 مقابل 80 دولارًا حيث تم بناء كنيسة ، وقد تم تدميرها الآن ، مع وجود المقبرة المتبقية فقط. خدمت الكنيسة والمقبرة سكان ...

نحتفل - يوجين بيتي

نحتفل - يوجين بيتي

أصبح يوجين بيتي ، المقيم في باتونوود ، أول رئيس شرطة أمريكي من أصل أفريقي لمدينة نيو كاسل في عام 1975. في عام 1963 بدأ بيتي حياته المهنية مع المدينة كضابط بدوام جزئي مع شرطة مدينة نيو كاسل (NCCPD) ضابط متفرغ في ...

نحتفل: داستي بلاكي

نحتفل: داستي بلاكي

نحتفل: Dusty Blakey Dusty Blakey ، Ed.D ، أصبح أول مشرف أمريكي من أصل أفريقي لمنطقة المدارس الاستعمارية في 26 يونيو 2014. قبل تعيينه في منصب المشرف ، عمل الدكتور بلاكي كمدير لمدارس كولونيال. له الآخر ...

Main: 302-323-2700 • Transportation: (302) 323-2851

We Celebrate Black History Month 2021

Daily posts in celebration of Black History Month as Colonial Nation recognizes the contributions of African Americans from our district, state, and country.

 

WE Celebrate – Stephanie Ingram

WE Celebrate – Stephanie Ingram

Stephanie Ingram, a 1990 graduate of William Penn High School, is the first African American woman to serve as  President of the Delaware State Education Association (DSEA). The DSEA represents more than 13,000 teachers,  paraprofessionals, specialists, nurses,...

WE Celebrate – Mary Ann Shadd Cary

Abolitionist Mary Ann Shadd Cary became the first female African American newspaper editor in North America when she started the Black newspaper The Provincial Freemen. Later in life, she became the second African American woman in the United States to earn a law...

WE Celebrate – Bob Marley

Ya Man! Reggae Singer Bob Marley  once lived in Wilmington with his mother on  Tatnall Street who ran the “Roots” Jamaican music shop on Market Street. Today, a park at 24th and Tatnall is called “One Love Park” in his honor.  Outside of Jamaica, Wilmington is said to...

We Celebrate: Jim Sills

We Celebrate: Jim Sills

Jim Sills became the first African American to serve as Mayor for the city of Wilmington in 1992. Prior to that, Sills taught at the University of Delaware from 1972 to 1977. He was founding director of the Urban Agent Program and in 1987 he founded the Delaware...

WE Celebrate: Delaware City’s African American Police Chiefs

WE Celebrate: Delaware City’s African American Police Chiefs

Charles “Chuck” Griffin was Delaware’s first Black police Chief.  In 1971 he was hired to lead the police force in Delaware City. At the time, the position was part-time, 8 p.m.-4 a.m. weekdays and 4 p.m. to midnight on weekends. News accounts show he put in 40-50...

WE Honor – Lisa Blunt Rochester

WE Honor – Lisa Blunt Rochester

In 2016 Lisa Blunt Rochester made history when she became the first person of color to represent Delaware in Congress. She began her professional career as a problem-solver and an advocate. A caseworker for then-Congressman Tom Carper, Lisa helped people during...

Interracial Marriage in the United states

Interracial Marriage in the United states

Valentine’s Day is all about love but did you know interracial marriages were once illegal and the 2016 movie “Loving” was based on a true story? During the seventeenth and early eighteenth century, the growing number of interracial marriages (also known as...

WE Celebrate: Delaware’s First Black Attorney

WE Celebrate: Delaware’s First Black Attorney

In 1929, Louis L. Redding became the first Black lawyer in Delaware.  He was a respected civil rights pioneer for Delaware and America. In 1950, Redding compiled a case against the University of Delaware, which barred Black students. But the university's chancellor,...

We Celebrate: Peter Spencer

We Celebrate: Peter Spencer

(1782–1843) Spencer was an American freedman who in 1813 founded the Union Church of Africans in Wilmington, Delaware. The denomination is now known as the African Union First Colored Methodist Protestant Church and Connection, or A.U.M.P. Church for short. Born into...

WE Discuss: Segregated Schools- a Former Lawmaker’s Perspective

WE Discuss: Segregated Schools- a Former Lawmaker’s Perspective

J.J Johnson has lived in the Colonial School district for more than 40 years and spent 14 of those years as a State Representative in the Delaware General Assembly.  Johnson took a keen interest in the education of Colonial school children, in part because of his own...

WE Celebrate – David May

WE Celebrate – David May

David LaFrance May Sr. was born in New Castle, Delaware on December 23, 1943, and was raised in Old New Castle. May excelled in sports at an early age and became a standout athlete while a student at William Penn High School (WPHS). May played baseball, football, and...

WE Celebrate: Jane Mitchell 

WE Celebrate: Jane Mitchell 

Jane Mitchell, a resident of Delaware City, was the first African-American to work as a registered nurse in a Delaware hospital. After breaking that color line in 1948 at the Gov. Bacon Health Clinic in Delaware City, Mitchell worked at the Delaware Psychiatric...

WE Celebrate – Littleton Mitchell

WE Celebrate – Littleton Mitchell

Littleton Mitchell of Delaware City was a member of the famed Tuskegee Airmen during World War II. He was best known as the 30-year outspoken president of the state NAACP (1961-1991) and he established a reputation as a ferocious fighter for civil rights in Delaware,...

Delaware City’s African American Police Chiefs

Delaware City’s African American Police Chiefs

Charles “Chuck” Griffin was Delaware’s first Black police Chief.  In 1971 he was hired to lead the police force in Delaware City. At the time, the position was part-time, 8 p.m.-4 a.m. weekdays and 4 p.m. to midnight on weekends. News accounts show he put in 40-50...

We Celebrate – Tony Allen

We Celebrate – Tony Allen

Tony Allen, a graduate of William Penn High School, is presently the President of Delaware State University. Allen, a former speechwriter for President Joe Biden, also served as head of the Commander in Chief’s Inaugural Committee.   In other positions of leadership,...

WE Honor: The Buttonwood Colored School

WE Honor: The Buttonwood Colored School

Located off of Route 9 on Buttonwood Avenue in New Castle, the Buttonwood Colored School first opened in 1919 during the nation’s period of segregation to serve the needs of “colored” students growing up in the historically Black suburban neighborhood. The...

WE Celebrate: Polktown

WE Celebrate: Polktown

This African American community was located in Delaware City near the foot of the Reedy Point Bridge. Polktown was one of the earliest free black settlements in Delaware. It included a church, school, and many residences. Polktown land ownership was controlled by...

We Honor: African Union Church Cemetery

We Honor: African Union Church Cemetery

Located in Delaware City along the Mike Castle Trail, a half-acre of land was purchased by five trustees of the African Union Church in 1835 for $80 where a church, now razed, was built with only the cemetery remaining. The church and cemetery served residents of...

We Celebrate – Eugene Petty

We Celebrate – Eugene Petty

Eugene Petty, a resident of Buttonwood,  became the first African American Police Chief for the city of New Castle in 1975. In 1963 Petty began his career with the city as a part-time officer with the New Castle City Police (NCCPD), becoming a full-time officer in...

WE Celebrate: Dusty Blakey

WE Celebrate: Dusty Blakey

WE Celebrate: Dusty Blakey Dusty Blakey, Ed.D.,  became the first African American Superintendent of the Colonial School District on June 26, 2014. Prior to his appointment as Superintendent, Dr. Blakey served as a Director of Schools for Colonial. His other...