Principal: 302-323-2700 • Transport: (302) 323-2851
Sélectionnez la page

Nous célébrons le Mois de l'histoire des Noirs 2021

Des messages quotidiens pour célébrer le Mois de l'histoire des Noirs en tant que nation coloniale reconnaissent les contributions des Afro-Américains de notre district, état et pays.

 

NOUS Fêtons - Stephanie Ingram

NOUS Fêtons - Stephanie Ingram

Stephanie Ingram, diplômée en 1990 du lycée William Penn, est la première femme afro-américaine à devenir présidente de la Delaware State Education Association (DSEA). La DSEA représente plus de 13,000 enseignants, paraprofessionnels, spécialistes, infirmières, ...

NOUS Fêtons - Mary Ann Shadd Cary

L'abolitionniste Mary Ann Shadd Cary est devenue la première femme rédactrice en chef de journal afro-américaine en Amérique du Nord lorsqu'elle a lancé le journal noir The Provincial Freemen. Plus tard dans la vie, elle est devenue la deuxième femme afro-américaine aux États-Unis à obtenir une loi ...

NOUS Fêtons - Bob Marley

Ya Man! Le chanteur de reggae Bob Marley a vécu à Wilmington avec sa mère sur Tatnall Street qui dirigeait le magasin de musique jamaïcain «Roots» sur Market Street. Aujourd'hui, un parc au 24e et Tatnall s'appelle «One Love Park» en son honneur. En dehors de la Jamaïque, on dit que Wilmington ...

Nous célébrons: Jim Sills

Nous célébrons: Jim Sills

Jim Sills est devenu le premier Afro-Américain à devenir maire de la ville de Wilmington en 1992. Auparavant, Sills a enseigné à l'Université du Delaware de 1972 à 1977. Il a été directeur fondateur du Urban Agent Program et en 1987, il a fondé le Delaware...

NOUS Fêtons: les chefs de police afro-américains de Delaware City

NOUS Fêtons: les chefs de police afro-américains de Delaware City

Charles «Chuck» Griffin était le premier chef de police noir du Delaware. En 1971, il a été embauché pour diriger la police de Delaware City. À l'époque, le poste était à temps partiel, de 8 h à 4 h en semaine et de 4 h à minuit le week-end. Les comptes de nouvelles montrent qu'il a mis 40-50 ...

Nous honorons - Lisa Blunt Rochester

Nous honorons - Lisa Blunt Rochester

En 2016, Lisa Blunt Rochester est entrée dans l'histoire lorsqu'elle est devenue la première personne de couleur à représenter le Delaware au Congrès. Elle a commencé sa carrière professionnelle en tant que solutionneur de problèmes et avocate. Assistante sociale du député de l'époque Tom Carper, Lisa a aidé les gens pendant ...

Mariage interracial aux États-Unis

Mariage interracial aux États-Unis

La Saint-Valentin est une question d'amour, mais saviez-vous que les mariages interraciaux étaient autrefois illégaux et que le film de 2016 «Loving» était basé sur une histoire vraie? Au cours du XVIIe et du début du XVIIIe siècle, le nombre croissant de mariages interraciaux (également appelés ...

NOUS Fêtons: le premier avocat noir du Delaware

NOUS Fêtons: le premier avocat noir du Delaware

En 1929, Louis L. Redding est devenu le premier avocat noir du Delaware. Il était un pionnier respecté des droits civiques pour le Delaware et l'Amérique. En 1950, Redding a compilé une affaire contre l'Université du Delaware, qui a interdit les étudiants noirs. Mais le chancelier de l'université, ...

Nous célébrons: Peter Spencer

Nous célébrons: Peter Spencer

(1782–1843) Spencer était un affranchi américain qui, en 1813, fonda l'Union Church of Africans à Wilmington, Delaware. La dénomination est maintenant connue sous le nom de Première Église protestante méthodiste de couleur de l'Union africaine et connexion, ou église AUMP en abrégé. Né dans...

NOUS Fêtons - David May

NOUS Fêtons - David May

David LaFrance May Sr. est né à New Castle, Delaware le 23 décembre 1943 et a grandi à Old New Castle. May a excellé dans le sport à un âge précoce et est devenu un athlète hors pair alors qu'il était étudiant à la William Penn High School (WPHS). May a joué au baseball, au football et ...

NOUS Fêtons: Jane Mitchell

NOUS Fêtons: Jane Mitchell 

Jane Mitchell, une résidente de Delaware City, a été la première Afro-Américaine à travailler comme infirmière autorisée dans un hôpital du Delaware. Après avoir brisé cette ligne de couleur en 1948 à la clinique de santé Gov. Bacon à Delaware City, Mitchell a travaillé au Delaware Psychiatric ...

NOUS Fêtons - Littleton Mitchell

NOUS Fêtons - Littleton Mitchell

Littleton Mitchell de Delaware City était membre des célèbres aviateurs de Tuskegee pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Il était surtout connu comme le président franc de l'état NAACP depuis 30 ans (1961-1991) et il s'est forgé une réputation de féroce combattant pour les droits civils dans le Delaware, ...

Chefs de police afro-américains de Delaware City

Chefs de police afro-américains de Delaware City

Charles «Chuck» Griffin était le premier chef de police noir du Delaware. En 1971, il a été embauché pour diriger la police de Delaware City. À l'époque, le poste était à temps partiel, de 8 h à 4 h en semaine et de 4 h à minuit le week-end. Les comptes de nouvelles montrent qu'il a mis 40-50 ...

Nous célébrons - Tony Allen

Nous célébrons - Tony Allen

Tony Allen, diplômé de la William Penn High School, est actuellement président de la Delaware State University. Allen, un ancien rédacteur de discours du président Joe Biden, a également été chef du comité inaugural du commandant en chef. Dans d'autres postes de direction, ...

NOUS honorons: L'école colorée de Buttonwood

NOUS honorons: L'école colorée de Buttonwood

Située à la sortie de la route 9 sur Buttonwood Avenue à New Castle, la Buttonwood Coloured School a ouvert ses portes en 1919 pendant la période de ségrégation du pays pour répondre aux besoins des étudiants «de couleur» grandissant dans le quartier de banlieue historiquement noir. La...

NOUS Fêtons: Polktown

NOUS Fêtons: Polktown

Cette communauté afro-américaine était située à Delaware City, près du pied du pont Reedy Point. Polktown a été l'une des premières colonies noires libres du Delaware. Il comprenait une église, une école et de nombreuses résidences. La propriété foncière de Polktown était contrôlée par ...

Nous honorons: Cimetière de l'Église de l'Union africaine

Nous honorons: Cimetière de l'Église de l'Union africaine

Situé à Delaware City le long du sentier Mike Castle, un demi-acre de terrain a été acheté par cinq administrateurs de l'Église de l'Union africaine en 1835 pour 80 $ où une église, maintenant rasée, a été construite avec seulement le cimetière restant. L'église et le cimetière desservaient les habitants de ...

Nous célébrons - Eugene Petty

Nous célébrons - Eugene Petty

Eugene Petty, un résident de Buttonwood, est devenu le premier chef de la police afro-américaine de la ville de New Castle en 1975. En 1963, Petty a commencé sa carrière dans la ville en tant qu'officier à temps partiel avec la police de New Castle City (NCCPD), devenant ainsi un officier à plein temps en ...

NOUS Fêtons: Dusty Blakey

NOUS Fêtons: Dusty Blakey

NOUS Fêtons: Dusty Blakey Dusty Blakey, Ed.D., est devenu le premier surintendant afro-américain du Colonial School District le 26 juin 2014. Avant sa nomination en tant que surintendant, le Dr Blakey a été directeur des écoles de Colonial. Son autre ...

Main: 302-323-2700 • Transportation: (302) 323-2851

We Celebrate Black History Month 2021

Daily posts in celebration of Black History Month as Colonial Nation recognizes the contributions of African Americans from our district, state, and country.

 

WE Celebrate – Stephanie Ingram

WE Celebrate – Stephanie Ingram

Stephanie Ingram, a 1990 graduate of William Penn High School, is the first African American woman to serve as  President of the Delaware State Education Association (DSEA). The DSEA represents more than 13,000 teachers,  paraprofessionals, specialists, nurses,...

WE Celebrate – Mary Ann Shadd Cary

Abolitionist Mary Ann Shadd Cary became the first female African American newspaper editor in North America when she started the Black newspaper The Provincial Freemen. Later in life, she became the second African American woman in the United States to earn a law...

WE Celebrate – Bob Marley

Ya Man! Reggae Singer Bob Marley  once lived in Wilmington with his mother on  Tatnall Street who ran the “Roots” Jamaican music shop on Market Street. Today, a park at 24th and Tatnall is called “One Love Park” in his honor.  Outside of Jamaica, Wilmington is said to...

We Celebrate: Jim Sills

We Celebrate: Jim Sills

Jim Sills became the first African American to serve as Mayor for the city of Wilmington in 1992. Prior to that, Sills taught at the University of Delaware from 1972 to 1977. He was founding director of the Urban Agent Program and in 1987 he founded the Delaware...

WE Celebrate: Delaware City’s African American Police Chiefs

WE Celebrate: Delaware City’s African American Police Chiefs

Charles “Chuck” Griffin was Delaware’s first Black police Chief.  In 1971 he was hired to lead the police force in Delaware City. At the time, the position was part-time, 8 p.m.-4 a.m. weekdays and 4 p.m. to midnight on weekends. News accounts show he put in 40-50...

WE Honor – Lisa Blunt Rochester

WE Honor – Lisa Blunt Rochester

In 2016 Lisa Blunt Rochester made history when she became the first person of color to represent Delaware in Congress. She began her professional career as a problem-solver and an advocate. A caseworker for then-Congressman Tom Carper, Lisa helped people during...

Interracial Marriage in the United states

Interracial Marriage in the United states

Valentine’s Day is all about love but did you know interracial marriages were once illegal and the 2016 movie “Loving” was based on a true story? During the seventeenth and early eighteenth century, the growing number of interracial marriages (also known as...

WE Celebrate: Delaware’s First Black Attorney

WE Celebrate: Delaware’s First Black Attorney

In 1929, Louis L. Redding became the first Black lawyer in Delaware.  He was a respected civil rights pioneer for Delaware and America. In 1950, Redding compiled a case against the University of Delaware, which barred Black students. But the university's chancellor,...

We Celebrate: Peter Spencer

We Celebrate: Peter Spencer

(1782–1843) Spencer was an American freedman who in 1813 founded the Union Church of Africans in Wilmington, Delaware. The denomination is now known as the African Union First Colored Methodist Protestant Church and Connection, or A.U.M.P. Church for short. Born into...

WE Discuss: Segregated Schools- a Former Lawmaker’s Perspective

WE Discuss: Segregated Schools- a Former Lawmaker’s Perspective

J.J Johnson has lived in the Colonial School district for more than 40 years and spent 14 of those years as a State Representative in the Delaware General Assembly.  Johnson took a keen interest in the education of Colonial school children, in part because of his own...

WE Celebrate – David May

WE Celebrate – David May

David LaFrance May Sr. was born in New Castle, Delaware on December 23, 1943, and was raised in Old New Castle. May excelled in sports at an early age and became a standout athlete while a student at William Penn High School (WPHS). May played baseball, football, and...

WE Celebrate: Jane Mitchell 

WE Celebrate: Jane Mitchell 

Jane Mitchell, a resident of Delaware City, was the first African-American to work as a registered nurse in a Delaware hospital. After breaking that color line in 1948 at the Gov. Bacon Health Clinic in Delaware City, Mitchell worked at the Delaware Psychiatric...

WE Celebrate – Littleton Mitchell

WE Celebrate – Littleton Mitchell

Littleton Mitchell of Delaware City was a member of the famed Tuskegee Airmen during World War II. He was best known as the 30-year outspoken president of the state NAACP (1961-1991) and he established a reputation as a ferocious fighter for civil rights in Delaware,...

Delaware City’s African American Police Chiefs

Delaware City’s African American Police Chiefs

Charles “Chuck” Griffin was Delaware’s first Black police Chief.  In 1971 he was hired to lead the police force in Delaware City. At the time, the position was part-time, 8 p.m.-4 a.m. weekdays and 4 p.m. to midnight on weekends. News accounts show he put in 40-50...

We Celebrate – Tony Allen

We Celebrate – Tony Allen

Tony Allen, a graduate of William Penn High School, is presently the President of Delaware State University. Allen, a former speechwriter for President Joe Biden, also served as head of the Commander in Chief’s Inaugural Committee.   In other positions of leadership,...

WE Honor: The Buttonwood Colored School

WE Honor: The Buttonwood Colored School

Located off of Route 9 on Buttonwood Avenue in New Castle, the Buttonwood Colored School first opened in 1919 during the nation’s period of segregation to serve the needs of “colored” students growing up in the historically Black suburban neighborhood. The...

WE Celebrate: Polktown

WE Celebrate: Polktown

This African American community was located in Delaware City near the foot of the Reedy Point Bridge. Polktown was one of the earliest free black settlements in Delaware. It included a church, school, and many residences. Polktown land ownership was controlled by...

We Honor: African Union Church Cemetery

We Honor: African Union Church Cemetery

Located in Delaware City along the Mike Castle Trail, a half-acre of land was purchased by five trustees of the African Union Church in 1835 for $80 where a church, now razed, was built with only the cemetery remaining. The church and cemetery served residents of...

We Celebrate – Eugene Petty

We Celebrate – Eugene Petty

Eugene Petty, a resident of Buttonwood,  became the first African American Police Chief for the city of New Castle in 1975. In 1963 Petty began his career with the city as a part-time officer with the New Castle City Police (NCCPD), becoming a full-time officer in...

WE Celebrate: Dusty Blakey

WE Celebrate: Dusty Blakey

WE Celebrate: Dusty Blakey Dusty Blakey, Ed.D.,  became the first African American Superintendent of the Colonial School District on June 26, 2014. Prior to his appointment as Superintendent, Dr. Blakey served as a Director of Schools for Colonial. His other...