الرئيسية: 302-323-2700 • النقل: (302) 323-2851
حدد صفحة

من نحن - عائلة زيمرمان

بالنسبة لعائلة زيمرمان ، فإن العمل في منطقة مدارس كولونيال هو شأن عائلي وقصة حب في آن واحد. بدأ الأمر عندما بدأ جيم ، وهو الآن نائب المدير في مدرسة ويليام بن الثانوية (WPHS) ، وكاتي ، وهو الآن مدرس في الصف الثاني في ويلمنجتون مانور ، في المواعدة كأحباء في المدرسة الثانوية. على الرغم من أن الزوجين التقيا كطالبين في مدرسة جورج ريد الإعدادية ، إلا أنهما لم يبدآ المواعدة حتى سنتهما الأخيرة في ويليام بن ، وتخرج كلاهما في عام 2. تزوج الزوجان في عام 1989 بعد التخرج من كليات منفصلة. تشمل ذكريات جيم العزيزة في WPHS الأيام التي كان فيها مصارعًا بارزًا ، بينما أحب كاتي الغناء في الجوقة. 

جميع أطفالهم الثلاثة هم من المستعمرات ، مع إميلي (من الصف الأول إلى الثامن) ، وتخرج جيمي من WPHS في عام 2019 ، وآنا ، البالغة من العمر 15 عامًا ، تحضر الآن.  أثناء وجودها في الكلية ، ستعود إميلي إلى المنطقة كمتدربة في برنامج التعليم المبكر في كولونيال (CEEP) ، وهي تدرس الآن في مدرسة Southern.  نعم ، هذه العائلة تنزف حقًا باللونين الأحمر الكرزي والأسود على أنها مستعمرات مدى الحياة مع قول جيم ، "هذا يعني أن لديك التزامًا دائمًا بالفخر بجذورك كدولة مستعمرة ودعم الأمة المستعمرة."

 تتمتع إميلي بذكريات طفولة جميلة عن وجودها مع والدها في WPHS. "أحببت التسكع مع المصارعين عندما كان والدي هو مدرب المصارعة وهم ، المصارعين ،  عاملني كأخت صغيرة.  كما أن مقابلة العديد من الموظفين المختلفين الذين أصبحوا في الأساس مثل الأسرة أمر خاص جدًا بالنسبة لي ".

 يتمتع جيم وكاتي زيمرمان بوظائف مدتها 27 عامًا في كولونيال.  يعتز جيم بقصص النجاح التي حصل عليها مع عدد لا يحصى من الطلاب ، بينما تستمتع كاتي بعمل مشاريع مختلفة مع طلابها مثل حظيرة الدجاج والبط التي أنشأها طلاب WPHS لها حتى يتمكن طلابها من الحصول على تجربة عملية لأول مرة في العمل مع الحيوانات ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع حديقة الفراشات تأمل هي والأطفال في تعزيز هذا الربيع.  تقول إميلي إنها عرفت أن التدريس كان يسري في دمها أثناء فترة تدريبها في CEEP بفضل الدعم الذي تلقته من زملائها المعلمين والإداريين. تقول: "منذ العمل في الحضانة ، أشعر أنني نمت كثيرًا عندما يتعلق الأمر بالعثور على صوتي الحازم وعمق حبي لتعليم الطلاب".

يُحدث كل من Jim و Katie و Emily Zimmerman فرقًا في حياة الطلاب ويتفقون بشكل جماعي على شيء واحد ، "كعائلة ، أعتقد أننا نود أن نتذكرنا بصفتنا مستعمرين حقيقيين عملوا على جعل مدارسنا ومجتمعنا أفضل مكان!"

الزيمرمان هم #whowearecsd

Main: 302-323-2700 • Transportation: (302) 323-2851

Who WE Are – Zimmerman Family

For the Zimmerman family, working for the Colonial School District is a family affair and a love story all in one. It started when Jim, now the Deputy Principal at William Penn High School (WPHS), and Katie, now a 2nd-grade teacher at Wilmington Manor, started dating as high school sweethearts. Even though the couple met as students at George Read Middle School, they didn’t begin dating until their senior year at William Penn, with both graduating in 1989. The couple married in 1994 after graduating from separate colleges. Jim’s fondest memories at WPHS include the days when he was a stand-out wrestler, while Katie loved singing in the choir. 

All three of their children are Colonials, with Emily (going from grades first through eighth), Jimmy graduating from WPHS in 2019, and Anna, age 15, attending now.  While in college Emily would return to the district as an intern at Colonial’s Early Education Program (CEEP), and now teaches at Southern.  Yes, this family truly bleeds cherry red and black as lifetime Colonials with Jim saying, “It means that you have a commitment to always have pride in your roots as a Colonial and support Colonial Nation.”

 Emily has fond childhood memories of being at WPHS with her father. “I loved hanging out with the wrestlers when my dad was the wrestling coach and they, the wrestlers,  treated me like a little sister.  Meeting many different staff members who have basically become like family is also very special to me,” she says.

 Jim and Katie Zimmerman have 27-year careers in Colonial.  Jim cherishes the success stories he has had with countless students, while Katie enjoys doing different projects with her students like the chicken and duck coop that WPHS students built for her so her students could have first-time hands-on experience working with animals, along with a butterfly garden she and the kids hope to enhance this spring.  Emily says she knew teaching was in her blood while interning at CEEP thanks to the support she’s received from fellow teachers and administrators. “Since working at the preschool, I feel I have grown so much when it comes to finding my assertive voice and have deepened my love of teaching students,” she says.

Jim, Katie, and Emily Zimmerman each are making a difference in the lives of students and collectively agree on one thing, “As a family, I think we would like to be remembered as True Colonials who worked to make our schools and community a better place!”

The Zimmermans are #whowearecsd