الرئيسية: 302-323-2700 • النقل: (302) 323-2851
حدد صفحة

من نحن - السيد الرقيب ليروي راش

لمدة 16 عامًا ، شوهد الرقيب ليروي راش بفخر وهو يرتدي زيه الأزرق للقوات الجوية الأمريكية أو بزاته في ويليام بن (WP) حيث يعمل الآن كمدرب طيران بعد بدء برنامج تدريب ضباط الاحتياط الصغار (JROTC) في المدرسة في 2005. راش ، الذي أمضى ما يقرب من 23 عامًا في سلاح الجو ، يعتقد اعتقادًا راسخًا أنه من واجبه المدني توجيه الشباب وتطويرهم ليصبحوا مواطنين منتجين. يُنظر إليه أيضًا على أنه شخصية الأب للعديد من الطلاب قائلاً ، "لدي الكثير من الطلاب السابقين والحاليين الذين يشعرون أنني أبي في مدرستهم. أتعامل مع الكثير من الطلاب العسكريين بطريقة مماثلة حيث ربيت أطفالي الثلاثة .. عادل ، لكن حازم! نهجي مع الأطفال لا يتعلق فقط بالانضباط ، لأنني أجد أن هناك لحظة قابلة للتعليم متاحة في كل موقف ".

يأمل راش أن يتخرج طلابه بشعور خاص من الفخر بعد العثور على عائلة ثانية في WP ، وهي عائلة نجحت في توجيههم وتعليمهم جيدًا. يجد متعة شخصية في رؤية طلابه يتطورون إلى بالغين ناضجين يربحون في الحياة ويشير إلى أمثلة مشرقة مثل ناتاليا درو ، التي تخرجت من أكاديمية ويست بوينت العسكرية وهي حاليًا كابتن في الجيش الأمريكي ، ستيفن ناردوني ، وآخر الذي وصل إلى رتبة نقيب في سلاح الجو ، وويلي غونزاليس الذي يعمل الآن طيارًا في شركة طيران JetBlue. على الرغم من أن Rush لم يتخرج من WP مثل العديد من الموظفين ، إلا أنه يقول ، "كنت أتمنى لو أنني فعلت ذلك ، لكانت تجربتي التعليمية رائعة!"

يأمل راش أن يدرك جميع خرّيجيه أن قوة كولونيال في WE ساعدت في تشكيل مستقبلهم. "عندما أفكر في قوة WE ، أفكر في جميع موظفي Colonial School District ، وعمال الكافتيريا ، والأوصياء ، والمعلمين ، والأمناء الذين يعملون معًا لتعليم أطفالنا. هذه الوحدة هي التي جعلت من كولونيال منطقة تعليمية رائعة ". يحتل يوم المحاربين القدامى مكانة خاصة في قلب راش لأنه لا يفكر فقط في جميع الرجال والنساء الذين ضحوا لحماية وخدمة الولايات المتحدة ولكن أيضًا بأسرته لأن جده وأبيه وابنه من قدامى المحاربين مثله. "آمل في يوم المحاربين القدامى هذا أن تستغرق أمتنا ككل وقتًا طويلاً للتفكير في تضحيات قدامى المحاربين الذين خدموا في الحروب للدفاع عن أسلوب حياتنا. تتيح هذه التضحيات للمواطنين حرية التعبير والاحتجاج. أمريكا هي أعظم مكان للعيش على هذه الأرض! "

Leroy هي #WhoWEAreCSD

Main: 302-323-2700 • Transportation: (302) 323-2851

Who WE Are – Master Sergeant LeRoy Rush

For 16 years Master Sergeant LeRoy Rush has been seen proudly wearing his US Air Force blue uniform or fatigues at William Penn (WP) where he now serves as an aerospace instructor after starting the Junior Reserve Officers Training Corps (JROTC) program at the school in 2005. Rush, who spent nearly 23 years in the Air Force, strongly believes it’s his civic duty to mentor and develop youth to become productive citizens. He also is seen as a father figure to many students saying, “I have plenty of cadets past and present who feel like I’m their school dad. I deal with a lot of cadets in a similar way that I raised my own three children..fair, but firm! My approach with kids is not all about discipline, because I find a teachable moment is available in every situation.”

Rush hopes his cadets graduate with a special sense of pride after finding a second family at WP, a family that successfully guided and taught them well. He finds personal joy in seeing his cadets develop into mature adults who are winning in life and points to shining examples like Natalia Drew, who went on to graduate from West Point Military Academy and is currently a Captain in the US Army, Steven Nardone, another who reached the rank of Captain in the Air Force, and Willie Gonzales who is now a pilot for a JetBlue airline. Although Rush did not graduate from WP like many on staff he says, “I wish I did, my education experiences would have been great!”

Rush hopes all of his graduates realize Colonial’s Power of WE helped to shape their future. “When I think about the Power of WE, I think about all Colonial School District employees, cafeteria workers, custodians, teachers, and secretaries all working together to educate our children. This UNITY is what made Colonial a great school district.” Veterans Day holds a special place in Rush’s heart because he not only thinks about all of the men and women who sacrificed to protect and serve the United States but also his own family because his grandfather, father, and son are veterans like himself. “I would hope on this Veterans Day our nation as a whole would take time out to reflect on the sacrifices of our veterans who served in wars defending our way of life. These sacrifices allow citizens to have freedom of speech and protest. America is the greatest place to live on this earth!”

Leroy is #WhoWEAreCSD