الرئيسية: 302-323-2700 • النقل: (302) 323-2851
حدد صفحة

من نحن - خيري بك

خيري باي - أفضل مدرس في المنطقة التعليمية الاستعمارية لعام 2021

خيري باي ، مدرس الصحة في مدرسة ماكولو المتوسطة ، حصل على لقب مدرس العام في كولونيال.  كما أنه يقود الطريق في تدريس اليقظة الذهنية للطلاب وفي بعض الأحيان للموظفين خلال أيام التطوير المهني.  تشجع جلسات الذهن ، التي تُعقد غالبًا في القبة السماوية لمكولوغ ، المشاركين على التأمل من خلال التركيز على ما يشعرون به وما يشعرون به في الوقت الحالي.  وجدت Bey أنه من المفيد تعليم الطلاب تقنيات التنفس التي تساعد المراهقين على التركيز والاسترخاء والتصرف بشكل مناسب خلال المواقف العصيبة.

Bey هي أيضًا واحدة من السبعة الأصلية "Educators of Color" ، وهي منظمة كولونيال التي تأسست في عام 2016 لجميع المعلمين والموظفين الملتزمين باتخاذ قرارات وإجراءات قائمة على الإنصاف.  يقول باي: "تحتاج المقاطعات إلى التركيز على السكان ناقصي التمثيل في التدريس من خلال تجنيد المعلمين الملونين ومساعدتهم والمحافظة عليهم لتقديم خدمة أفضل لجميع طلابنا".

يفخر باي بعمله الإنصاف مع المقاطعة ، ويشارك في تسهيل العديد من دراسات الكتب المستندة إلى الإنصاف والصدمات المستندة إلى الفقر ، ومحاضرات التكبير ، والمزيد قائلاً ، "أعتقد أن هذا مهم لأن طلابنا يصلون إلى المدرسة بكمية هائلة من صدمة من الإجهاد السام. هذه الصدمة تعرقل بشكل مباشر قدرتهم على التفوق أكاديميا وجسديا واجتماعيا وعاطفيا ".

 بصرف النظر عن كونه مدافعًا عن الطلاب والتزامه القوي برؤية أن منطقة مدارس كولونيال تواصل التحرك عن قصد نحو أن تصبح "مناهضة للعنصرية" ، تم ترشيح باي وتأكيده في مجلس المعايير المهنية بمجلس الشيوخ في ديلاوير لمدة ثلاث سنوات.  في McCullough ، يتولى مشاريع مثل تاريخ السود والاحتفالات من أصل إسباني / لاتيني ومتطوعين كدي جي ومدير رقصات وفعاليات تحفيزية.  تفخر منطقة مدارس كولونيال بأن خيري باي ، مدرس المنطقة للعام 2020-2021 ، يمثل من نحن!

خيري هي #WhoWEAreCSD.

Main: 302-323-2700 • Transportation: (302) 323-2851

Who We Are – Khayree Bey

Khayree Bey – 2021 Colonial School District Teacher of the Year

Khayree Bey, a health teacher at McCullough Middle School, has been named Colonial’s Teacher of the Year.  He also leads the way in teaching mindfulness to students and on occasion to staff during professional development days.  The mindfulness sessions, often held in McCullough’s planetarium, encourages participants to meditate by focusing on what they are sensing and feeling at the moment.  Bey has found it helpful to teach students breathing techniques that help teens to focus, relax, and act appropriately during stressful situations.

Bey is also one of the seven original “Educators of Color,” an organization Colonial founded in 2016 for all teachers and staff who are committed to making equity-based decisions and actions.  “Districts need to focus on the underrepresented population in teaching by recruiting, assisting, and maintaining educators of color to better serve all of our students,” Bey says.

Bey is proud of his equity work with the District, and co-facilitates numerous equity-based trauma and poverty informed book studies, zoom lectures, and more saying,” I believe this is important because our students arrive at school with a tremendous amount of trauma from toxic stress. This trauma directly impedes their ability to excel academically, physically, socially and emotionally.”

 Aside from being an advocate for students and his strong commitment to seeing that the Colonial School District continues to intentionally move towards becoming “anti-racist,” Bey was nominated and confirmed to the Delaware Senate Professional Standards Board for the three-year term.  At McCullough, he takes on projects like black history and Hispanic/Latino celebrations and volunteers as a DJ and emcee at incentive dances and events.  The Colonial School District is proud that Khayree Bey, the 2020-2021 District Teacher of the Year, represents Who WE ARE!

Khayree is #WhoWEAreCSD.