الرئيسية: 302-323-2700 • النقل: (302) 323-2851
حدد صفحة

من نحن - كيفن وايت

يعمل مدير والين كيفن وايت كمسؤول في مهمة. في Wallin ، وهي مدرسة ثانوية للطلاب الذين يعانون من تحديات أكاديمية وسلوكية وجسدية و / أو معرفية ، فهو مصمم على جعل مدرسته أكثر من مجرد مكان به برامج بديلة.

"لقد اتخذنا خطوات لإنشاء هويتنا الخاصة ومنح الطلاب مدرسة يفخرون بحضورها وارتداء ملابس Wallin الخاصة بهم مع شعارنا وألوان مدرستنا.  كما أردنا إعداد الطلاب للحياة بعد تخرجهم ، ”يقول وايت.  في Wallin ، يؤمن وايت بمساءلة الطلاب من خلال كونهم حازمين وعادلين ومتسقين ، بينما يُظهرون للطلاب أنهم موضع تقدير ومحبوب.  تشير الأرقام إلى كل شيء - منذ أن أصبح وايت مدير مدرسة Wallin في عام 2015 ، زادت مستويات القراءة بحوالي 70٪ والمدرسة لديها الآن معدل تخرج قياسي 97٪. يقول: "لقد أصبحت والين مدرسة يختار فيها الآباء إرسال أطفالهم ، بدلاً من" وضعهم "هناك.

انضم وايت إلى كولونيال منذ 22 عامًا حيث أمضى معظم حياته المهنية كمدير مساعد في مدرسة ويليام بن الثانوية (WPHS).  زوج وأب لطفلين بالغين التحقوا بمدارس في المنطقة ، وهذا الجد الآن لثلاثة أطفال يعتبر كولونيال عائلته الثانية قائلاً ، "عندما وصلت إلى كولونيال ، شعرت أن مجتمع المعلمين وأولياء الأمور والطلاب احتضنني حقًا و جعلني أشعر وكأنني كنت دائمًا جزءًا من عائلة كولونيال.  لقد تحول زملائي المحترفون إلى أصدقاء مدى الحياة ، والآن بدأت في إنجاب أطفال الطلاب السابقين.  لقد استمتعت بالبقاء في مكان واحد وأتيحت لي الفرصة لأرى كيف تحولت حياة الطلاب بعد أن استثمرت الكثير من الوقت في نموهم وتطورهم ".

يتعامل وايت مع التعليم بعقلية أن كل طالب لديه موهبة. "التحدي هو معرفة ما هو وزراعته. هذا هو المكان الذي نأتي إليه كمعلمين. مهمتنا هي توفير المهارات والإرشادات اللازمة لمساعدتهم على اكتشاف تلك الموهبة ، بغض النظر عن مدى جودة إخفاءها.  أحد الدروس التي أحب تدريسها هو أن يجد الطلاب شيئًا تحبه كثيرًا لدرجة أنك ستفعله مجانًا ، وأن يجدوا طريقة لكسب لقمة العيش من خلال القيام بذلك.  هذا هو مفتاح طول العمر! "

Main: 302-323-2700 • Transportation: (302) 323-2851

Who WE Are – Kevin White

Wallin Principal Kevin White is an administrator on a mission. At Wallin, a high school for students with academic, behavioral, physical, and/or cognitive challenges, he is determined to make his school more than a place with alternative programs.

“We took steps to create our own identity and to give the students a school that they are proud to attend and wear their Wallin gear with our logo and our school colors.  Also, we wanted to prepare students for life after they graduated,” White says.  At Wallin, White believes in holding students accountable by being firm, fair, and consistent, while showing students they are valued and loved.  The numbers tell it all–since White became the principal at Wallin in 2015, reading levels increased by about 70% and the school now has a record 97% graduation rate. “Wallin has become a school where parents are ‘choosing’ to send their children, instead of being ‘placed’ there,” he says.

White joined Colonial 22 years ago where he spent most of his career as an assistant principal at William Penn High School (WPHS).  A husband and father of two adult children who attended schools in the district, this now grandfather of three considers Colonial his second family saying, “When I got to Colonial, I felt like the community of teachers, parents, and students really embraced me and made me feel like I was always a part of the Colonial family.  I have had professional colleagues turn into lifelong friends, and now I’m starting to have the children of former students.  I’ve enjoyed staying in one place and having the opportunity to see how students’ lives have turned out after you have invested so much time in their growth and development.”

White approaches education with the mindset that every student has talent. “The challenge is to find out what that is and cultivate it. That’s where we come in as educators. Our job is to provide the necessary skills and guidance to help them discover that talent, no matter how well it’s hidden.  One lesson that I like to teach is for students to find something that you love so much that you would do it for free, and find a way to make a living doing it.  That’s the key to longevity! “