الرئيسية: 302-323-2700 • النقل: (302) 323-2851
حدد صفحة

من نحن - دوريس ويلمر وديلوريس تشابيل

فيدنمان
|

يعرف كل من Delores و Doris أنهما بلغا سن التقاعد ، لكن عندما سئلوا عما إذا كانوا يواصلون العمل لأنهم يحبون وظائفهم ، استجابوا في انسجام تام. . . 

"لك ذالك!" 

كأطفال ، التحقوا بمدارس في منطقة مدارس كولونيال ، وتخرجوا من مدرسة دي لا وار الثانوية السابقة. لقد أرسلوا أطفالهم وأحفادهم إلى المدارس في CSD ، وعملوا معًا يوميًا لأكثر من 30 عامًا في كولونيال. الشقيقتان التوأم دوريس ويلمر وديلوريس تشابيل تبلغان من العمر 68 عامًا ، وكلاهما بدأ مسيرتهما المهنية في قسم خدمات التغذية ويعملان الآن كوصي ، ويصلان ويغادران للعمل معًا. يعرف ديلوريس ودوريس أنهما بلغا سن التقاعد ، لكن عندما سئلوا عما إذا كانوا يواصلون العمل لأنهم يحبون وظائفهم ، أجابوا في انسجام تام ، "لقد فهمت ذلك!" 

كانت ديلوريس هي أول من بدأت بالمنطقة عام 1985 حيث أمضت 16 عامًا في خدمات التغذية.  ستتبع دوريس في عام 1988.  تتذكر أن أول راتب لها كان 27 دولارًا فقط.  فكرت في المغادرة حينها لكنها قالت ، "لقد وقعت في حب الأطفال ، لقد أحببت حقًا ما فعلته!" تم نقل التوأم لاحقًا إلى طاقم الحراسة حيث يعمل كلاهما الآن معًا في جورج ريد.  "إنه أمر ممتع لأنني أراها كل يوم وستتمكن من رؤيتي" يقول ديلوريس الذي يضيف أن الأمر أكثر إمتاعًا عندما يخلط الموظفون والطلاب أحيانًا بين أحدهما والآخر. يقول التوأم إنهما استمتعا بمشاهدة CSD وهي تتحسن على مر السنين ، واستمتعا بشكل خاص بالعلاقة الوثيقة مع الموظفين.

يقول ديلوريس: "لقد واجهت بعض المشكلات الشخصية في حياتي مع عائلتي وكانوا هناك من أجلي ، بغض النظر عن السبب ... كان لدي بعض الأشخاص اللطفاء للغاية الذين كانوا هناك من أجلي". لم تقنع ديلوريس توأمها بالعمل لدى CSD فحسب ، بل أقنعت أيضًا ابنها Keelin.  عمل كيلين في المنطقة لمدة 21 عامًا حيث ارتقى إلى رتب كبير أمناء في مدارس كاري داوني ونيو كاسل الابتدائية.  بعد العمل ، انضم إلى طاقم تدريب كرة القدم في William Penn حيث كان لاعبًا سابقًا.  "أنا فخور جدًا بابني.  لقد قطعت كيلين شوطًا طويلاً.  أنا فخور به كأب وجد ، وبعمله في المنطقة ".

يعرف التوأم أن الوباء قد فرض ضغطًا إضافيًا على الأوصياء الذين يتعين عليهم الآن الالتزام ببروتوكولات أمان إضافية لإنقاذ حياة COVID-19 ، لكن دوريس تقول ، "نحن نعمل معًا كفريق واحد لإنجاز المهمة ... يجب عليك القيام بذلك ليس فقط من أجل صحة الطلاب ولكن من أجل صحتنا.  أنا فقط أصلي من أجل الأفضل وسنفعل ذلك معًا لأن قوة نحن أمر جيد! "   

 

دوريس وديلوريس هما #WWEAreCSD

Main: 302-323-2700 • Transportation: (302) 323-2851

Who WE Are – Doris Wilmer & Delores Chappell

Wiedenmann
|

Delores and Doris know they’ve reached the age of retirement but when asked if they continue to work because they love their jobs, they responded in unison . . . 

“You got it!” 

As children, they attended schools in the Colonial School District, graduating from the former De La Warr High School. They sent their children and grandchildren to schools in CSD, and every day for more than 30 years they have worked in Colonial together. Twin sisters Doris Wilmer and Delores Chappell are 68 years old, both started their careers working in the Nutrition Services Division and now work as custodians, arriving and leaving for their jobs together. Delores and Doris know they’ve reached the age of retirement but when asked if they continue to work because they love their jobs, they responded in unison, “You got it!” 

It was Delores who first started with the district in 1985 where she spent 16 years in Nutrition Services.  Doris would follow in 1988.  She recalls her first paycheck was just $27.  She considered leaving then but says, “I fell in love with the kids, I really liked what I did!” The twins later transferred to the custodial staff where both now work together at George Read.  “It’s fun because I get to see her every day and she gets to see me,” says Delores who adds it’s even more fun when staff and sometimes students confuse one for the other. The twins say they’ve enjoyed watching CSD improve over the years, and especially enjoy the close bond with staff.

“I’ve had some personal problems in my life with family and they’ve been there for me, no matter what…I’ve had some very nice people high and low that have been there for me,” Delores says. Delores not only convinced her twin to work for CSD, but also her son Keelin.  Keelin has worked in the district for 21 years where he rose to the ranks of a chief custodian at Carrie Downie and New Castle Elementary Schools.  After work, he joins the football coaching staff at William Penn where he was a former player.  “I am very proud of my son.  Keelin has come a long, long way.  I’m proud of him as a father and grandfather, and for his work with the district.”

The twins know the pandemic has put additional pressure on custodians who now have to adhere to additional lifesaving COVID-19 safety protocols but Doris says, “We work together as a team to get the job done…you gotta do it not only for the students’ health but for our own.  I just pray for the best and we’ll do it together because the Power of WE is a good thing!”   

 

Doris and Delores are #WhoWEAreCSD