الرئيسية: 302-323-2700 • النقل: (302) 323-2851
حدد صفحة

من نحن - بيتسي فليتوود

إليزابيث "بيتسي" فليتوود تسمي نفسها "حياة المستعمرة" بعد أن التحقت بالمدارس في كولونيال عندما كانت طفلة ،  تخرج من وليام بن عام 1992 ، ويعمل في المنطقة لمدة 24 عاما.  بدأت فليتوود حياتها المهنية كمعلمة لكنها كانت تطمح في وقت مبكر إلى تسلق الرتب. ترأست قسمها كمدرس للتاريخ ، وكانت أول مديرة رياضية مساعدة لويليام بن ، وأصبحت مديرة مساعدة في ويليام بن في عام 2006.  بعد الافتتاح والعمل كأول مدير في مدرسة McCullough Middle School ، انتقل فليتوود ليصبح مدير الموارد البشرية ويعمل الآن كمساعد مشرف.

"بصفتي فتاة في نيو كاسل وويليام بن غراد ، أنا فخورة بما تمكنت من تحقيقه في كولونيال!  أنا قائد بطبيعتي.  لطالما أحببت مسؤولية أن أكون مسؤولاً عن شيء ما ، وأن يكون لي رأي في كيفية سير الأمور "، قال فليتوود.

تم وضع قدرات فليتوود القيادية على المحك بدءًا من مارس عندما تم إعلان حالة الطوارئ في ولاية ديلاوير بسبب الوباء. "لقد هز COVID-19 عالمنا بالتأكيد ... لقد جاء بشكل صحيح عندما بدأت وظيفتي الجديدة.  شعرت أنها معمودية بالنار.  ولكن عندما أفكر في مدى سرعة استجابة المنطقة ، وتغيير مسارها ، وتحقيق أقصى استفادة من الموقف الرهيب ، فأنا فخور للغاية! " قال فليتوود.

يؤمن فليتوود بشدة بشعار Colonial's Power of WE ، قائلاً إن الأمر يتطلب دعم الطلاب داخل وخارج الفصل الدراسي.  كما أنها تقدر زملائها الإداريين والموظفين الذين عملوا بلا كلل من خلال الوباء قائلة ، "أنا ممتن جدًا للفريق الذي لدينا - لقد جعلوا جميعًا من السهل القيام بما يجب القيام به."    

إلى جانب مساعدة المنطقة على تجاوز الوباء ، تلتزم فليتوود بشدة بمواجهة العنصرية المنهجية في مدارسنا وهي جزء من القوة الكامنة وراء الدفع المتعمد لتوظيف المزيد من الموظفين الملونين حتى يرى طلاب كولونيال المتنوع ثقافيًا المزيد من المعلمين والموظفين من يشبههم يقول ،

"أشعر أن الوقت قد حان للتغيير.  علينا أن نجد طرقًا جديدة وأفضل لدعم طلابنا الملونين وطلابنا ذوي الإعاقة وطلابنا ذوي المواهب الأكاديمية.  علينا أن نتأكد من أننا نتخلص من الطرق القديمة الضارة وأن نستدعي طرقًا لم يعتقد الناس أبدًا أنها ضارة.  من خلال القيام بهذه الأشياء ، سنثبت أننا كمقاطعة منطقة أقوى ".

Main: 302-323-2700 • Transportation: (302) 323-2851

Who WE Are – Betsy Fleetwood

Elizabeth “Betsy” Fleetwood calls herself a “Colonial lifer” having attended schools in Colonial as a child,  graduating from William Penn in 1992, and working in the district for 24 years.  Fleetwood began her career as a teacher but aspired early on to climb the ranks. She headed her department as a history teacher, was William Penn’s first female assistant Athletic Director, and became an Assistant Principal at William Penn in 2006.  After opening and serving as the first principal at McCullough Middle School, Fleetwood would go on to become the Director of Human Resources and now serves as the Assistant Superintendent.

“As a New Castle girl and William Penn grad, I’m proud of what I’ve been able to accomplish in Colonial!  I’m a leader by nature.  I’ve always liked the responsibility of being in charge of something, having a say in how things go,” said Fleetwood.

Fleetwood’s leadership abilities were put to the test starting in March when Delaware’s State of Emergency was declared due to the pandemic. “COVID-19 has certainly rocked our world… it came right as I started my new position.  I felt it was baptism by fire.  But when I think about how quickly the district responded, changed course, and made the best of a terrible situation, I am beyond proud!” Fleetwood said.

Fleetwood strongly believes in Colonial’s Power of WE mantra, saying it takes everyone in and outside of the classroom to support students.  She also appreciates fellow administrators and staff who’ve worked tirelessly through the pandemic saying, “I am very thankful for the team we have—all of them made it easier to do what needed to be done.”    

Along with helping the district navigate through the pandemic, Fleetwood is deeply committed to confronting systemic racism in our schools and is part of the force behind an intentional push to recruit more employees of color so Colonial’s culturally diverse population of students will see more teachers and staff who look like them saying,

“I feel now is the time for change.  We have to find new and better ways to support our students of color, our students with disabilities, our students with academic talent.  We have to make sure we are eliminating old ways that are harmful and call out ways that people never thought were harmful.  By doing these things, we as a District will prove to be a stronger district.”