الرئيسية: 302-323-2700 • النقل: (302) 323-2851
حدد صفحة

وجها لوجه التعلم

التواريخ المتوقعة لعودة الطلاب - الطلاب الذين اختاروا التعلم الشخصي

إذا كنت عائلة لا تزال في أكاديمية كولونيال الافتراضية الخاصة بنا ، فسنستمر في تقديم خبرات تعليمية عالية الجودة لطفلك.

يرجى أن تضع في اعتبارك أن جميع المعلومات الواردة أعلاه تستند إلى المعلومات المتاحة لنا الآن ويمكن تغييرها في أي وقت. نواصل مراقبة انتشار COVID-19 في مجتمعنا ، وموظفينا المتاحين ، واستعدادنا للبناء ، وإذا تغير أي من هذه المعلومات ، فنحن بحاجة إلى أن نكون قادرين على تغيير هذه الخطط للحفاظ على سلامة الجميع قدر الإمكان.

نود أن نشكر المجتمع الاستعماري على دعمهم المستمر!

آخر تحديث للعودة الآمنة إلى المدرسة - يناير 2021

الفحص الذاتي للطلاب

طلب قسم التعليم بولاية ديلاوير وقسم الصحة العامة في وزارة الصحة والخدمات الاجتماعية بولاية ديلاوير أن نقدم لك المعلومات المتعلقة بالممارسات المتعلقة بـ COVID-19.

نطلب من الطلاب و / أو أسرهم إكمال تقييم صحي يتكون من فحص ذاتي كل صباح قبل المغادرة إلى المدرسة.

الرجاء الإجابة على أي من الأسئلة التالية:

  • في الـ 14 يومًا الماضية ، هل كنت قريبًا (في نطاق 6 أقدام لمدة 15 دقيقة على الأقل) من شخص  من لديه حالة مؤكدة مختبريًا لـ COVID-19 ، أو هل كان لديك اتصال مباشر مع مخاطه أو لعابه؟
  • في آخر 48 ساعة ، هل عانيت من أي من الأعراض التالية
  • حمى من 100 للأعراض أعلاه (أو أعراض مثل الارتجاف بالتناوب والتعرق)
  • سعال جديد
  • صعوبة جديدة في التنفس ، وضيق في التنفس أو صفير شديد
  • قشعريرة جديدة أو الارتعاش مع القشعريرة
  • آلام عضلية جديدة
  • احتقان في الحلق
  • القيء أو الإسهال
  • فقدان جديد للرائحة أو التذوق
  • غثيان
  • التعب
  • صداع واحتقان وسيلان الأنف (بدون سبب آخر معروف مثل الحساسية}

إذا أجبت بنعم على أي من الأسئلة أعلاه ، فلا ترسل طفلك إلى المدرسة اليوم. بدلاً من ذلك ، اتصل بمقدم الرعاية الصحية الأولية لطفلك.

(تم تعديل أداة الفحص هذه من التقييم الذاتي عبر الإنترنت لـ Mayo Clinic. لاستخدام أداة Mayo Clinic عبر الإنترنت ، تفضل بزيارة http://mayoclinic.com/covid-19-self-assessment-tool

اعتبارات إضافية:

  • يجب على الطلاب البقاء في المنزل إذا ظهرت عليهم أي أعراض لـ COVID-19 أو تم التأكد من إصابتهم بـ COVID-19 أو إذا طلبت إدارة الصحة العامة (DPH) العزل أو الحجر الصحي.
  • إبقاء الأطفال المرضى في المنزل ؛ لا ترسلهم إلى المدرسة.  لا ترسل الأطفال إلى المدرسة بحمى 100.4 درجة أو أكثر.
  • علم أطفالك أن يغسلوا أيديهم باستمرار بالصابون والماء الجاري لمدة 20 ثانية.
  • يجب على الطلاب في رياض الأطفال حتى الصف 12 ارتداء أغطية الوجه في مبنى المدرسة ، إلا عندما يؤدي ذلك إلى إعاقة صحة الفرد.
  • علم أطفالك تغطية السعال والعطس بالمنديل أو عن طريق السعال في داخل الكوع.
  • علِّم أطفالك ممارسة التباعد الجسدي والاجتماعي عن طريق البقاء على بعد ستة أقدام على الأقل من الأشخاص بخلاف عائلتك. 

إذا كانت لديك أسئلة ، فيرجى الاتصال بممرضة المدرسة أو مقدم الرعاية الصحية الأولية للطفل. يمكنك أيضًا إرسال بريد إلكتروني إلى ممرضة مدرستك.  

للحصول على معلومات أو أسئلة عامة حول COVID-19 والوقاية منه ، قم بزيارة موقع Delaware Health and Social Services ، قسم الصحة العامة على الويب https://coronavirus.delaware.gov/ ، أو يمكنك الاتصال بالرقم 2-1-1 أو إرسال الرمز البريدي الخاص بك إلى 898-211 للصم وضعاف السمع.

توقعات التعلم الشخصي للطلاب في الصفوف K-8:

  • يجب على الآباء إكمال الفحص الذاتي لـ COVID-19 لأطفالهم كل صباح +
  • يجب على جميع الطلاب ارتداء غطاء الوجه في جميع الأوقات ما لم يأكلوا.
  • يجب أن تكون المسافة بين الطلاب 6 أقدام في الفصول الدراسية مع ما يقرب من 15 إلى 25 طالبًا في الغرفة الواحدة.
  • سيبقى الطلاب في نفس المقعد / المكتب في فصل دراسي واحد طوال اليوم وسيتحول الموظفون إلى الفصول الدراسية ؛ وهذا يشمل وقت الغداء.
  • سيستمر الطلاب في استخدام التكنولوجيا على أساس يومي ويتوقع منهم إحضار الأجهزة من المدرسة وإليها.
  • يجب على الطلاب اتباع جميع بروتوكولات السلامة المتعلقة بغسل اليدين واستخدام معقم اليدين والتباعد الاجتماعي.
  • يجب على جميع ركاب الحافلات ارتداء الأقنعة والجلوس على مسافات اجتماعية وتعقيم اليدين قبل الصعود إلى الطائرة.
  • لن تكون هناك نوادي شخصية أو رياضات لطلاب K إلى 8.
  • قد لا يكون لدى الطلاب نفس المعلم الشخصي الذي كان لديهم للتعلم الافتراضي.
  • إذا قررت ممرضة المدرسة أن طفلك مريض ، يجب أن يتم استلامها بمجرد إخطارك.
  • سيُطلب من الطلاب اتباع جميع إرشادات قسم الصحة العامة (DPH) بشأن الحجر الصحي الذاتي إذا لزم الأمر.

إرشادات الصحة والسلامة في منطقة المدارس الاستعمارية للطلاب والأسر

مقدمة / مبادئ إرشادية

بينما تستعد العائلات لعودة طلابها إلى مبنى المدرسة للحصول على تعليمات وجهاً لوجه ، أراد الموظفون في Colonial School District مشاركة نظرة عامة على التخطيط الذي تم إجراؤه لمعالجة صحة وسلامة الطلاب والموظفين في Colonial Nation . 

منذ مارس 2020 ، كانت الأولوية الأولى لمدرسة Colonial School District هي ضمان سلامة الطلاب والموظفين والمجتمع أثناء COVID-19. عملت مجموعة متنوعة من الموظفين من جميع أنحاء المنطقة على تطوير بروتوكولات للمساعدة في "منع انتشار" COVID-19. في جميع أنحاء المنطقة ، يستمر تعزيز أربعة سلوكيات رئيسية:

  • ارتدِ غطاءً للوجه
  • حافظ على المسافة الاجتماعية
  • غط السعال والعطس
  • اغسل وعقم يديك

من المتوقع أن يتبع جميع الطلاب والموظفين وزوار المباني الاستعمارية هذه التوقعات في جميع الأوقات.

يشتمل هذا المستند على ملخص لبروتوكولات الصحة والسلامة لدعم الرفاهية البدنية لطفلك عند عودته إلى المبنى. على وجه التحديد ، ستتعرف على التوقعات من أجل:

  • أغطية الوجه
  • غسل اليدين وتعقيمهما
  • الفحوصات الصحية اليومية
  • التباعد الاجتماعي
  • الروبوتي
  • وسائل النقل
  • الإفطار والغداء والحصول على الماء.

نأمل أن تتناول هذه المعلومات العديد من الأسئلة التي لديك بخصوص عودة الطالب إلى المبنى. إذا كان لديك أي أسئلة أخرى ، يرجى زيارة http://www.colonialschooldistrict.org/contact/ask-a-question/ لإرسال سؤالك من خلال رابط اتصل بنا.  

ابقَ جيدًا وتذكر …… حصلنا على هذا!

أغطية الوجه

وفقًا للتعديل الخامس والعشرين لإعلان ولاية ديلاوير لحالة الطوارئ ، يتعين على جميع الطلاب في الصفوف من رياض الأطفال حتى الصف الثاني عشر ارتداء غطاء الوجه كل يوم. يتم تشجيع الطلاب في مرحلة ما قبل المدرسة على ارتداء غطاء الوجه أثناء وجودهم في المدرسة. يجب على أي طالب يستخدم وسائل النقل الخاصة بالمنطقة التعليمية (ما قبل المدرسة - الصف الثاني عشر) ارتداء غطاء الوجه أثناء ركوب الحافلة. يُطلب من موظفي المنطقة أيضًا ارتداء غطاء للوجه أثناء العمل. سيُطلب من أي زائر لمبنى Colonial School District ارتداء غطاء للوجه داخل مباني المدرسة والمكاتب.

لدعم هذه المتطلبات ، قامت Colonial School District بشراء أغطية وجه واحدة من القماش قابلة لإعادة الاستخدام لكل طالب وموظف. يوصى بأن يقوم الطلاب والموظفون بتعبئة غطاء إضافي للوجه لاستخدامه في حالة تلوث القناع أو تلفه. تتوفر أغطية الوجه التي يمكن التخلص منها في كل مبنى في حالة الحاجة إلى غطاء بديل للوجه. 

يقدم قسم الصحة العامة الإرشادات التالية حول أغطية الوجه:

  • يجب تغطية كل من الأنف والفم وكذلك بشكل مريح على جانب الوجه
  • يجب أن تكون مصنوعة من طبقتين على الأقل
  • يجب ألا يحتوي على صمامات أو فتحات أو فتحات
  • يجب ألا يتم مشاركتها بين الطلاب أو الموظفين

من المسلم به أنه في ظروف معينة لا يمكن للطالب أو الموظف ارتداء غطاء الوجه. يجب على الطلاب غير القادرين على ارتداء قناع الوجه لأسباب طبية تقديم مذكرة من الطبيب إلى ممرضة المدرسة. ستتصل ممرضة المدرسة بالطبيب للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات ، إذا لزم الأمر ، وإخطار العائلة والفريق المدرسي بحالة الإعفاء. الإعفاءات غير الطبية سيتم تنسيقها من خلال مدير المبنى أو منسق التربية الخاصة / 504.

التقييمات الصحية

سيتم تقييم أي طالب تظهر عليه أعراض COVID-19 أثناء وجوده في المدرسة من قبل ممرضة المدرسة باستخدام أداة تقييم إدارة التعليم في ديلاوير. سيتم وضع الطلاب الذين تم تحديدهم على أنهم من المحتمل أن يكونوا إيجابيين في "غرفة العناية" بالمدرسة (غرفة العزل) لانتظار استلامهم. (سيتم مراقبة جميع غرف عزل المبنى من قبل شخص بالغ مخصص للمبنى.) أثناء وجودهم في "غرفة الرعاية" ، سيستمر الطلاب في ارتداء أقنعة الوجه الخاصة بهم. يُطلب من أولياء الأمور اصطحاب طالبهم من المدرسة في أقرب وقت ممكن (ويفضل أن يكون ذلك في غضون 60 دقيقة من المكالمة الهاتفية). ستناقش ممرضات المدارس بروتوكولات العودة إلى المدرسة مع أولياء الأمور بناءً على الظروف الفردية للطالب.

التباعد الاجتماعي

الفصول الدراسية

تتوقع إدارة التعليم في ديلاوير أن يحافظ جميع الموظفين والطلاب في الصفوف من رياض الأطفال إلى الصف الثاني عشر على مسافة لا تقل عن 12 أقدام بين الأفراد عند ارتداء غطاء الوجه. للطلاب في الصفوف K-3 الذين لا يرتدون غطاء الوجه ، يجب زيادة التباعد إلى 12 أقدام على الأقل. داخل منطقة المدارس الاستعمارية ، تم تحديد أن مكاتب الطلاب ، في الصفوف K-6 ، ستكون متباعدة على بعد 12 أقدام لمعالجة الأوقات التي لا يجوز فيها للطلاب ارتداء القناع (أي فترات الراحة وأوقات الوجبات).  

بالنسبة لطلاب ما قبل المدرسة ، سيشجع الموظفون الطلاب على الحفاظ على التباعد الاجتماعي قدر الإمكان 

الممرات

سيتم تعزيز التباعد الاجتماعي في الممرات للطلاب والموظفين. سيتم تشجيع الطلاب على الاستمرار في الحركة عندما يكونون في الممرات والحفاظ على مسافات 6 أقدام. سيتم وضع لافتات تذكير بالتباعد الاجتماعي على الجدران والأرضيات في جميع أنحاء المبنى. سيكون للطلاب حركة محدودة في جميع أنحاء المبنى لتقليل الاتصال.

مساحات خارج حجرة الدراسة

طوال اليوم الدراسي ، قد يكون من الضروري أن يقوم الطلاب بزيارة الممرضة والمكتب الرئيسي ومستشار المدرسة وما إلى ذلك. قبل زيارة الطالب لهذه المواقع ، سيؤكد مدرس الفصل أن المكتب متاح لاستقبال الطالب عن طريق الاتصال بالموقع أو إرسال رسالة عبر البريد الإلكتروني. الغرض من هذا الاتصال هو تجنب اكتظاظ المكاتب.

خدمات التغذية

سيستمر الطلاب في الحصول على فرصة لتناول الإفطار والغداء في المدرسة. سيتوفر إفطار Grab and Go عند الوصول إلى المدرسة. سيتم تقديم الغداء أيضًا من الأكشاك الموجودة في الردهة الواقعة بالقرب من الفصل الدراسي. سيتم تناول جميع الوجبات في الفصل مع جلوس الطلاب في مكاتبهم. يمكن للطلاب إحضار وجبات الطعام من المنزل.  

 

تم فصل جميع نوافير المياه في المباني الاستعمارية للمساعدة في منع انتشار COVID-19. يتم تشجيع الطلاب على تعبئة زجاجة ماء غير زجاجية لاستخدامها طوال اليوم. ستتوفر في الفصول الدراسية زجاجات مياه إضافية يمكن التخلص منها لتجديد إمداداتها.

النظافة

يعد غسل اليدين بالماء والصابون أحد أكثر الطرق فعالية في الحد من انتشار COVID-19. عندما يتعذر الوصول إلى غسل اليدين ، فإن استخدام معقم اليدين هو الخطوة التالية الأفضل. سيتم تزويد الطلاب بفرص لغسل أيديهم عدة مرات في اليوم ، بما في ذلك قبل الأكل وبعد استخدام الحمام. سيكون معقم اليدين متاحًا للاستخدام في جميع أنحاء مبنى المدرسة. (سيحتاج الآباء الذين يرغبون في إلغاء الاشتراك في استخدام المطهر إلى إرسال ملاحظة أو بريد إلكتروني إلى ممرضة المدرسة في المبنى.)

الفحوصات الصحية

كل صباح ، قبل الذهاب إلى المدرسة ، يُطلب من الموظفين والطلاب إكمال فحص COVID-19. يطلب هذا الفحص من الموظفين والعائلات النظر في تعرضهم لحالات COVID-19 المؤكدة وأي أعراض يعانون منها. يجب على الطلاب الذين يجيبون بنعم على أي سؤال على الشاشة عدم إبلاغ المدرسة في ذلك اليوم. يجب على العائلات الاتصال بطبيب الرعاية الأولية لمناقشة الخطوات التالية. يجب على العائلات أيضًا الاتصال بممرضة المدرسة لإبلاغها بتفاصيل جهاز فحص COVID-19 الإيجابي والخطة التي أوصى بها الطبيب.

لدعم استكمال الفحوصات الصحية كل صباح ، قامت كولونيال بشراء مقياس حرارة رقمي لكل طالب لاستخدامه في المنزل.

إذا كان لدى الطالب نتيجة إيجابية لاختبار COVID-19 ، فيجب على العائلات الاتصال بممرضة المدرسة مع هذه المعلومات. سيقوم قسم الصحة العامة بإكمال تعقب المخالطين ، بدعم من ممرضة المدرسة. سيتم إخطار جميع العائلات في مبنى المدرسة إذا تم تحديد حالة COVID-19 إيجابية للطلاب أو الموظفين.

زائر

من أجل تقليل تعرض الطلاب والموظفين لـ COVID-19 ، سيتم تقييد زوار المباني المدرسية. نسأل الآتي:

  • يرجى الاتصال بالمكتب الرئيسي لمناقشة أسئلتك أو مخاوفك مع الموظف المناسب
  • إذا كان من الضروري زيارة المدرسة ، يرجى الاتصال بالمكتب الرئيسي لتحديد موعد مع الموظف المطلوب
    • يجب أن يكون عدد الزوار من الأسرة محدودًا
    • يجب على جميع الزوار إكمال فحص ذاتي (بما في ذلك فحص درجة الحرارة) قبل دخول المبنى. إذا كان الزائر يعاني من أعراض COVID-19 ، فيجب إعادة جدولة الزيارة. 

التسهيلات

العطلة / المساحات الخارجية
ستستمر الفصول الدراسية في الوصول إلى الهواء الطلق للاستراحة والأنشطة التعليمية. أثناء التواجد في الهواء الطلق ، سيحتاج الطلاب إلى البقاء مع فصلهم مع الحفاظ على مسافة 6 أقدام اجتماعية. سيستمر الطلاب والموظفون في ارتداء أغطية الوجه الخاصة بهم. عند العودة إلى مبنى المدرسة ، ستتاح للطلاب الفرصة لغسل أيديهم بالماء والصابون. 

الروبوتي
سيتم تنظيف المدارس باستخدام جدول مكثف. سيقوم موظفو الحراسة بتطهير العناصر عالية اللمس (مقابض الأبواب ، ومفاتيح الإضاءة ، وما إلى ذلك) ومرافق الحمام كل ساعتين على الأقل. داخل الفصل الدراسي ، سيقوم المعلمون بتطهير العناصر ذات اللمسة العالية داخل الفصل الدراسي في نفس الجدول الزمني. سيتم تطهير مكاتب وكراسي الطلاب فقط عندما يكون هناك تغيير في استخدام الطالب لتلك العناصر. إذا بقي الطالب في نفس المكتب والكرسي طوال اليوم ، فسيتم تطهير المكتب والكرسي في نهاية اليوم.

سيقوم طاقم الحراسة بتطهير مساحات الفصول الدراسية باستخدام "Protex Wand" في نهاية كل يوم دراسي. بالنسبة للمساحات التي يتم استخدامها من قبل فصول متعددة ، سيتم تطهير الفصول الدراسية بين كل فصل.

وسائل النقل

الطلاب الذين يستخدمون وسائل النقل بالمنطقة من وإلى المدرسة لديهم المتطلبات التالية:

  • يجب ارتداء أغطية الوجه (بغض النظر عن العمر) - يجب تحديد الإعفاءات من قبل فريق المدرسة
  • التباعد الاجتماعي - لن يجلس الطلاب أكثر من مقعد واحد لكل مقعد باستخدام نمط متدرج. سيجلس الطلاب الذين لديهم إعفاء من القناع مع زيادة التباعد عن الآخرين.
  • استخدام معقم اليدين - يجب على الطلاب استخدام معقم اليدين (يتم توفيره من المنزل) قبل ركوب الحافلة.
  • توقف الحافلة - أثناء انتظار ركوب الحافلة ، يجب على الطلاب والعائلات الاستمرار في ارتداء غطاء الوجه والحفاظ على مسافة 6 أقدام اجتماعية.

Main: 302-323-2700 • Transportation: (302) 323-2851

Face to Face Learning

Anticipated Student Return Dates – Students that have opted in for in-person learning

    *The majority of William Penn High School will continue virtual learning throughout the remainder of the first semester (January 29, 2021). The anticipated decision for the 2nd Semester will be communicated to families prior to winter break.

    If you are a family that is remaining in our Colonial Virtual Academy, we will continue to provide high-quality learning experiences for your child.

    Please keep in mind that all of the information above is based on the information available to us now and can change at any time.  We continue to monitor the spread of COVID-19 in our community, our available staff, and our building preparedness and if any of this information changes, we need to be able to change these plans to keep everyone as safe as possible.

    We’d like to thank the Colonial Community for their continued support!

    Phase 1 – 10/22/20 

    Integration A at Southern, George Read, and William Penn; Communication and Social Learning (CASL) at Southern, Intensive Learning Center (ILC) at Southern

    Phase 2 – 10/29/20

    Leach, Adult Integration at Leach, Colwyck Pre-K Program

    Phase 3 – 11/9/20

    All Elementary Schools, Intensive Learning Center (ILC) at Gunning Bedford, Communication and Social Learning (CASL) at Gunning Bedford, Integration B at George Read, Identified Classes at William Penn High School

    Phase 4 – 11/30/20 

    Middle Schools, Wallace Wallin Intensive Learning Center (ILC), William Penn High Integration B

    School LevelSchool Offices OpenStudent Hours
    Bus Drop Off/Leaving
    Elementary8:00 AM- 4:30 PM8:55 AM-3:25 PM8:45 am-3:40 PM
    Middle7:30 AM - 4:00 PM8:05 AM-2:40 PM7:55 AM- 2:50 PM
    High School/Wallin6:45 AM - 4:00 PM7:15 AM-1:50 PM7:05 AM -2:00 PM
    District office9:00 am – 12:00 pm and 1:00 pm – 4:00 pm

    SELF SCREENING FOR STUDENTS

    The Delaware Department of Education and Delaware Department of Health and Social Services’ Division of Public Health have requested that we provide you information regarding practices related to COVID-19.

    We request that students and/or their families complete a health assessment consisting of a self-screening every morning before leaving for school.

    Please answer any of the following questions:

    • In the past 14 days, have you been near(within 6 feet for at least 15 minute) a person  who has a lab-confirmed case of COVID-19, or have you had direct contact with their mucus or saliva?
    • In the last 48 hours., have you had any of the following symptoms
    • Fever of 100. 4 For above ( or symptoms like alternating shivering and sweating)
    • New cough
    • New trouble breathing, shortness of breathe or severe wheezing
    • New chills or shaking with chills
    • New muscle aches
    • Sore throat
    • Vomiting or diarrhea
    • New loss of smell or taste
    • Nausea
    • Fatigue
    • Headache, congestion, runny nose (with no other known cause such as allergies}

    If you answered YES to any of the questions above, DO NOT send your child to school today. Instead contact your child’s primary health care provider.

    (This screening tool was adapted at from the mayo clinic’s online self assessment. To use the Mayo Clinic’s tool online, visit http://mayoclinic.com/covid-19-self-assessment-tool

    Additional considerations:

    • Students must stay home if they are exhibiting any symptoms of COVID-19 or have been confirmed to have COVID-19 or if required by DPH to isolate or quarantine.
    • Keep children who are sick at home; do not send them to school.  Do not send children to school with a fever of 100.4º or greater.
    • Teach your children to wash their hands frequently with soap and running water for 20 seconds.
    • Students in kindergarten through grade 12 must wear face coverings in the school building, except when doing so would inhibit the individual’s health.
    • Teach your children to cover coughs and sneezes with tissues or by coughing into the inside of the elbow.
    • Teach your children to practice physical and social distancing by staying at least six feet away from people other than your family. 

    If you have questions, please contact your school nurse or child’s primary healthcare provider. You can also email your school nurse.  

    For information or general questions on COVID-19 and prevention, visit the Delaware Health and Social Services’, Division of Public Health’s website at https://coronavirus.delaware.gov/, or you can call 2-1-1 or text your ZIP code to 898-211 for deaf and hard of hearing.

    Expectations for in-person learning for students in grades K-8:

    • Parents must complete a COVID-19 self-screener for their child each morning +
    • All students MUST wear a face covering at all times unless eating.
    • Students must be spaced 6 feet apart in classrooms with approximately 15 to 25 students per room.
    • Students will remain in the same seat/desk in one classroom throughout the day and staff will rotate into the classrooms; this includes lunchtime.
    • Students will continue to use technology on a daily basis and are expected to bring devices to and from school.
    • Students must follow all safety protocols regarding handwashing, use of hand sanitizer, and social distancing.
    • All bus riders MUST wear masks, sit socially distanced, and sanitize hands before boarding.
    • There will be no in-person clubs or sports for K to 8 students.
    • Students may not have the same teacher for in-person that they have had for virtual learning.
    • If the school nurse determines that your child is sick, they must be picked up as soon as you are notified.
    • Students will be required to follow all Division of Public Health (DPH) guidance on self-quarantining if necessary.

    Colonial School District Health and Safety Guidance for Students and Families

    Introduction/Guiding Principles

    As families prepare for the return of their students to the school building for face to face instruction, the staff at Colonial School District wanted to share an overview of the planning that has been done to address the health and safety of students and staff in Colonial Nation. 

    Since March, 2020 the number one priority of Colonial School District was to ensure the safety of the students, staff and community during COVID-19.  A variety of staff members from across the district have worked to develop protocols to help “prevent the spread” of COVID-19.  Throughout the district, four main behaviors continue to be reinforced:

    • Wear a face covering
    • Maintain social distance
    • Cover your coughs and sneezes
    • Wash and sanitize your hands

    All students, staff and visitors to Colonial buildings are expected to follow these expectations at all times.

    Included in this document is a summary of health and safety protocols to support the physical well-being of your child as they return to the building.  Specifically, you will learn about the expectations for:

    • Facial coverings
    • Hand washing and sanitizing
    • Daily health screenings
    • Social Distancing
    • Cleaning
    • Transportation
    • Breakfast, lunch and access to water.

    It is our hope that this information will address many of the questions you have regarding your student’s return to the building.  If you have any further questions, please visit http://www.colonialschooldistrict.org/contact/ask-a-question/ to submit your question through the Contact Us link.  

    Stay well and remember……WE Got This!

    Face Coverings

    In accordance with the 25th Modification of Delaware’s Declaration of a State of Emergency, all students in grades Kindergarten through 12th grade are required to wear a face covering each day.  Students in preschool are encouraged to wear a face covering while at school.  Any student utilizing district provided transportation (Preschool-12th grade) is required to wear a face covering while on the bus. District employees are also required to wear a face covering while at work.  Any visitor to a Colonial School District Building will be required to wear a face covering inside school and office buildings.

    In support of these requirements, Colonial School District has purchased one reusable cloth face coverings for each student and employee.  It is recommended that students and staff pack a spare facial covering for use in the event their mask becomes soiled or damaged.  Disposable face coverings are available at each building in the event a replacement face covering is needed. 

    The Division of Public Health provides the following guidance on face coverings:

    • Must cover both the nose and mouth as well as fit snugly against the side of the face
    • Must be made of at least 2 layers
    • Must not contain valves, vents or holes
    • Must not be shared between students or staff

    It is acknowledged that in certain circumstances a face covering cannot be worn by a student or employee.  Students that are unable to wear a face mask for medical reasons must present a note from the physician to the school nurse.  The school nurse will contact the physician for further information, if needed, and notify family and the school-based team of exemption status.  Non-medical exemptions will be coordinated through the building administrator or special education/504 coordinator.

    Health Assessments

    Any student developing COVID-19 symptoms while at school will be assessed by the school nurse using a Delaware Department of Education Assessment Tool.  Students determined to potentially be positive will be provided will be placed in the school’s “cares room” (isolation room) to wait for pick up.  (All building isolation rooms will be monitored by an adult assigned to the building.)  While in the “cares room”, students will continue to wear their face mask.  Parents are asked to have their student picked up from school as soon as possible (preferably within 60 minutes of the phone call).  School nurses will discuss return to school protocols with parents based on the student’s individual circumstances.

    Social Distancing

    Classrooms

    The Delaware Department of Education expects all staff and students, in grades K-12, to maintain a distance of at least 3 feet between individuals when wearing a facial covering.  For students in grades K-12 not wearing a facial covering, the spacing must be increased to at least 6 feet.  Within the Colonial School District, it has been determined that student desks, in grades K-12, will be spaced at 6 feet to address times when students may not wear a mask (i.e. water breaks and meal times).  

    For preschool students, staff will encourage students to maintain social distancing as feasible. 

    Hallways

    Social distancing in hallways will be reinforced to students and staff.  Students will be encouraged to keep moving when in hallways and to maintain 6 feet distances.  Signage reminders of social distancing  will be placed on the walls and floors throughout the building.  Students will have limited movement throughout the building to minimize contact.

    Spaces Outside the Classroom

    Throughout the school day, it may be necessary for students to visit the nurse, main office, school counselor, etc.  Prior to a student visiting these locations, the classroom teacher will confirm the office is available to receive the student by calling the location or sending an email.  The purpose of this communication is to avoid overcrowding of the offices.

    Nutrition Services

    Students will continue to have the opportunity to eat breakfast and lunch at school.  Grab and Go Breakfast will be available upon arrival at school. Lunch will also be served from kiosks in the hallway located near the classroom.  All meals will be eaten in the classroom with students seated at their desks.  Students are able to bring meals in from home.  

     

    All water fountains in Colonial buildings have been disconnected to help prevent the spread of COVID-19.  Students are encouraged to pack a non-glass water bottle for use throughout the day.  Classrooms will have additional disposable bottles of water available for replenishing their supply.

    Hygiene

    Hand washing, with soap and water,  is one of the most effective ways in reducing the spread of COVID-19.  When hand washing is not accessible, use of hand sanitizer is the next best step.  Students will be provided with opportunities to wash their hands multiple times a day, including before eating and after using the bathroom.  Hand sanitizer will be readily available for use throughout the school building.  (Parents wishing to opt out from the use of sanitizer will need to send a note or email to their building’s school nurse.)

    Health Screenings

    Each morning, prior to attending school, staff and students are asked to complete a COVID-19 screener.  This screener asks staff and families to consider their exposure to confirmed COVID-19 cases and any symptoms being experienced.  Students that answer yes to any question on the screener must not report to school that day.  Families should contact their primary care physician to discuss next steps.  Families should also contact their school nurse with details of their positive COVID-19 Screener and plan recommended by the physician.

    In support of completing health screenings each morning, Colonial has purchased a digital thermometer for each student for use at home.

    If a student has a positive COVID-19 test, families must contact the school nurse with this information.  The Division of Public Health will complete contact tracing, with the support of the school nurse.  All families in a school building will be notified if a positive COVID-19 case for students or staff is  determined.

    Visitors

    In order to minimize the exposure of students and staff to COVID-19, visitors to school buildings will be limited.  We ask the following:

    • Please call the main office to discuss your questions or concerns with the appropriate staff member
    • If it is necessary to visit the school, please call the main office to schedule an appointment with the requested staff member
      • The number of visitors from a family should be limited
      • All visitors should complete a self screener (including temperature check) prior to entering the building.  If the visitor is experiencing COVID-19 symptoms, the visit should be rescheduled. 

    Facilities

    Recess/Outdoor Spaces
    Classrooms will continue to have access to the outdoors for recess and instructional activities.  While outdoors, students will need to remain with their class while maintaining 6 feet social distancing.  Students and staff will continue to wear their facial coverings.  Upon return into the school building, students will have the opportunity to wash their hands with soap and water. 

    Cleaning
    Schools will be cleaned using an intensified schedule.  Custodial staff will be disinfecting high touch items (door knobs, light switches, etc) and bathroom facilities at least every two hours. Within the classroom, teachers will disinfect high touch items within the classroom on the same schedule.  Student desks and chairs will only be disinfected when there is a change in the student using those items.  If a student remains at the same desk and chair throughout the entire day, the desk and chair will be disinfected at the end of the day.

    Custodial staff will disinfect classroom spaces using the “Protex Wand” at the end of each school day.  For spaces that are utilized by multiple classes, classrooms will be disinfected in between each class.

    Transportation

    Students utilizing district transportation to and from school have the following requirements:

    • Facial coverings must be worn (regardless of age)-Exemptions must be determined by school based team
    • Social distancing-Students will be seated no more than one per seat using a staggered pattern.  Students with a mask exemption will be seated with increased spacing from others.
    • Use of Hand Sanitizer-Students should use hand sanitizer (provided from home) prior to boarding the bus.
    • Bus Stops-While waiting to board the bus, students and families must continue to wear their facial covering and maintain 6 feet social distancing.