Principal: 302-323-2700 • Transport: (302) 323-2851
Sélectionnez la page

Apprentissage face à face

Dates de retour prévues des étudiants - Les étudiants qui ont opté pour l'apprentissage en personne

Si vous êtes une famille qui reste dans notre Académie virtuelle coloniale, nous continuerons à offrir des expériences d'apprentissage de haute qualité à votre enfant.

Veuillez garder à l'esprit que toutes les informations ci-dessus sont basées sur les informations dont nous disposons actuellement et peuvent changer à tout moment. Nous continuons à surveiller la propagation du COVID-19 dans notre communauté, notre personnel disponible et la préparation de nos bâtiments et si l'une de ces informations change, nous devons être en mesure de modifier ces plans pour que tout le monde soit aussi en sécurité que possible.

Nous tenons à remercier la communauté coloniale pour son soutien continu!

Dernière mise à jour pour un retour à l'école en toute sécurité - janvier 2021

AUTO-DÉPISTAGE POUR LES ÉTUDIANTS

Le ministère de l'Éducation du Delaware et la Division de la santé publique du ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Delaware ont demandé que nous vous fournissions des informations concernant les pratiques liées au COVID-19.

Nous demandons aux élèves et / ou à leurs familles de faire un bilan de santé consistant en un auto-dépistage tous les matins avant de partir pour l'école.

Veuillez répondre à l'une des questions suivantes:

  • Au cours des 14 derniers jours, avez-vous été à proximité (à moins de 6 pieds pendant au moins 15 minutes) d'une personne  qui a un cas de COVID-19 confirmé en laboratoire, ou avez-vous eu un contact direct avec leur mucus ou leur salive?
  • Au cours des 48 dernières heures., Avez-vous eu l'un des symptômes suivants
  • Fièvre de 100. 4 Pour ci-dessus (ou symptômes comme l'alternance de frissons et de transpiration)
  • Nouvelle toux
  • Nouvelle difficulté à respirer, essoufflement ou respiration sifflante sévère
  • Nouveaux frissons ou tremblements de frissons
  • Nouvelles douleurs musculaires
  • Gorge irritée
  • Vomissements ou diarrhée
  • Nouvelle perte d'odeur ou de goût
  • Nausée
  • Fatigue
  • Maux de tête, congestion, écoulement nasal (sans autre cause connue comme les allergies}

Si vous avez répondu OUI à l'une des questions ci-dessus, N'ENVOYEZ PAS votre enfant à l'école aujourd'hui. Contactez plutôt le fournisseur de soins de santé primaires de votre enfant.

(Cet outil de dépistage a été adapté à partir de l'auto-évaluation en ligne de la clinique Mayo. Pour utiliser l'outil en ligne de la clinique Mayo, visitez http://mayoclinic.com/covid-19-self-assessment-tool

Considérations supplémentaires:

  • Les étudiants doivent rester à la maison s'ils présentent des symptômes du COVID-19 ou s'ils ont été confirmés comme ayant le COVID-19 ou si la DPH l'exige pour l'isoler ou la mettre en quarantaine.
  • Gardez les enfants malades à la maison; ne les envoyez pas à l'école.  N'envoyez pas les enfants à l'école avec une fièvre de 100.4 ° ou plus.
  • Apprenez à vos enfants à se laver les mains fréquemment avec du savon et de l'eau courante pendant 20 secondes.
  • Les élèves de la maternelle à la 12e année doivent porter un masque facial dans le bâtiment de l'école, sauf si cela nuit à la santé de la personne.
  • Apprenez à vos enfants à couvrir la toux et les éternuements avec des mouchoirs en papier ou en toussant à l'intérieur du coude.
  • Apprenez à vos enfants à pratiquer la distanciation physique et sociale en restant à au moins six pieds des personnes autres que votre famille. 

Si vous avez des questions, veuillez contacter l'infirmière de votre école ou le fournisseur de soins de santé primaire de votre enfant. Vous pouvez également envoyer un courriel à votre infirmière scolaire.  

Pour des informations ou des questions générales sur le COVID-19 et la prévention, visitez le site Web de la Delaware Health and Social Services, Division of Public Health à https://coronavirus.delaware.gov/, ou vous pouvez appeler le 2-1-1 ou envoyer votre code postal au 898-211 pour les sourds et les malentendants.

Attentes en matière d'apprentissage en personne pour les élèves de la maternelle à la 8e année:

  • Les parents doivent remplir un auto-examen COVID-19 pour leur enfant chaque matin +
  • Tous les élèves DOIVENT porter un masque facial en tout temps à moins de manger.
  • Les élèves doivent être espacés de 6 pieds dans les salles de classe avec environ 15 à 25 élèves par salle.
  • Les élèves resteront dans le même siège / bureau dans une salle de classe tout au long de la journée et le personnel effectuera une rotation dans les salles de classe; cela comprend le déjeuner.
  • Les élèves continueront à utiliser la technologie au quotidien et sont censés apporter des appareils à l'école et en revenir.
  • Les élèves doivent suivre tous les protocoles de sécurité concernant le lavage des mains, l'utilisation de désinfectant pour les mains et la distance sociale.
  • Tous les conducteurs de bus DOIVENT porter des masques, s'asseoir socialement éloignés et se désinfecter les mains avant de monter à bord.
  • Il n'y aura pas de clubs ou de sports en personne pour les élèves de la maternelle à la 8e année.
  • Les étudiants peuvent ne pas avoir le même professeur pour l'apprentissage en personne qu'ils ont eu pour l'apprentissage virtuel.
  • Si l'infirmière de l'école détermine que votre enfant est malade, ils doivent être récupérés dès que vous en êtes informé.
  • Les étudiants devront suivre tous les conseils de la Division de la santé publique (DPH) sur l'auto-quarantaine si nécessaire.

Conseils sur la santé et la sécurité du district scolaire colonial à l'intention des élèves et des familles

Introduction / Principes directeurs

Alors que les familles se préparent au retour de leurs élèves dans le bâtiment de l'école pour des instructions en face à face, le personnel du Colonial School District voulait partager un aperçu de la planification qui a été faite pour assurer la santé et la sécurité des élèves et du personnel de Colonial Nation . 

Depuis mars 2020, la priorité numéro un du district scolaire colonial était d'assurer la sécurité des élèves, du personnel et de la communauté pendant le COVID-19. Une variété de membres du personnel de tout le district ont travaillé pour développer des protocoles pour aider à «prévenir la propagation» du COVID-19. Dans tout le quartier, quatre comportements principaux continuent d'être renforcés:

  • Portez un masque facial
  • Maintenez la distance sociale
  • Couvrez vos toux et éternuements
  • Lavez et désinfectez vos mains

On s'attend à ce que tous les étudiants, le personnel et les visiteurs des bâtiments coloniaux respectent ces attentes en tout temps.

Ce document contient un résumé des protocoles de santé et de sécurité pour favoriser le bien-être physique de votre enfant à son retour dans le bâtiment. Plus précisément, vous en apprendrez davantage sur les attentes pour:

  • Couvre-visage
  • Lavage et désinfection des mains
  • Dépistage de santé quotidien
  • Distanciation sociale
  • du nettoyage par
  • Transport
  • Petit déjeuner, déjeuner et accès à l'eau.

Nous espérons que ces informations répondront à de nombreuses questions que vous vous posez concernant le retour de votre élève dans le bâtiment. Si vous avez d'autres questions, veuillez visiter http://www.colonialschooldistrict.org/contact/ask-a-question/ pour soumettre votre question via le lien Contactez-nous.  

Restez bien et rappelez-vous… Nous avons ceci!

Couvre visage

Conformément à la 25e modification de la déclaration d'état d'urgence du Delaware, tous les élèves de la maternelle à la 12e année sont tenus de porter un masque facial chaque jour. Les élèves du préscolaire sont encouragés à porter un masque facial pendant leurs études. Tout élève utilisant le transport fourni par le district (préscolaire-12e année) est tenu de porter un masque facial dans l'autobus. Les employés de district sont également tenus de porter un masque facial lorsqu'ils sont au travail. Tout visiteur d'un bâtiment du district scolaire colonial devra porter un masque facial à l'intérieur des bâtiments scolaires et de bureaux.

À l'appui de ces exigences, le Colonial School District a acheté un couvre-visage en tissu réutilisable pour chaque élève et employé. Il est recommandé aux étudiants et au personnel d'emporter une protection faciale de rechange à utiliser au cas où leur masque serait sali ou endommagé. Des revêtements faciaux jetables sont disponibles dans chaque bâtiment au cas où un revêtement facial de remplacement serait nécessaire. 

La Division de la santé publique fournit les conseils suivants sur les couvertures faciales:

  • Doit couvrir à la fois le nez et la bouche et s'ajuster parfaitement contre le côté du visage
  • Doit être composé d'au moins 2 couches
  • Ne doit pas contenir de vannes, d'évents ou de trous
  • Ne doit pas être partagé entre les étudiants ou le personnel

Il est reconnu que dans certaines circonstances, un masque facial ne peut pas être porté par un étudiant ou un employé. Les étudiants qui ne peuvent pas porter de masque facial pour des raisons médicales doivent présenter une note du médecin à l'infirmière de l'école. L'infirmière de l'école contactera le médecin pour de plus amples informations, si nécessaire, et informera la famille et l'équipe de l'école du statut d'exemption. Les exemptions non médicales seront coordonnées par l'administrateur du bâtiment ou le coordinateur de l'éducation spéciale / 504.

Évaluations de la santé

Tout élève développant des symptômes de COVID-19 à l'école sera évalué par l'infirmière de l'école à l'aide d'un outil d'évaluation du Delaware Department of Education. Les élèves jugés potentiellement positifs seront fournis seront placés dans la «salle des soins» de l'école (salle d'isolement) pour attendre leur prise en charge. (Toutes les chambres d'isolement du bâtiment seront surveillées par un adulte affecté au bâtiment.) Pendant leur séjour dans la «salle des soins», les élèves continueront de porter leur masque facial. Les parents sont priés de faire venir leur élève à l'école le plus tôt possible (de préférence dans les 60 minutes suivant l'appel téléphonique). Les infirmières scolaires discuteront des protocoles de retour à l'école avec les parents en fonction de la situation individuelle de l'élève.

Distanciation sociale

Les salles de classe

Le ministère de l'Éducation du Delaware s'attend à ce que tout le personnel et les élèves, de la maternelle à la 12e année, maintiennent une distance d'au moins 3 pieds entre les individus lorsqu'ils portent un masque facial. Pour les élèves de la maternelle à la 12e année ne portant pas de masque facial, l'espacement doit être augmenté à au moins 6 pieds. Dans le district scolaire colonial, il a été déterminé que les pupitres des élèves, de la maternelle à la 12e année, seront espacés de 6 pieds pour tenir compte des heures où les élèves ne peuvent pas porter de masque (p.  

Pour les élèves du préscolaire, le personnel encouragera les élèves à maintenir la distance sociale dans la mesure du possible. 

Couloirs

La distance sociale dans les couloirs sera renforcée pour les étudiants et le personnel. Les élèves seront encouragés à continuer à bouger dans les couloirs et à maintenir des distances de 6 pieds. Une signalisation rappelant la distanciation sociale sera placée sur les murs et les planchers dans tout le bâtiment. Les élèves auront un mouvement limité dans tout le bâtiment pour minimiser les contacts.

Espaces à l'extérieur de la salle de classe

Tout au long de la journée scolaire, il peut être nécessaire pour les élèves de visiter l'infirmière, le bureau principal, le conseiller scolaire, etc. Avant qu'un élève visite ces lieux, l'enseignant confirmera que le bureau est disponible pour recevoir l'élève en appelant le lieu ou envoyer un e-mail. Le but de cette communication est d'éviter la surpopulation des bureaux.

Services de nutrition

Les élèves continueront d'avoir l'occasion de prendre le petit-déjeuner et le déjeuner à l'école. Le petit-déjeuner Grab and Go sera disponible à l'arrivée à l'école. Le déjeuner sera également servi dans les kiosques du couloir situé près de la salle de classe. Tous les repas seront pris en classe avec les élèves assis à leur bureau. Les étudiants peuvent apporter des repas de chez eux.  

 

Toutes les fontaines d'eau des bâtiments coloniaux ont été déconnectées pour aider à prévenir la propagation du COVID-19. Les étudiants sont encouragés à emballer une bouteille d'eau sans verre à utiliser tout au long de la journée. Les salles de classe auront des bouteilles d'eau jetables supplémentaires disponibles pour reconstituer leur approvisionnement.

Hygiène

Le lavage des mains, avec du savon et de l'eau, est l'un des moyens les plus efficaces de réduire la propagation du COVID-19. Lorsque le lavage des mains n'est pas accessible, l'utilisation d'un désinfectant pour les mains est la meilleure étape suivante. Les élèves auront la possibilité de se laver les mains plusieurs fois par jour, y compris avant de manger et après avoir utilisé la salle de bain. Un désinfectant pour les mains sera facilement disponible pour une utilisation dans tout le bâtiment de l'école. (Les parents qui souhaitent refuser l'utilisation du désinfectant devront envoyer une note ou un e-mail à l'infirmière de l'école de leur immeuble.)

Dépistage de la santé

Chaque matin, avant d'aller à l'école, le personnel et les élèves sont invités à remplir un testeur COVID-19. Ce vérificateur demande au personnel et aux familles de considérer leur exposition aux cas confirmés de COVID-19 et tout symptôme ressenti. Les élèves qui répondent oui à une question sur le filtre ne doivent pas se présenter à l'école ce jour-là. Les familles devraient contacter leur médecin de soins primaires pour discuter des prochaines étapes. Les familles doivent également contacter leur infirmière scolaire avec des détails sur leur testeur COVID-19 positif et le plan recommandé par le médecin.

Afin de pouvoir effectuer des examens de santé chaque matin, Colonial a acheté un thermomètre numérique pour chaque élève à utiliser à la maison.

Si un élève a un test COVID-19 positif, les familles doivent contacter l'infirmière de l'école avec cette information. La Division de la santé publique effectuera la recherche des contacts, avec le soutien de l'infirmière de l'école. Toutes les familles d'un bâtiment scolaire seront avisées si un cas positif de COVID-19 pour les élèves ou le personnel est déterminé.

Visiteurs

Afin de minimiser l'exposition des élèves et du personnel au COVID-19, les visiteurs des bâtiments scolaires seront limités. Nous demandons ce qui suit:

  • Veuillez appeler le bureau principal pour discuter de vos questions ou préoccupations avec le membre du personnel approprié
  • S'il est nécessaire de visiter l'école, veuillez appeler le bureau principal pour prendre rendez-vous avec le membre du personnel demandé
    • Le nombre de visiteurs d'une famille doit être limité
    • Tous les visiteurs doivent effectuer un auto-filtrage (y compris la vérification de la température) avant d'entrer dans le bâtiment. Si le visiteur présente des symptômes de COVID-19, la visite doit être reportée. 

Installations

Récréation / Espaces extérieurs
Les salles de classe continueront d'avoir accès à l'extérieur pour les récréations et les activités pédagogiques. À l'extérieur, les élèves devront rester avec leur classe tout en maintenant une distance sociale de 6 pieds. Les étudiants et le personnel continueront de porter leurs protections faciales. De retour dans le bâtiment de l'école, les élèves auront l'occasion de se laver les mains avec du savon et de l'eau. 

du nettoyage par
Les écoles seront nettoyées selon un horaire intensifié. Le personnel de garde désinfectera les articles hautement tactiles (boutons de porte, interrupteurs d'éclairage, etc.) et les toilettes au moins toutes les deux heures. Dans la salle de classe, les enseignants désinfecteront les objets hautement tactiles dans la classe selon le même horaire. Les bureaux et les chaises des élèves ne seront désinfectés qu'en cas de changement d'utilisation de ces articles par l'élève. Si un étudiant reste au même bureau et chaise toute la journée, le bureau et la chaise seront désinfectés à la fin de la journée.

Le personnel de garde désinfectera les salles de classe à l'aide du «Protex Wand» à la fin de chaque journée d'école. Pour les espaces qui sont utilisés par plusieurs classes, les salles de classe seront désinfectées entre chaque classe.

Transport

Les élèves utilisant le transport de district vers et depuis l'école ont les exigences suivantes:

  • Les couvertures faciales doivent être portées (quel que soit l'âge) - Les exceptions doivent être déterminées par l'équipe de l'école
  • Distanciation sociale - Les élèves ne seront pas assis plus d'un par siège selon un schéma échelonné. Les élèves bénéficiant d'une exemption de masque seront assis avec un espacement accru des autres.
  • Utilisation du désinfectant pour les mains - Les élèves doivent utiliser un désinfectant pour les mains (fourni depuis la maison) avant de monter à bord de l'autobus.
  • Arrêts de bus - En attendant de monter à bord de l'autobus, les étudiants et les familles doivent continuer à porter leur masque facial et maintenir une distance sociale de 6 pieds.

Main: 302-323-2700 • Transportation: (302) 323-2851

Face to Face Learning

Anticipated Student Return Dates – Students that have opted in for in-person learning

    *The majority of William Penn High School will continue virtual learning throughout the remainder of the first semester (January 29, 2021). The anticipated decision for the 2nd Semester will be communicated to families prior to winter break.

    If you are a family that is remaining in our Colonial Virtual Academy, we will continue to provide high-quality learning experiences for your child.

    Please keep in mind that all of the information above is based on the information available to us now and can change at any time.  We continue to monitor the spread of COVID-19 in our community, our available staff, and our building preparedness and if any of this information changes, we need to be able to change these plans to keep everyone as safe as possible.

    We’d like to thank the Colonial Community for their continued support!

    Phase 1 – 10/22/20 

    Integration A at Southern, George Read, and William Penn; Communication and Social Learning (CASL) at Southern, Intensive Learning Center (ILC) at Southern

    Phase 2 – 10/29/20

    Leach, Adult Integration at Leach, Colwyck Pre-K Program

    Phase 3 – 11/9/20

    All Elementary Schools, Intensive Learning Center (ILC) at Gunning Bedford, Communication and Social Learning (CASL) at Gunning Bedford, Integration B at George Read, Identified Classes at William Penn High School

    Phase 4 – 11/30/20 

    Middle Schools, Wallace Wallin Intensive Learning Center (ILC), William Penn High Integration B

    School LevelSchool Offices OpenStudent Hours
    Bus Drop Off/Leaving
    Elementary8:00 AM- 4:30 PM8:55 AM-3:25 PM8:45 am-3:40 PM
    Middle7:30 AM - 4:00 PM8:05 AM-2:40 PM7:55 AM- 2:50 PM
    High School/Wallin6:45 AM - 4:00 PM7:15 AM-1:50 PM7:05 AM -2:00 PM
    District office9:00 am – 12:00 pm and 1:00 pm – 4:00 pm

    SELF SCREENING FOR STUDENTS

    The Delaware Department of Education and Delaware Department of Health and Social Services’ Division of Public Health have requested that we provide you information regarding practices related to COVID-19.

    We request that students and/or their families complete a health assessment consisting of a self-screening every morning before leaving for school.

    Please answer any of the following questions:

    • In the past 14 days, have you been near(within 6 feet for at least 15 minute) a person  who has a lab-confirmed case of COVID-19, or have you had direct contact with their mucus or saliva?
    • In the last 48 hours., have you had any of the following symptoms
    • Fever of 100. 4 For above ( or symptoms like alternating shivering and sweating)
    • New cough
    • New trouble breathing, shortness of breathe or severe wheezing
    • New chills or shaking with chills
    • New muscle aches
    • Sore throat
    • Vomiting or diarrhea
    • New loss of smell or taste
    • Nausea
    • Fatigue
    • Headache, congestion, runny nose (with no other known cause such as allergies}

    If you answered YES to any of the questions above, DO NOT send your child to school today. Instead contact your child’s primary health care provider.

    (This screening tool was adapted at from the mayo clinic’s online self assessment. To use the Mayo Clinic’s tool online, visit http://mayoclinic.com/covid-19-self-assessment-tool

    Additional considerations:

    • Students must stay home if they are exhibiting any symptoms of COVID-19 or have been confirmed to have COVID-19 or if required by DPH to isolate or quarantine.
    • Keep children who are sick at home; do not send them to school.  Do not send children to school with a fever of 100.4º or greater.
    • Teach your children to wash their hands frequently with soap and running water for 20 seconds.
    • Students in kindergarten through grade 12 must wear face coverings in the school building, except when doing so would inhibit the individual’s health.
    • Teach your children to cover coughs and sneezes with tissues or by coughing into the inside of the elbow.
    • Teach your children to practice physical and social distancing by staying at least six feet away from people other than your family. 

    If you have questions, please contact your school nurse or child’s primary healthcare provider. You can also email your school nurse.  

    For information or general questions on COVID-19 and prevention, visit the Delaware Health and Social Services’, Division of Public Health’s website at https://coronavirus.delaware.gov/, or you can call 2-1-1 or text your ZIP code to 898-211 for deaf and hard of hearing.

    Expectations for in-person learning for students in grades K-8:

    • Parents must complete a COVID-19 self-screener for their child each morning +
    • All students MUST wear a face covering at all times unless eating.
    • Students must be spaced 6 feet apart in classrooms with approximately 15 to 25 students per room.
    • Students will remain in the same seat/desk in one classroom throughout the day and staff will rotate into the classrooms; this includes lunchtime.
    • Students will continue to use technology on a daily basis and are expected to bring devices to and from school.
    • Students must follow all safety protocols regarding handwashing, use of hand sanitizer, and social distancing.
    • All bus riders MUST wear masks, sit socially distanced, and sanitize hands before boarding.
    • There will be no in-person clubs or sports for K to 8 students.
    • Students may not have the same teacher for in-person that they have had for virtual learning.
    • If the school nurse determines that your child is sick, they must be picked up as soon as you are notified.
    • Students will be required to follow all Division of Public Health (DPH) guidance on self-quarantining if necessary.

    Colonial School District Health and Safety Guidance for Students and Families

    Introduction/Guiding Principles

    As families prepare for the return of their students to the school building for face to face instruction, the staff at Colonial School District wanted to share an overview of the planning that has been done to address the health and safety of students and staff in Colonial Nation. 

    Since March, 2020 the number one priority of Colonial School District was to ensure the safety of the students, staff and community during COVID-19.  A variety of staff members from across the district have worked to develop protocols to help “prevent the spread” of COVID-19.  Throughout the district, four main behaviors continue to be reinforced:

    • Wear a face covering
    • Maintain social distance
    • Cover your coughs and sneezes
    • Wash and sanitize your hands

    All students, staff and visitors to Colonial buildings are expected to follow these expectations at all times.

    Included in this document is a summary of health and safety protocols to support the physical well-being of your child as they return to the building.  Specifically, you will learn about the expectations for:

    • Facial coverings
    • Hand washing and sanitizing
    • Daily health screenings
    • Social Distancing
    • Cleaning
    • Transportation
    • Breakfast, lunch and access to water.

    It is our hope that this information will address many of the questions you have regarding your student’s return to the building.  If you have any further questions, please visit http://www.colonialschooldistrict.org/contact/ask-a-question/ to submit your question through the Contact Us link.  

    Stay well and remember……WE Got This!

    Face Coverings

    In accordance with the 25th Modification of Delaware’s Declaration of a State of Emergency, all students in grades Kindergarten through 12th grade are required to wear a face covering each day.  Students in preschool are encouraged to wear a face covering while at school.  Any student utilizing district provided transportation (Preschool-12th grade) is required to wear a face covering while on the bus. District employees are also required to wear a face covering while at work.  Any visitor to a Colonial School District Building will be required to wear a face covering inside school and office buildings.

    In support of these requirements, Colonial School District has purchased one reusable cloth face coverings for each student and employee.  It is recommended that students and staff pack a spare facial covering for use in the event their mask becomes soiled or damaged.  Disposable face coverings are available at each building in the event a replacement face covering is needed. 

    The Division of Public Health provides the following guidance on face coverings:

    • Must cover both the nose and mouth as well as fit snugly against the side of the face
    • Must be made of at least 2 layers
    • Must not contain valves, vents or holes
    • Must not be shared between students or staff

    It is acknowledged that in certain circumstances a face covering cannot be worn by a student or employee.  Students that are unable to wear a face mask for medical reasons must present a note from the physician to the school nurse.  The school nurse will contact the physician for further information, if needed, and notify family and the school-based team of exemption status.  Non-medical exemptions will be coordinated through the building administrator or special education/504 coordinator.

    Health Assessments

    Any student developing COVID-19 symptoms while at school will be assessed by the school nurse using a Delaware Department of Education Assessment Tool.  Students determined to potentially be positive will be provided will be placed in the school’s “cares room” (isolation room) to wait for pick up.  (All building isolation rooms will be monitored by an adult assigned to the building.)  While in the “cares room”, students will continue to wear their face mask.  Parents are asked to have their student picked up from school as soon as possible (preferably within 60 minutes of the phone call).  School nurses will discuss return to school protocols with parents based on the student’s individual circumstances.

    Social Distancing

    Classrooms

    The Delaware Department of Education expects all staff and students, in grades K-12, to maintain a distance of at least 3 feet between individuals when wearing a facial covering.  For students in grades K-12 not wearing a facial covering, the spacing must be increased to at least 6 feet.  Within the Colonial School District, it has been determined that student desks, in grades K-12, will be spaced at 6 feet to address times when students may not wear a mask (i.e. water breaks and meal times).  

    For preschool students, staff will encourage students to maintain social distancing as feasible. 

    Hallways

    Social distancing in hallways will be reinforced to students and staff.  Students will be encouraged to keep moving when in hallways and to maintain 6 feet distances.  Signage reminders of social distancing  will be placed on the walls and floors throughout the building.  Students will have limited movement throughout the building to minimize contact.

    Spaces Outside the Classroom

    Throughout the school day, it may be necessary for students to visit the nurse, main office, school counselor, etc.  Prior to a student visiting these locations, the classroom teacher will confirm the office is available to receive the student by calling the location or sending an email.  The purpose of this communication is to avoid overcrowding of the offices.

    Nutrition Services

    Students will continue to have the opportunity to eat breakfast and lunch at school.  Grab and Go Breakfast will be available upon arrival at school. Lunch will also be served from kiosks in the hallway located near the classroom.  All meals will be eaten in the classroom with students seated at their desks.  Students are able to bring meals in from home.  

     

    All water fountains in Colonial buildings have been disconnected to help prevent the spread of COVID-19.  Students are encouraged to pack a non-glass water bottle for use throughout the day.  Classrooms will have additional disposable bottles of water available for replenishing their supply.

    Hygiene

    Hand washing, with soap and water,  is one of the most effective ways in reducing the spread of COVID-19.  When hand washing is not accessible, use of hand sanitizer is the next best step.  Students will be provided with opportunities to wash their hands multiple times a day, including before eating and after using the bathroom.  Hand sanitizer will be readily available for use throughout the school building.  (Parents wishing to opt out from the use of sanitizer will need to send a note or email to their building’s school nurse.)

    Health Screenings

    Each morning, prior to attending school, staff and students are asked to complete a COVID-19 screener.  This screener asks staff and families to consider their exposure to confirmed COVID-19 cases and any symptoms being experienced.  Students that answer yes to any question on the screener must not report to school that day.  Families should contact their primary care physician to discuss next steps.  Families should also contact their school nurse with details of their positive COVID-19 Screener and plan recommended by the physician.

    In support of completing health screenings each morning, Colonial has purchased a digital thermometer for each student for use at home.

    If a student has a positive COVID-19 test, families must contact the school nurse with this information.  The Division of Public Health will complete contact tracing, with the support of the school nurse.  All families in a school building will be notified if a positive COVID-19 case for students or staff is  determined.

    Visitors

    In order to minimize the exposure of students and staff to COVID-19, visitors to school buildings will be limited.  We ask the following:

    • Please call the main office to discuss your questions or concerns with the appropriate staff member
    • If it is necessary to visit the school, please call the main office to schedule an appointment with the requested staff member
      • The number of visitors from a family should be limited
      • All visitors should complete a self screener (including temperature check) prior to entering the building.  If the visitor is experiencing COVID-19 symptoms, the visit should be rescheduled. 

    Facilities

    Recess/Outdoor Spaces
    Classrooms will continue to have access to the outdoors for recess and instructional activities.  While outdoors, students will need to remain with their class while maintaining 6 feet social distancing.  Students and staff will continue to wear their facial coverings.  Upon return into the school building, students will have the opportunity to wash their hands with soap and water. 

    Cleaning
    Schools will be cleaned using an intensified schedule.  Custodial staff will be disinfecting high touch items (door knobs, light switches, etc) and bathroom facilities at least every two hours. Within the classroom, teachers will disinfect high touch items within the classroom on the same schedule.  Student desks and chairs will only be disinfected when there is a change in the student using those items.  If a student remains at the same desk and chair throughout the entire day, the desk and chair will be disinfected at the end of the day.

    Custodial staff will disinfect classroom spaces using the “Protex Wand” at the end of each school day.  For spaces that are utilized by multiple classes, classrooms will be disinfected in between each class.

    Transportation

    Students utilizing district transportation to and from school have the following requirements:

    • Facial coverings must be worn (regardless of age)-Exemptions must be determined by school based team
    • Social distancing-Students will be seated no more than one per seat using a staggered pattern.  Students with a mask exemption will be seated with increased spacing from others.
    • Use of Hand Sanitizer-Students should use hand sanitizer (provided from home) prior to boarding the bus.
    • Bus Stops-While waiting to board the bus, students and families must continue to wear their facial covering and maintain 6 feet social distancing.