The Delaware Department of Education and Delaware Department of Health and Social Services’ Division of Public Health has requested that we provide you information regarding practices related to COVID-19.
Please answer the following questions:
- In the past 14 days, have you been near (within 6 feet for at least 15 minutes) a person who has a lab-confirmed case of COVID-19, or have you had direct contact with their mucus or saliva?
- In the last 48 hours, have you had any of the following symptoms?
- Fever of 100.4 F or above (or symptoms like alternating shivering and sweating)
- New cough
- New trouble breathing, shortness of breath, or severe wheezing
- New chills or shaking with chills
- New muscle aches
- Sore throat
- Vomiting or diarrhea
- New loss of smell or taste, or a change in taste
- Headache, congestion or runny nose (with no known other cause such as allergies)
If you answered YES to any of the questions above, do NOT send your child to school. Instead, contact your child’s primary healthcare provider and school nurse.
- Students must stay home if they are exhibiting any symptoms of COVID-19 or have been confirmed to have COVID-19 or if required by DPH to isolate or quarantine.
- Keep children who are sick at home; do not send them to school. Do not send children to school with a fever of 100.4º or greater.
- Teach your children to wash their hands frequently with soap and running water for 20 seconds.
- Students in kindergarten through grade 12 must wear face coverings in the school building, except when doing so would inhibit the individual’s health.
- Teach your children to cover coughs and sneezes with tissues or by coughing into the inside of the elbow.
- Teach your children to practice physical and social distancing by staying at least six feet away from people other than your family.