Face Coverings / Masks
UPDATE: March 1st, 2022
Governor John Carney has announced the mask mandate in Delaware for public and private schools and child care facilities ends today, Tuesday, March 1st at 6 p.m. The announcement is consistent with new masking guidance issued on Friday by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and with current downward case trends.
As of Wednesday, March 2, 2022 masking will be optional for students and staff in school buildings and on school buses. If, for any reason, staff members or students feel more comfortable continuing to wear a mask, they are encouraged to do so.
SELF SCREENING FOR STUDENTS
The Delaware Department of Education and Delaware Department of Health and Social Services’ Division of Public Health have requested that we provide you information regarding practices related to COVID-19.
We request that students and/or their families complete a health assessment consisting of a self-screening every morning before leaving for school.
Please answer any of the following questions:
- In the past 14 days, have you been near(within 6 feet for at least 15 minute) a person who has a lab-confirmed case of COVID-19, or have you had direct contact with their mucus or saliva?
- In the last 48 hours., have you had any of the following symptoms
- Fever of 100. 4 For above ( or symptoms like alternating shivering and sweating)
- New cough
- New trouble breathing, shortness of breathe or severe wheezing
- New chills or shaking with chills
- New muscle aches
- Sore throat
- Vomiting or diarrhea
- New loss of smell or taste
- Headache, congestion, runny nose (with no other known cause such as allergies}
If you answered YES to any of the questions above, DO NOT send your child to school today. Instead contact your child’s primary health care provider.
(This screening tool was adapted at from the mayo clinic’s online self assessment. To use the Mayo Clinic’s tool online, visit http://mayoclinic.com/covid-19-self-assessment-tool
- Students must stay home if they are exhibiting any symptoms of COVID-19 or have been confirmed to have COVID-19 or if required by DPH to isolate or quarantine.
- Keep children who are sick at home; do not send them to school. Do not send children to school with a fever of 100.4º or greater.
- Teach your children to wash their hands frequently with soap and running water for 20 seconds.
- Students in kindergarten through grade 12 must wear face coverings in the school building, except when doing so would inhibit the individual’s health.
- Teach your children to cover coughs and sneezes with tissues or by coughing into the inside of the elbow.
- Teach your children to practice physical and social distancing by staying at least six feet away from people other than your family.
If you have questions, please contact your school nurse or child’s primary healthcare provider. You can also email your school nurse.
For information or general questions on COVID-19 and prevention, visit the Delaware Health and Social Services’, Division of Public Health’s website at https://coronavirus.delaware.gov/, or you can call 2-1-1 or text your ZIP code to 898-211 for deaf and hard of hearing.