Select Page

DeSSA Assessments


Starting in the 2014-2015 school year, Smarter testing will replace DCAS for reading and mathematics. DCAS will still be given in science (grades 5, 8, and 10) and social studies (grades 4 and 7), and at the end of U.S. History in high school.

DCAS Alt-1 remains the alternative test for students with severe cognitive disabilities.

English Language Learners take ACCESS (Assessing Comprehension and Communication in English State-to-State) until demonstrating proficiency in English.

In addition, the state supports the administration of several college readiness tests:

  • SAT (Spring, grade 11)
  • PSAT (Fall, grade 10)
  • PSSS (Spring, grade 9 and 10)

DeSSA & Smarter Newsletters


Click above to learn more about Colonial’s Smarter Balanced Testing results

Share This