الرئيسية: 302-323-2700 • النقل: (302) 323-2851
حدد صفحة

المساواة في الاستعمار: الانخراط ، والتفكير ، والعمل

تظل مدرسة Colonial School District ملتزمة بعملها نحو السعي لتحقيق المساواة في القوى العاملة ، والفصول الدراسية ، وفي المجتمع. تم تصميم هذه الحركة المتعمدة المسماة ERA من أجل جذب جميع الموظفين في محادثات شجاعة حول الإنصاف مع السماح للمشاركين بذلك تعكس على هويتهم الخاصة والوعي الذاتي و عمل لإحداث تغيير لطلابنا والمجتمع الأكبر (ERA). هناك عدة مجموعات ملتزمة بهذا العمل:

برنامج ممارس الأسهم

الهدف من هذا البرنامج هو تعلم ومناقشة واستكشاف العنصرية والقمع النظاميين.

يعقد المشاركون عيادات وندوات مع زملائهم من موظفي المنطقة وكذلك في مدرسة Odyssey Charter School. يقول شيلبي بورست ، مدرس في ويليام بن ، "لقد كان عملنا ضمن برنامج ممارس الأسهم تجربة قوية بشكل لا يصدق. إنه مهم لمجموعة متنوعة من الأسباب - من رحلاتنا الشخصية إلى أن نكون التغيير الذي نريد رؤيته في منطقتنا ومجتمعنا وفي مجتمع أكبر. نريد أن نسلح أنفسنا بالمعرفة واللغة اللازمتين لإحداث تغيير منهجي في هذا البلد. لا نريد فقط تمكين طلابنا بنفس المعرفة والأدوات التي تلقيناها في هذا البرنامج ، ولكننا نتصور بيئة أكثر إنصافًا وإنصافًا وأمانًا لطلابنا لكي يزدهروا ".

مشروع القرب

يشارك ثمانية من قادة المعلمين والإداريين في برنامج مدته ثمانية أسابيع يطالبهم بفحص وإصلاح كيفية تفاعلهم مع المجتمعات الملونة ويخدمونها.  

أجرت هذه المجموعة محادثات تتعلق بالإنصاف مع الطلاب والأسر وأفراد المجتمع.

تقول كيشاييلا باين ميلر ، مساعدة مديرة ويلبر ، "هذا العمل مهم لأن الكثير يحدث في العالم وأنا بحاجة إلى أن أكون قادرًا على المشاركة في تلك المحادثات الصعبة لأكون مستعدًا للتعامل مع المواقف عند ظهورها. أشعر أن محادثات الإنصاف قد سمحت لي بإدراك ما يحدث في العالم ، واكتساب وجهات نظر مختلفة ، والحصول على المعرفة اللازمة للمشاركة في محادثات مختلفة. لقد سمح لي أيضًا بمشاركة قصتي مع الآخرين والسماح لهم بفهم تجاربي.

يقول الدكتور كريستال لانكور ، المشرف أيضًا على المناهج والتعليم ، "كان هدفي من المشاركة في مشروع القرب هو تعميق فهمي للعرق والإنصاف لأتمكن من تعزيز جهودنا هنا في المستعمرة ، والتي تركز بشكل خاص على التعلم المهني لموظفينا. بناءً على تجربتي في هذا البرنامج ، بدأت بالفعل في تضمين العديد من الأنشطة في خبراتنا التعليمية لـ Colonial عبر العديد من المستويات ".

تعرف على المزيد حول المشروع في https://www.teensharp.org/tpp/

التطوير المهني للأسهم

يقول المنسق المشارك في القيادة الدكتور كريستال لانكور إن جلسات التطوير المهني هذه بين الموظفين في جميع المدارس والأقسام قد حققت نجاحًا كبيرًا. تتضمن التعليقات الواردة من المشاركين تعليقات مثل:

    • "شكرًا لك على هذا التدريب ، ولا سيما إبقائه لعائلة مدرستنا. كان من الأسهل بكثير التحدث وأن تكون عرضة للخطر. أنا أقدر قيادتك في هذا الموضوع ، فأنت تساعدنا جميعًا كمعلمين في صنع التاريخ ".
    • "هذا عمل مهم للغاية! فخور بأن نكون في كولونيال حيث نعرف حقًا أن كلمة "نحن" تعني كل شيء - شكرًا لك !!! "
    • ”هذه رائعة! من فضلك استمر في جعلنا نفعلها ، هناك حاجة كبيرة إليها !! "

 

البيانات الاستعمارية حول حقوق الملكية

يوليو 16، 2020

نحن نركز على العدالة

أثناء التركيز على الإنصاف في Colonial Nation بدأ منذ عدة سنوات ، كان فريق District Equity يجتمع بشكل جدي منذ يناير. تعد الدكتورة كريستال لانكور من بين الإداريين الذين يساعدون في تسهيل هذا الجهد قائلاً: "لدينا التزام بالمساواة في المستعمرة وهذا يعني أننا نتعلم وننمو لاكتساب فهم أعمق للعرق والإنصاف وتأثيره على تعلم الطلاب. المجتمع الاستعماري أقوى معًا ". يعرف المسؤولون والمعلمون والموظفون في فريق الإنصاف أن العمل يعني إجراء محادثات صعبة وأحيانًا غير مريحة حول العرق وأهمية المساواة في منطقة يكون غالبية الطلاب فيها من السود والبني ، لكن فريق العمل لا يعكس ذلك في الفصول الدراسية وما بعدها.

شاركت المجموعة الأسبوع الماضي ما يسمى حقبة الإنصاف (المشاركة - الانعكاس - الفعل). ERA عبارة عن ارتباط لمورد تعليمي موجه ذاتيًا يحتوي على مستندات ومقاطع فيديو وتحديدات من الكتب والمزيد ليراجعها أعضاء الفريق والموظفون. الهدف من ERA هو أن يكون لدى أعضاء الفريق والموظفين الموارد اللازمة للتعلم والتفكير في القضايا المتعلقة بالعرق من أجل زيادة الوعي الذاتي والحساسية من أجل الطلاب الملونين.

"يستحق كل متعلم في كولونيال الأفضل منا كمعلمين ، لذلك علينا التأكد من أننا نعرف طلابنا وأنفسنا جيدًا بما يكفي لنكون قادرين على توفير خبرات تعليمية تلبي احتياجاتهم الأكاديمية والاجتماعية / العاطفية. وقال لانكور إن فهم العرق والإنصاف وتأثيرهما على التعلم جزء كبير من هذه الرحلة حتى نتمكن من القيام بذلك بشكل فعال.

يونيو

المزيد عن تركيز المستعمرة على الإنصاف

منذ عام 2016 ، بدأت منطقة المدرسة الاستعمارية (CSD) بإلقاء نظرة فاحصة على العرق والإنصاف. تظهر الإحصائيات أن تجارب الطلاب السود والبني ليست هي نفسها الطلاب البيض ولا يعكس فريقنا من المشرفين والمعلمين عدد الطلاب السود والبني إلى حد كبير.

لتوفير أفضل النتائج لجميع الطلاب ، أنشأت CSD المجموعات التالية للتركيز على الإنصاف:

  • معلمو اللون (EOC-Est. 2016)
    • المشاركين: المعلمون والإداريون وموظف الإعلام (PIO) وأخصائي الإعلام
    • التركيز الأساسي: تجنيد معلمي الألوان والاحتفاظ بهم
  • التركيز على الأسهم القيادية في المنطقة (صيف 2018)
    • من يشارك: إداريو المقاطعة والشعبة والمدرسة
    • التركيز الأساسي: تطوير المهارات في تسهيل المحادثات حول العرق والإنصاف
  • مجلس قيادة المنطقة (مؤسسة صيف 2019)
    • من المتورط: مجلس المشرف
    • التركيز الأساسي: الغوص العميق في المحادثات العرقية ، اكتشاف البيانات ، دراسات الكتاب
  • فريق إنصاف التغذية (مؤسسة خريف 2019)
    • من المشاركين: عمال التغذية وأعضاء EOC
    • التركيز الأساسي: دعم مجتمعنا المدرسي المتنوع من خلال خيارات القائمة والخيارات
  • برنامج ممارسي المعلمين (Est. شتاء 2019) (EPP)
    • المشارك: المعلمون
    • التركيز الأساسي: يمنح المعلمين المهارات والموارد لإشراك الآخرين في أعمال الإنصاف. الهدف هو تطوير عمل الأسهم.
  • فريق الأسهم المحلية (مؤسسة شتاء 2020)
    • من هو المشارك: المعلمون والإداريون وبيو
    • التركيز الأساسي: تطوير فهم عميق للعرق وعلاقته بالممارسات والنتائج المنصفة لجميع المتعلمين ، وتقييم احتياجات البرامج والأقسام والمدارس والمنظمة ككل فيما يتعلق بالعرق والعمل الإنصاف ، وإنشاء منطقة المدرسة الاستعمارية خطة الإنصاف لتوجيه تركيزنا وعملنا ، ودعم قادة المدارس في قيادة أعمال الإنصاف على مستوى البناء في الأشهر والسنوات المقبلة ، وقيادة الموظفين في تنظيم الجهود لإدخال التغيير المؤسسي داخل المستعمرة.
  • فريق إنصاف المواصلات (مؤسسة شتاء 2020)
    • من يشارك: إداريي النقل والعمال ، مع أعضاء EOC
    • التركيز الأساسي: تحديد دور لعمال النقل من خلال عملنا في الأسهم (كان هناك اجتماع واحد فقط بسبب COVID-19)

يتفق جميع المشاركين في المجموعة على عدم وجود حل سريع ولكنهم يعتقدون أن التركيز المتعمد على الإنصاف هو خطوة أولى رائعة لـ CSD. بالإضافة إلى مجموعات التركيز ، أنشأت CSD أيضًا منصبًا جديدًا ، مديرة تنمية المواهب ، والتي ستترأسها جينيفر ألكسندر ، المدير السابق لمدرسة Pleasantville الابتدائية. من بين أمور أخرى ، هدف ألكسندر هو توظيف أكثر معلمي الأقليات المؤهلين الذين يمكنهم العثور عليهم لتعليم الطلاب المستعمرين. "المستعمرة هي منطقة تعتقد أن طلابنا يستحقون القدوة التي تبدو مثلهم. إن منطقتنا ملتزمة بإثبات الموارد والدعم والتطوير المهني لتنمية المعلمين حتى يتمكنوا من اكتساب المهارات اللازمة لتوفير التعليم لتلبية احتياجات جميع الطلاب ".

يونيو

لقد عانت العنصرية المؤسسية من هذا البلد لفترة طويلة جدا. إن الحديث عن العنصرية المؤسسية ليس بالأمر السهل. يتطلب الشجاعة من خلال المحادثات والعمل. إن المستعمرة ملتزمة بمواجهة العنصرية وتأثيرها المنهجي على مجتمعنا وبذل كل ما في وسعنا للقضاء عليها والحفاظ على التغيير. 

يونيو

يونيو
لقد شاهدنا جميعًا الأحداث التي وقعت في مينيابوليس في مايو 2020 ، وتفاقم الإحباط والغضب والحزن المتصاعد إلى العنف في جميع أنحاء البلاد. في قلب هذا العرض المذهل للعاطفة والألم الخام ، توجد العنصرية المؤسسية التي ابتليت بها البلاد لفترة طويلة جدًا. إن الحديث عن العنصرية المؤسسية ليس بالأمر السهل. يتطلب الشجاعة من خلال المحادثات والعمل. إن المستعمرة ملتزمة بمكافحة العنصرية وتأثيرها المنهجي على مجتمعنا وبذل كل ما في وسعنا للقضاء عليها.
#PowerofWECSD

مارس،

مارس،

لقد هز العنف أمتنا مرة أخرى هذا الأسبوع وفقد الأبرياء الملونون أرواحهم. مرة أخرى ، يجب علينا كأميركيين أن نتساءل عن مدى دور العنصرية المؤسسية في ما حدث في أتلانتا.

في 16 آذار (مارس) ، أودى عمل مروع بحياة ثمانية أفراد ، ستة منهم من النساء الآسيويات. كان لهذه المأساة التي لا توصف إلى جانب الارتفاع المقلق في العنف والعدوان تجاه الأمريكيين الآسيويين تأثير كبير على مجتمعنا الأمريكي الآسيوي. 

في كولونيال ، سنواصل السعي كل يوم لبناء طاقم عمل وطالب شامل ومقبول للجميع ، وإدانة العنف حيثما وجد ، ودعم الضحايا في مثل هذه الأوقات.

ندين بشدة العنف الذي حدث في جورجيا ونتقدم بتعازينا للأسر وجميع سكان آسيا وجزر المحيط الهادئ ونحن نشاركهم آلامهم.

نراكم إلى جميع طلابنا من الأمريكيين الآسيويين وجزر المحيط الهادئ وأولياء الأمور والأسر وأفراد المجتمع والموظفين. نقف معكم.

#PowerofWECSD

Main: 302-323-2700 • Transportation: (302) 323-2851

Equity ERA in Colonial: Engage, Reflect, Act

We all watched the events in Minneapolis in May 2020 and the unfolding frustration, anger and sadness boil over into violence across the country. At the heart of this incredible display of raw emotion and pain is institutional racism that has plagued this country for far too long. Talking about institutional racism is not simple. It requires courage through conversations and action. Colonial is committed to confronting racism and it’s systemic impact on our community and doing everything in our power to eliminate it. #PowerofWECSD

The Colonial School District remains committed to its work towards seeking equity in the workforce, the classroom, and in the community. This intentional movement called ERA has been designed to Engage all employees in courageous conversations around equity while allowing participants to Reflect on their own identity and self-awareness and to Act to create change for our students and the greater community (ERA).   There are several groups committed to do this work:

Equity Practitioner Program

The goal of this program is to learn, discuss and explore systematic racism and oppression.

Participants hold clinics and seminars with fellow district employees as well as those at the Odyssey Charter School.  William Penn teacher Shelby Borst says, “Our work within the Equity Practitioner’s Program has been an incredibly powerful experience. It is important for a variety of reasons – from our own personal journeys to being the change we want to see in our district, our community, and in larger society. We want to arm ourselves with the knowledge and language that is needed to make systemic change in this country. We not only want to empower our students with the same knowledge and tools that we have received within this program, but we envision a more equitable, fair, and safe environment for our students to thrive.”

The Proximity Project

Eight teacher leaders and administrators are participating in an eight-week program that prompts them to examine and reform how they interact with and serve communities of color.  

This group has had equity conversations with students, families, and community members.

Wilbur Assistant Principal Kishayla Payne-Miller says, “This work is important because a lot is happening in the world and I need to be able to engage in those tough conversations to be prepared to handle situations as they arise.  I feel the equity conversations have allowed me to be conscious of what is happening in the world, gain different perspectives, and have the knowledge needed to engage in various conversations.  It has also allowed me to share my story with others and allow them to understand my experiences.

Dr. Crystal Lancour, who is also Supervisor of Curriculum and Instruction says, “My goal for participating in the Proximity Project was to deepen my own understanding of race and equity to be able to strengthen our efforts here in Colonial, most specifically focused on our professional learning for our staff. Based on my experiences in this program, I have already started to embed many of the activities into our learning experiences for Colonial across many levels.”

Learn more about the project at https://www.teensharp.org/tpp/

Equity Professional Development

Co-Lead Facilitator Dr. Crystal Lancour says these PD sessions among staff in all schools and divisions have been a huge success. Feedback from participants include comments like:

    • Thank you for this training, especially keeping it to our school family. It was much easier to talk and be vulnerable. I appreciate your leadership with this topic, you are helping us all as teachers make history.”
    • “This is such important work!  Proud to be in Colonial where we truly know “WE” means ALL – thank you!!!”
    • “These are great! Please continue to MAKE us do them, they are MUCH needed!!”

 

COLONIAL STATEMENTS ABOUT EQUITY

July 16, 2020

WE Focus on Equity

While focusing on equity in Colonial Nation began several years ago, a District Equity Team has been meeting in earnest since January.  Dr. Crystal Lancour is among the administrators helping to facilitate this effort saying, “We have a commitment to equity in Colonial and that means we are learning and growing to gain a deeper understanding of race, equity, and its impact on student learning so our Colonial community is stronger together.”  The administrators, teachers, and staff on the Equity Team know the work means having tough and sometimes uncomfortable conversations around race and the importance of equity in a district where the majority of students are black and brown, but the staff does not reflect that in the classroom and beyond.

Last week the group shared what is called Equity ERA (Engage-Reflect-Act). ERA is a self-guided learning resource link that contains documents, videos, book selections, and more for team members and staff to review. The goal of ERA is for team members and staff to have the resources needed to learn and reflect on race-related issues in order to raise self-awareness  and sensitivity for the sake of students of color.

“Every learner in Colonial deserves the best from us as educators, so we have to ensure that we know our students and ourselves well enough to be able to provide learning experiences that meet their academic, and social/emotional needs.  Understanding race and equity and its impact on learning is a huge part of this journey in order for us to do that effectively,” Lancour said.

June 19, 2020

More on Colonial’s Focus on Equity

Since 2016, The Colonial School District (CSD) began taking a hard look at race and equity. Statistics show the experiences of black and brown students are not the same as white students and our team of administrators and teachers do not reflect our largely Black and Brown student population.

To provide the best outcomes for all students, CSD established the following groups to focus on equity:

  • Educators of Color (EOC-Est. 2016)
    • Who is involved: Teachers, Administrators, Public Information Officer (PIO), Media Specialist
    • Primary Focus: Recruiting and retention of Teachers of Color
  • District Leadership Equity Focus (Est. Summer 2018)
    • Who is involved: District, Division and School-based administrators
    • Primary Focus: Develop skills at facilitating conversations about race and equity
  • District Leadership Council (Est. Summer 2019)
    • Who is involved: Superintendent’s Council
    • Primary Focus:Deep dive into racial conversations, data discovery, book studies
  • Nutrition Equity Team (Est. Fall 2019)
    • Who is involved: Nutrition Workers and EOC members
    • Primary Focus:Support our diverse school population through menu choices and options
  • Educators Practitioner Program (Est. Winter 2019)(EPP)
    • Who is involved: Teachers
    • Primary Focus:Gives educators the skills and resources to engage others with equity work. A goal is to advance the equity work.
  • District Equity Team (Est. Winter 2020)
    • Who is involved: Teachers, Administrators, PIO
    • Primary Focus: Develop a deep understanding of race and its relationship to equitable practices and outcomes for all learners, assess the needs of programs, departments, schools, and the organization as a whole as related to race and equity work, create a Colonial School District Equity Plan to guide our focus and work, support school leaders in leading equity work at the building level in the coming months and years, lead staff in organizing efforts to infuse institutional change within Colonial.
  • Transportation Equity Team (Est. Winter 2020)
    • Who is involved: Transportation Administrators and workers, along with EOC members
    • Primary Focus: Determine a role for transportation workers with our equity work (only had one meeting due to COVID-19)

All group participants agree there is no quick fix but believe the intentional focus on equity is a great first step for CSD. In addition to the focus groups, CSD also established a new position, Director of Talent Development, which will be headed by Jennifer Alexander, the former principal of Pleasantville Elementary School. Among other things, Alexander’s goal is to recruit the most qualified minority teachers she can find to educate Colonial students. “Colonial is a district that believes our students deserve role models who look like them. Our district is committed to proving the resources, support, and professional development to grow teachers so they can acquire the skills necessary to provide instruction to meet the needs of ALL students,” she says.

June 13, 2020

Institutional racism has plagued this country for far too long. Talking about institutional racism is not simple. It requires courage through conversations and action. Colonial is committed to confronting racism and it’s systemic impact on our community and doing everything in our power to eliminate it and sustain the change. 

June 1, 2020

June 1, 2020
We all watched the events in Minneapolis in May 2020 and the unfolding frustration, anger and sadness boil over into violence across the country. At the heart of this incredible display of raw emotion and pain is institutional racism that has plagued this country for far too long. Talking about institutional racism is not simple. It requires courage through conversations and action. Colonial is committed to confronting racism and it’s systemic impact on our community and doing everything in our power to eliminate it.
#PowerofWECSD