Home » About Us » Board of Education

Board of Education

About the Board

Seven citizens elected by the residents of the Colonial School District serve as the Board of Education. Collectively they set the direction and develop policy for schools that serve approximately 10,000 students. Each lives in a separate election district, though all are elected at large. They serve five-year terms, with the terms staggered so only one or two seats on the board are open yearly. Elections are held in May with newly elected members taking their seats in July.

Besides attending and voting at monthly public meetings, the Board members spend a great deal of time reviewing documents, plans, and issues. They also attend regular workshop meetings at which they explore educational issues. Members are active in state and national organizations, attending seminars and workshops to build their skills and knowledge.

Each June, Board of Education members indicate that students have successfully completed their educational requirements by proudly presenting a diploma to each graduate.

Mission Statement
The mission of the Board is to establish policy and align resources to ensure that the district’s professional leadership, in partnership with families and the community, establishes a productive, safe educational environment in which to develop informed, responsible, productive citizens.

The Board will:

  • Communicate openly and honestly
  • Maintain confidentiality of internal discussions
  • Form decisions through consensus
  • Support group decisions


Joseph T. Laws

Joseph T. Laws


PO Box 346
St Georges, DE  19733
(302) 834-8687

District F


Lucy Kennedy

Lucy Kennedy

Vice President

7 Angola Rd.
New Castle, DE  19720

District B


Ronald D. Handy, Sr.

Ronald D. Handy, Sr.

Board Member

3102 New Castle Avenue
New Castle, DE 19720

District A


Rosemary Wolfe

Rosemary Wolfe

Board Member

139 Pawnee Ct.
Newark, DE  19702

District D


Leo B. Magee, Sr.

Leo B. Magee, Sr.

Board Member

6 Jamestown Drive
Bear, DE 19701
(302) 750-6708

District E


Ronnie Williams

Ronnie Williams

Board Member

102 Pleasantville Courte
New Castle, DE 19720

District C


Robin Crossan

Robin Crossan

Board Member

903 Clydesdale Dr.
Bear, DE 19701

District G


Regular Meetings are normally the Second Tuesday of Each Month

Meetings will be held at 7:00 p.m. in the Administration Building or the auditorium of indicated Middle School unless otherwise announced.

Special meetings may be called periodically.

All meetings will be posted in accordance with state law.

Regular Meeting DateRegular Meeting Location
July 9, 2019George Read Middle School
August 13, 2019George Read Middle School
September 10, 2019George Read Middle School
October 8, 2019Gunning Bedford Middle School
November 12, 2019McCullough Middle School
December 10, 2019George Read Middle School
January 14, 2020Gunning Bedford Middle School
February 11, 2020McCullough Middle School
March 10, 2020George Read Middle School
April 21, 2020Gunning Bedford Middle School
May 12, 2020McCullough Middle School
June 9, 2020George Read Middle School
July 14, 2020George Read Middle School
August 11, 2020George Read Middle School

Board Policy Manual

000- Organization

100 – Programs

200 – Students

300 – Personell

400- Business

500 – Property

600 – Operations

700 – Community/School Relations