الرئيسية: 302-323-2700 • النقل: (302) 323-2851
حدد صفحة

من نحن - ستيف وبيث وجيك ديجينارو

ستيف ديجينارو ، الذي دعا بمودة "السيد. D ”من قبل الطلاب ، بدأ كمستشار مدرسة في كولونيال. اليوم ، بعد 26 عامًا ، أصبح مديرًا مساعدًا في McCullough ، ولكن عندما ينتهي اليوم الدراسي "Mr. D "يتحول إلى" Coach D "لفريق بيسبول Delaware Rockets.  ابنه جيك ، طالب في الصف السابع في Gunning Bedford ، يلعب في فريق البيسبول بالإضافة إلى مشاركته في فريق كرة قدم محلي. على مر السنين ، درب ديجينارو اسكواش لاكروس لأكثر من عشر سنوات في ويليام بن واسكواش كرة السلة لمدة ست سنوات في المدرسة الثانوية. الآن ، بصفته عضوًا في مجلس إدارة Bear Babe Ruth ، يرد ديجينارو للمجتمع من خلال إقراض وقته وقدراته القيادية وتفانيه للشباب. جاء التصميم على القيام بذلك من نشأته عندما كان طفلاً يعيش في Penn Acres عندما أصبح صديقًا لأبناء الأسطوري William Penn Coach Jack Holloway وتأثر بتفاعل هولواي مع الشباب في المنطقة.

"كان حلمي أن أتدرب في ويليام بن.  أصبح هذا الحلم حقيقة ، وأكثر من ذلك بكثير.  يقول ديجينارو إن العلاقات التي تم تعزيزها مع طلابي والرياضيين السابقين هي التي تجعل التدريب والتدريس والقيادة أمرًا بالغ الأهمية.

زوجة ديجينارو ، بيث ، مكرسة بنفس القدر للمستعمرة.  كانت بيث من بين أولئك الموجودين في Discover الذين قادوا مؤخرًا حدثًا أدى إلى تسليم أكياس الهدايا للمعلمين كإظهار للتقدير أثناء الوباء.  قبل انضمامها إلى Discover ، عملت بيث في AAA Mid-Atlantic حيث ساعدت في قيادة برنامج توجيه آخر في William Penn يسمى "Paving the Road to Student Success".  يقول ديجينارو إنه وزوجته رد الجميل للمجتمع المستعمر لسبب واحد ، "هذا المكان مميز".

احتضنت العائلات السيد D كشخص مميز أيضًا. إحدى الأمهات التي قضى أطفالها 22 عامًا تحت عينه الساهرة في المدارس الاستعمارية تسمى السيد D عندما كان أحد أبنائها في المستشفى حيث توفي في نهاية المطاف في عام 2018. وكتبت:

"عندما اتصلت بك لأخبرك بما حدث ، أسقطت كل شيء وذهبت مباشرة إلى المستشفى. مكثنا هناك لساعات. عندما دخل الأطباء وطلبوا منك الخروج برغبتهم في التحدث مع العائلة ، قمنا بدعوتك للبقاء. هذا عندما أصبحت العم د. "

يجيب السيد D ، المدرب D ، العم D ، Steve DiGennaro على جميع هذه الأسماء قائلاً ، "بصفتي موظفًا ومقيمًا في المستعمرات ، أحب أن أكون على اتصال بالطلاب وعائلاتهم. أشعر أنه من المهم جدًا توفير احتياجات مجتمعنا. أنا فخور بأن أكون جزءًا مما نحن عليه! "

Main: 302-323-2700 • Transportation: (302) 323-2851

Who WE Are – Steve, Beth & Jake DiGennaro

Steve DiGennaro, affectionately called “Mr. D” by students, started as a school counselor in Colonial. Today, 26 years later, he is an Assistant Principal at McCullough, but when the school day ends “Mr. D” turns into “Coach D,” for the Delaware Rockets travel baseball team.  His son Jake, a 7th-grade student at Gunning Bedford, plays on the baseball team in addition he participates on a local football team. Over the years, DiGennaro has coached varsity lacrosse for over ten years at William Penn and varsity basketball for six years at the high school. Now, as a member of the Bear Babe Ruth Board of Directors, DiGennaro gives back to the community by lending his time, leadership abilities, and dedication to young people. The determination to do so came from his upbringing as a child living in Penn Acres when he befriended the sons of legendary William Penn Coach Jack Holloway and was influenced by Holloway’s interaction with youth in the district.

“It was a dream of mine to coach at William Penn.  That dream became a reality, and so much more.  The relationships that have been fostered with my former students and athletes are what make coaching, teaching, and leading so important,” DiGennaro says.

DiGennaro’s wife, Beth, is equally devoted to Colonial.  Beth was among those at Discover who recently spearheaded an event that resulted in goodie bags being delivered to teachers as a show of appreciation during the pandemic.  Before joining Discover, Beth worked for AAA Mid-Atlantic where she helped lead another mentoring program at William Penn called “Paving the Road to Student Success.”  DiGennaro says he and his wife give back to the Colonial community for one reason, “This place is special.”

Families have embraced Mr. D as someone special too. One mother whose children spent 22 years under his watchful eye in Colonial schools called Mr. D when one of her sons was in the hospital where he eventually died in 2018. She wrote:

“When I called you to tell you what had happened you dropped everything and came straight to the hospital. We were there for hours. When the doctors walked in and asked you to step out that they wanted to speak with the family, we invited you to stay. That’s when you became Uncle D.”

Mr. D, Coach D, Uncle D, Steve DiGennaro answers to all those names saying, “As a Colonial employee and resident I love being connected to students and their families. I feel it is so important to provide for our community. I am proud to be a part of who WE are!”