الرئيسية: 302-323-2700 • النقل: (302) 323-2851
حدد صفحة

من نحن - ماريسا روبنسون

تخرجت ماريسا روبنسون من مدرسة ويليام بن الثانوية  (WPHS) في عام 2012 كطالب في جمعية الشرف الوطنية وكان نشطًا في مجال الهوكي وكرة السلة والكرة اللينة. كانت على رأس لعبتها منذ ذلك الحين. تخرجت بامتياز مع مرتبة الشرف من جامعة كين في عام 2016. واليوم ، روبنسون هو المدير التنفيذي للتنوع والإنصاف والشمول (DEI) في جامعة جورج تاون ، وهي واحدة من أعرق مؤسسات التعليم العالي في البلاد. بدأت وظيفتها الجديدة في ديسمبر من عام 2020. 

يقول روبنسون: "هذا دور جديد تمامًا ، لذا فأنا متحمس للعمل مع قسم ألعاب القوى لوضع أهداف لـ DEI والعيش بقيمتنا المتمثلة في وجود مجتمع شامل". قبل انضمامه إلى الفريق الإداري في جورج تاون ، عمل روبنسون في الجمعية الوطنية لألعاب القوى (NCAA) في مقرها الرئيسي في إنديانابوليس ، أولاً كمتدرب بعد التخرج لتنمية القيادة ، ثم أمضى ثلاث سنوات ونصف كمساعد مدير في تطوير القيادة .  في NCAA ، فاز Robinson بترشيحين من العشرة الأوائل لجائزة رئيس NCAA التي احتفلت بمساهمة الموظفين المتميزين.

 تنسب روبنسون الفضل إلى سنواتها في WPHS لإقراضها تحركاتها المهنية الديناميكية التي تعترف بأنها تتعارض مع المفاهيم الخاطئة العامة قائلة ، "الكثير من الناس لديهم نظرة سلبية على وليام بن. ومع ذلك ، سوف يعطيك ما تمنحه إياه. يمكن أن يوفر لك جميع المهارات التي تحتاجها للتحضير للكلية أو للعمل ولكن عليك أن تريد ذلك لنفسك في المقابل ". 

بعد أن عملت في مجال ألعاب القوى الذي يهيمن عليه الذكور ، تقدم روبنسون هذه النصيحة للطالبات: "يمكنك أن تكون أي شيء تريد أن تكونه في هذا العالم. ستكون بعض الأيام أصعب من غيرها ولكن استمر لأن الأمر يستحق العناء في النهاية. عليك ان تؤمن بنفسك!  قد يحسبك الناس قبل أن يعرفوك حتى بناءً على جنسك ، لكن لا تحسب نفسك أبدًا! "

تتطلع روبنسون إلى مستقبلها قائلة: "لست متأكدًا من" هدفي النهائي ". ومع ذلك ، أعلم أنني أريد الاستمرار في الخدمة في الأدوار التي يكون لي فيها تأثير إيجابي على حياة الناس! "

Main: 302-323-2700 • Transportation: (302) 323-2851

Who WE Are – Marissa Robinson

Marissa Robinson graduated from William Penn High School  (WPHS) in 2012 as a National Honor Society student who was active in field hockey, basketball, and softball. She has been on top of her game ever since. She graduated summa cum laude from Kean University in 2016. Today, Robinson is the Executive Director for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) at Georgetown University, one of the most prestigious higher education institutions in the country. She began her new job in December of 2020. 

“This is a brand new role, so I am excited to work with the athletics department on establishing goals for DEI and live out our value of having an inclusive community”, Robinson says. Prior to joining the administrative team at Georgetown, Robinson worked for the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) at its headquarters in Indianapolis, first as a postgraduate intern for leadership development, and then spent three and a half years as an assistant director in leadership development.  At the NCAA, Robinson won two top-ten nominations for the NCAA’s President’s Award which celebrated the contribution of outstanding employees.

 Robinson credits her years at WPHS for lending to her dynamic career moves which she acknowledges are contrary to public misconceptions saying, “so many people have a negative outlook on William Penn. However, it will give you what you give it. It can provide you with all of the skills you need to prepare for college or for a career but you have to want that for yourself in return.” 

Having worked in the male-dominated field of athletics, Robinson offers this advice to female students: “You can be anything you want to be in this world. Some days are going to be harder than others but keep going because it will be worth it in the end. Believe in yourself!  People may count you out before they even know you based on your gender, but never count yourself out!”

Robinson is looking forward to her future saying, “I am not sure what my ‘end goal’ is. However, I do know I want to continue to serve in roles where I get to have a positive impact on people’s lives!”