Select Page

> Southern Elementary

Sign up for Southern Text Alerts

Sign up for Southern Text Alerts

Sign up for Text Alerts! Text @sharkalert to 81010 Follow our school Twitter:@sousharkscsd Follow us on Instagram: @southernelementarycsd Follow Mr. Gibeault on...

The Power of We

The Power of We

Learn more about how The Power of We is a vital part of Colonial School District

Jeff Gibeault

Principal

jeffory.gibeault@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 6001

 

 

 Rich Bryson, Assistant Principal

G/Y Staff Center
richard.brysonjr@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 6014

 

Lindsay DiEmidio, Assistant Principal
B/O Staff Center
lindsay.diemidio@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 6033

 

Stephanie Callaway, Student Advisor
B/O Staff Center
stephanie.callaway@colonial.k12.de.us

southern

Address: 795 Cox Neck Rd, New Castle, DE 19720

Phone: (302) 832-6300

 

Southern Elementary School is a state-of-the-art facility that opened in August of 2001. We serve approximately 900 students in Kindergarten through fifth grade. Our school is located outside of three of New Castle County’s oldest cities, New Castle, St. Georges and Delaware City. Our students feed from the New Castle, Bear, Delaware City, St. Georges, and Middletown neighborhoods.

Southern Elementary School’s excellent and dedicated staff provides a developmentally appropriate education for each of its students. Our focus is on improving the academic achievement of all students while nurturing their social and emotional development. The academic program at Southern Elementary School provides students with a solid foundation in language arts, mathematics, science, and social studies. The staff has had extensive training in new methods and strategies that support the district’s curricula and the state’s performance standards. They are a group of advanced degrees. Combining all of the ongoing training, schooling and experience, this staff brings the best instructional methods and strategies to our students. The Colonial School District community has outlined its vision for our schools: Students shall be empowered to meet the choices and challenges of the 21st century. At Southern Elementary, we will fulfill this mission by focusing on the development of a strong foundation of skills and attitudes that will give our children the start they need for future learning in school and lifelong learning as they take their places in broad and diverse communities.

Southern Shark Mission

 A Southern Shark:

  • Studies Hard to Learn and Improve Academically
  • Has Self-Control
  • Is Always Safe
  • Is Respectful
  • Kind
  • And Shows Responsibility

Teachers and Staff

Kindergarten

Adam Ferguson – G5
Adam.ferguson@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 3005

Maria Vaillancourt – G8
maria.vaillancourt@colonial.k12.de.us

Kathy Gillespie 
– Special Education
kathleen.gillespie@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 3008

Brandi Bowers – G9
brandi.bowers@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 3009
Website

 

First Grade

Christine Minker – G10
christine.minker@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 3010

Jennifer Hurley – G11
jennifer.hurley@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 3011

Cindy Price – G12
cindy.price@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 3012
Website

Abby Potts – G14
Abby.potts@colonial.k12.de.us
Julianne Jackson – Special Education
Julianne.Jackson@colonial.k12.de.us
 ext. 3014

Second Grade

Molly Burgess – B7
molly.burgess@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 1007
Website 

Marlowe Woodfin – B9
marlowe.woodfin@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 1009
Website

Catherine Ahlrich – B11
catherine.ahlrich@colonial.k12.de.us 

Abby Schneider – B12
abigail.schneider@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 1012
Website

Third Grade

Krystal Rembert – B4
krystal.rembert@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 1004

Rebecca Grillo – B5
Rebecca.watts@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 1005
Website

Jessica Hassman – B6
jessica.hassman@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 1006

Lindsay Lucas – B8
lindsay.buckland@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 1008

Maureen Nichols – B10
maureen.nichols@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 1010
Website

Samantha Dent – O4
Samantha.Dent@colonial.k12.de.us
ext.4004

Fourth Grade
Fifth Grade

Pam Bingham – O5
Pamela.Bingham@colonial.k12.de.us

Roxie Baynard – O4
roxie.baynard@colonial.k12.de.us

Jessica Reed – O7
jessica.reed@colonial.k12.de.us

Bridget Shimp – O8
Bridget.Shimp@colonial.k12.de.us

Leigh Jones – B8
leigh.jones@colonial.k12.de.us

Emily Schussler – O6
Emily.Schussler@colonial.k12.de.us

ILC

coming soon

Integration A
CASL

 

Whitney Barrera – G3
whitney.barrera@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 3003

Y8
ext. 2008

Theresa Monaco – Y12
theresa.Monaco@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 2012

Karen Linden – Y13
karen.linden@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 2013

Jennifer Vikari – Y14
jennifer.vikari@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 2014
Website

Technology Education

Jennifer Haugh (Wednesdays & Fridays)
Jennifer.haugh@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 6201

Physical Education

Martin Jordan
martin.jordan@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 6020

James Bratten
james.bratten@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 6036

Robert Poore (Thursdays & Fridays)
robert.poore@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 6020

Music & Art

Mary Ellen Good
mary.good@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 6038
Website

Megan DeSousa
megan.desousa@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 6040

Art

Susan Stiles
susan.stiles@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 6041

Jennifer Petrucci (Mondays & Tuesdays)
jennifer.petrucci@colonial.k12.de.us

Counselors

Lisa Gale – G/Y Staff Center
lisa.gale@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 6013

Debi Kelly – B/O Staff Center
deborah.kelly@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 6028

Psychologists

Kathryn Cooley
kathryn.cooley@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 6018

Abigail Cash
abigail.cash@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 6018

Richard Galeas
richard.galeas@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 6030

Lindsay Hammond
lindsay.hammond@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 6018

Special Education Coordinators

Janet Halliday
Janet.halliday@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 6017

Laura DiFrancesco
laura.difrancesco@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 6034

Nurses
Speech Therapists

Melissa Eger
melissa.eger@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 6008
Website

Grady Redmond 
grady.redmond@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 6006

Lauren Fox
lauren.fox@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 6007

Cara Rose
cara.rose@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 6005

Physical Therapist

Kristin Capone
kristin.capone@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 6055

Literacy Specialists

Gayle Cooksey – G4
gayle.cooksey@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 3004
Website

Diane Tilley – G4
diane.tilley@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 3004

Janet Salacki – G4
RAPS Reading Teacher
janet.salacki@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 3004

Michele Waite – O4
Michele.waite@colonial.k12.de.us
ext.4004

Family Crisis Therapist

Terrance Delane
terrance.delane@state.de.us
ext. 6008

ELL (English Language Learners)

Brittany Zezima  (Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays)
Brittany.zezima@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 6201

Math Coach

Hyacinth Dunlap – O4
hyacinth.dunlap@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 4004

Secretaries

Lindsay Haugh, Secretary
Main Office
lindsay.haugh@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 6000

Kimberly Briscoe, Secretary
G/Y Staff Center
kimberly.briscoe@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 6015

Carmen Word, Secretary
B/O Staff Center
carmen.word@colonial.k12.de.us
ext. 6032

 

Calendar